Customer Reviews for

The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Typical Banks

For those not familiar with Ian Banks, he has a very fertile imagination. This book is no exception. It revolves around the transcendence of a sister civilization to the Culture, and the minor (at least in Galactic terms)mayhem that ensues after an even older civilizati...
For those not familiar with Ian Banks, he has a very fertile imagination. This book is no exception. It revolves around the transcendence of a sister civilization to the Culture, and the minor (at least in Galactic terms)mayhem that ensues after an even older civilization attempts to send a message to them. As with the other books, whether Culture or not, written by Mr. Banks; this often reads like a madcap travelogue with a dizzying caste of characters. I would advise those who worry about language that Banks can often be rather vulgar, although not exceptionally so. It is not necessary to have read any of the prior books to enjoy this one. Prior history is often referenced, but doesn't detract from the plotline. While this is not the best of his works it's quite good. Sadly, it's likely the last we'll see, barring some as yet unpublished work, as Mr. Banks died earlier this year(2013).

posted by 18033043 on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book but nothing really made an impression on me.  I did no

Good book but nothing really made an impression on me.  I did not realize this was part of a series of books, so some things may have been lost on me.  

posted by Micahmay76 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Typical Banks

    For those not familiar with Ian Banks, he has a very fertile imagination. This book is no exception. It revolves around the transcendence of a sister civilization to the Culture, and the minor (at least in Galactic terms)mayhem that ensues after an even older civilization attempts to send a message to them. As with the other books, whether Culture or not, written by Mr. Banks; this often reads like a madcap travelogue with a dizzying caste of characters. I would advise those who worry about language that Banks can often be rather vulgar, although not exceptionally so. It is not necessary to have read any of the prior books to enjoy this one. Prior history is often referenced, but doesn't detract from the plotline. While this is not the best of his works it's quite good. Sadly, it's likely the last we'll see, barring some as yet unpublished work, as Mr. Banks died earlier this year(2013).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Can't get enough Culture. Good read.

    Can't get enough Culture. Good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Good book but nothing really made an impression on me.  I did no

    Good book but nothing really made an impression on me.  I did not realize this was part of a series of books, so some things may have been lost on me.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Character, plot and SiFi-world development, language use, use of

    Character, plot and SiFi-world development, language use, use of the maxim "don't tell; show" all are outstanding. For anyone who enjoys SiFi - or good story telling - this is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Mr. Banks does it again!

    Another interesting and thought provoking journey through the Culture universe. It was hard to put down. Highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I read the last book first.

    Didn't realize when I bought this that it was #9 in the series. It's pretty much a stand alone novel anyway. One of the best I've read in years, I must say. Even without the history of the prior stories, it was well laid out and the characters fully fleshed. Entertaining and exciting from start to finish. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Very difficult to read

    I found the prose extremely hard to read. The paragraph length run-on sentences were frustrating and the use of hypens where a colon or semi-colon should be made it difficult to follow. I couldnt endure it past page 75.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Compelling, thought-provoking and a real page turner

    Great plot, with great characters. Just the names of some of tye characters and speculation by them as they try to un-ravel just whats going on is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    A good Culture novel

    A good addition to the Culture universe.Not the greatest Culture novel,earlier books are better,but I thought it was still worth buying the hardcover copy than waiting for the paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    To wells

    No we wont!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Typhlosion

    Whydid u chose the book

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Sa

    They run back and rush to Flight.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Claire

    Hey guys, um... we moved to the third result. Flight got locked out. AGAIN.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Katie

    We'll move soon. Dont worry.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Xerneas to wells

    Fuffs at him and runs around him.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Wells to all

    We are movimg to gallade all results.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Emma

    "Or second."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Entertaining

    ?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    No Problems Encountered

    Book was in perfect condition and fully met all expectations. Service couldn't have been better.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    The Hydrogen Sonata

    Poorrly written, too much use of the F word; did not hold my interest

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2