Customer Reviews for

The Hypnotist's Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recogni

Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recognize real characters; I loved the main character, Ellen O'Farrell is confident, talks to herself and defends her profession which everyone seems to make fun of;including her snotty mother. The drama comes fr...
Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recognize real characters; I loved the main character, Ellen O'Farrell is confident, talks to herself and defends her profession which everyone seems to make fun of;including her snotty mother. The drama comes from her current boyfriend and his ex-girlfriend who is now stalking him. She's especially chilling because she's smart and professional most of the time. My only knock is got a bit long. The story ends as you may not expect and the characters are well-defined.

posted by L.A.Carlson-writer on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forg

I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just...
I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just never reaches the depth of interest or suspense that it potentially could have. The stalker is depicted as a benign individual in my opinion and she seems relatively harmless. In all it is not a horrible read, it just isn't as captivating as it sounds.

posted by PamT2u on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved Reading this book !

    Loved Reading this book !

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recogni

    Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recognize real characters; I loved the main character, Ellen O'Farrell is confident, talks to herself and defends her profession which everyone seems to make fun of;including her snotty mother. The drama comes from her current boyfriend and his ex-girlfriend who is now stalking him. She's especially chilling because she's smart and professional most of the time. My only knock is got a bit long. The story ends as you may not expect and the characters are well-defined.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forg

    I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just never reaches the depth of interest or suspense that it potentially could have. The stalker is depicted as a benign individual in my opinion and she seems relatively harmless. In all it is not a horrible read, it just isn't as captivating as it sounds.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I really enjoyed this one!

    I'm not usually the type to read a love story, but this was my book club's selection for the month. I'm really glad they chose it because I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The characters are so real and filled with emotions we can all relate to on some level.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Would love to read this but since the other reviewers (and the e

    Would love to read this but since the other reviewers (and the editorial reviews) basically told me the whole story so I have no need...thanks (not) spoilers

    5 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was great from beginning to end. I heart this author!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this book because the characters were quirky. In additio

    I liked this book because the characters were quirky. In addition, it
    took place in Australia. The stalker telling the story was a great
    twist. However, the main character becoming a bit of a stalker was a bit
    much. I will read more from this author. I also recommend Three Wishes
    and What Alice Forgot

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    All five of her novels are excellent!

    All five of her novels are excellent!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Good story.

    I enjoyed this book. Surprising adventures of the hypnotist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great read!

    A page tuner about the crazy quirks we all have. Exes make us who we are in our current relationships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Another Liane Moriaty good read!

    Every time I pick up a Liane Moriarty book I can't put it down until I finish it. Can't wait for her next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Not her best, but good

    Thought provoking and definitely worth reading, but not the author's best work. Check out the guide in the end, even if you're not in a book club. Considering my own answers to the questions made me re-think my reaction to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    It wasn't the worst book I've ever read. It def. was not my favo

    It wasn't the worst book I've ever read. It def. was not my favorite. The idea of the book is really cool. The love story part of it is awful. 
    I had a hard time liking any of the characters. The main character is all over the place. The stalker is probably what kept me turning pages
    but even that got boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Hypnotist's Love Story.

    A very good read. A perfect diversion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This is an enjoyable and thoughtful read. Good escapist literature that also gives you a different perspective on character and love. Self and otherwise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2015

    Fantastic!

    I ran across this author about a year ago and now have every single one of her books in my library. Intriguing story, does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    Wonderful Story

    Excellent story with many twists and turns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    To below from Karen

    WOW! So cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Sadie's Story

    (Here goes nothing. It will be an action packed funny story. You know Maximum Ride? Kind of like that.) <p> Miranda woke in a dark room, with no lghts whatsoever. No windows, there didn't seem to be any door, and she definitly was laying down on a cool surface, a table no doubt. She tried sitting up, but her hands were tied. "What the...." she had no memory of what happened, or how she got here. Suddenly a door clicked open, something she did not notice before. Light spilled into the room, blinding her temporarily. She squinted, and could aee a crisp, white lab coat and a person wearing it. There seemed to be no other people in the room. The doctor, she decided to name him, was a man. He looked old, in his forties. She stuggled against her locks. "Hey! Hey you! Whats happening? How did I get here?" She looked hopelessly for an answer. No such luck. She sighed and thought, 'well this is great.'. The doctor finally looked up. She looked at him. He started to say something, but changed his mind. "Do you inow why you are here, Miranda Foster?" 'Wait,' she thought, 'thats my name?' She said instead, "No. See, thats why I asked you. And how do you know my name?" He looked at her. "Because i am your creator. Your genetic biological producer. I am your father." She just stared at him in shock. <p> The second time she awoke, she was in a similar room, with just barely enough light to see what was around her. Jars full of liquids were to her right, and she was obviously tied to a chair. She liked the table better. She had to get out of there. She peeked at the window, and a slight breeze was coming through. She scooted over to it, and started to work on it. She got it open a little bit, and the rope on her wrists came off. She yanked the window open, only to reveal a screen. She looked around for something to pop it open, and stopped when she saw someone. She walked toward it, and the someone walked toward her. She stood in awe at it, and the someone looked ragged, dirty and clumsy. This freaked her out. She reached out to touch it, only to have the someone do that, too. She then realized that someone was her. She didnt expect to look like that. She had messy, golden hair and blue terrified eyes. She wore a t shirt that siad 'Hospital of researching the supernatural'. She didnt know what that meant. She turned around and studied the room. The jars from before now had body parts in them. A foot, an arm, eyes and a heart. She picked one up, weighing it. Suddenly the door burst open, and who did you think it was? The weird father-doctor dude. He said, "i know you are scared, calm down. I need you to trust me." "And why should i?" She asked. "Because. You are something amazing. My best creation yet. Please, sit down." She sat down again, holding on to the foot-jar. "I promised myself i wouldnt do this again. I promised. I promised." She stared. "You promised yourself, what exactly?" She started to scoot slowly to the window. "I promised that it wouldnt happen again. I promised i wouldnt use living organisms." She picked up a jar of eyes. "You have powers, Miranda." She stared with shock. Then a surprising sound came out. A laugh. "You think i have powers? You are delusional. I might start to think you are my father, but i do NOT have powers." She looked at him again. "Yes you do. And now i need to take you back there. To take them out. You are coming with me." She started to look around quickly. "No. Im not going back there. Not in a million years."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    Ok, I admit it. I'm on a Liane Moriarty kick. This is the thi


    Ok, I admit it. I'm on a Liane Moriarty kick. This is the third book I've read by her since the beginning of this year, and at this rate, I'm going to be out of new ones before fireworks season. Dang. If only my favorite authors could write as fast as I can read.

    What I love about Moriarty is that they are are a welcome modern change to the period-pieces that I usually like, and they are fraught with storylines that are just realistic enough to be plausible, and just imaginative enough to be good escapism.

    The perfect recipe for a page-turner.

    In &quot;The Hypnotist's Love Story&quot;, Ellen meets Patrick through internet dating, and finds the widower and his son the perfect ready-made family. However, one extra person comes along in the bargain - Patrick has a stalker, Saskia. Complications ensue as Ellen, a hypnotherapist recognizes that one of her clients is Saskia. And, her ethics are stretched as she uses hypnotherapy to help Patrick sleep - while learning things from his subconscious that she wished she didn't know.

    This sounds like the set-up for &quot;Fatal Attraction&quot;, but the subject is light-handedly treated with compassion and widely avoids being called anything close to a &quot;thriller&quot;.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4