Customer Reviews for

The Hypnotist's Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Loved Reading this book !

Loved Reading this book !

posted by BettyWalker11 on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forg

I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just...
I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just never reaches the depth of interest or suspense that it potentially could have. The stalker is depicted as a benign individual in my opinion and she seems relatively harmless. In all it is not a horrible read, it just isn't as captivating as it sounds.

posted by PamT2u on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved Reading this book !

    Loved Reading this book !

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recogni

    Moriarty has produced a story of which I could instantly recognize real characters; I loved the main character, Ellen O'Farrell is confident, talks to herself and defends her profession which everyone seems to make fun of;including her snotty mother. The drama comes from her current boyfriend and his ex-girlfriend who is now stalking him. She's especially chilling because she's smart and professional most of the time. My only knock is got a bit long. The story ends as you may not expect and the characters are well-defined.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I really enjoyed this one!

    I'm not usually the type to read a love story, but this was my book club's selection for the month. I'm really glad they chose it because I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The characters are so real and filled with emotions we can all relate to on some level.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forg

    I was excited to read this novel because I loved What Alice Forgot. This book was not as good as that one, nor was it as well written. It wasn't easy to connect with the characters and the story seemed to drag on a bit. The premise of the story is a good one but it just never reaches the depth of interest or suspense that it potentially could have. The stalker is depicted as a benign individual in my opinion and she seems relatively harmless. In all it is not a horrible read, it just isn't as captivating as it sounds.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Would love to read this but since the other reviewers (and the e

    Would love to read this but since the other reviewers (and the editorial reviews) basically told me the whole story so I have no need...thanks (not) spoilers

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was great from beginning to end. I heart this author!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this book because the characters were quirky. In additio

    I liked this book because the characters were quirky. In addition, it
    took place in Australia. The stalker telling the story was a great
    twist. However, the main character becoming a bit of a stalker was a bit
    much. I will read more from this author. I also recommend Three Wishes
    and What Alice Forgot

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great read!

    A page tuner about the crazy quirks we all have. Exes make us who we are in our current relationships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Hypnotist's Love Story.

    A very good read. A perfect diversion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    All five of her novels are excellent!

    All five of her novels are excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Good story.

    I enjoyed this book. Surprising adventures of the hypnotist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    It wasn't the worst book I've ever read. It def. was not my favo

    It wasn't the worst book I've ever read. It def. was not my favorite. The idea of the book is really cool. The love story part of it is awful. 
    I had a hard time liking any of the characters. The main character is all over the place. The stalker is probably what kept me turning pages
    but even that got boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Good chick lit

    This was an enjoyable and easy read. I had to laugh in the beginning because the main character Ellen overanalyzes her new relationship like any woman would. (What does this mean? What does that mean?). It's about obsessing over old boyfriends, trying to relate to a non-traditional mother, and keeping female friendships. I really like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Terrie

    It had been about two weeks since Cher went to live with her aunt abd five kids.cher never followed the rule so one night as she was walking down the street she was grabbed off the seat and knocked out with and amonnia soaked rag. Upon awaking cher made out a figure it was her cousin jake. He walked toward her thats when they all came out paris aunt debby mike caleb jass and ed all who were baked she then relized she too was nude jake walked towards her and shoved his nic sized lengh in hr mouth as paris played her brest like a drum and mike pounded her v hey what u think want more i need two likes and if u wanna fuq go to chill res two

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Rose

    I was walking one day to school. My boyfriend saw me and pinned me to a alley wall. "What are you doing? We could be seen." I moaned and he ran his hands under my shirt. "I want the world to see this very public display of affection." He said teasingly. He took his hands away and put his hands on the wall around my head and kissed me long and hard. I pulled him down to me and he wrapped his hands around my waist. He broke off and sucked my neck leaving hick.eyes all over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    This was a good read but not one of my favorites by this author

    This was a good read but not one of my favorites by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Good read and main character's very likable Good read anwell Gii Good read and balanced

    Unexpected twist of events
    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ellen O┬┐Farrell is living a good life, with a successful hypnoth

    Ellen O’Farrell is living a good life, with a successful hypnotherapist career and owning a home she inherited from her grandparents. So what’s missing? A great love. She spends a great deal of time reflecting on how it could be that she’s so good at helping others to solve problems but not so great on her own male relationships. So now she’s ripe for romance when she meets Patrick. Everything feels so right, even when Patrick tells her that his ex-girlfriend is a stalker who follows him everywhere, leaves him constant text messages and phone messages, and even leaves notes attached to his windshield on the car. It strikes the reader as dangerous, as a phenomenon that feels like a foreshadowing of a violent end to someone!
    So why is it that Ellen doesn’t feel grossly perturbed by all this but instead focuses on the growth of the care she and Patrick now increasingly share? As the stalking increases, Ellen and Patrick’s life together grows closer. Patrick meets Ellen’s mother and she meets his family. Ironically, both sides seem rather obsessed with the previous relationships had before now. There’s an additional complication with Jack, Patrick’s son by his first wife, Colleen, his first wife who died and whom he loved dearly. But it was Saskia who took care of Jack like a mother and now she has no connection to him at all. One wonders where this is all going.
    It will take a “rock bottom” scene for these complex connections to sort themselves out, with all sides having to face some significantly painful truths, clear some outstanding misunderstandings, and learn to move forward having memories of these personalities that cannot help but be part of the past but learning they cannot be part of the present and don’t have to determine the future!
    It sounds like a simple plot involving three people, but it’s not as it slowly develops from simple outrageousness to an audacious, panoramic map of how many people from our past inhabit our present lives in more than complex ways. It’s a book about healing the past in order to fully engage and relish now and forever. Very, very nicely crafted mystery/romance fiction, Ms. Moriarty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Hypnotherapist, Ellen O┬┐Farrell, has fallen in love with widower

    Hypnotherapist, Ellen O’Farrell, has fallen in love with widower, Patrick.  The problem?  He has a stalker, Saskia.   His ex-girlfriend follows him around, sends him texts, and just won’t leave him a one.  This does not scare Ellen.  It intrigues her.   She wants to meet Saskia, what she doesn’t know is that she already has.  The stalker is one of Ellen’s clients.




    This was an easy book to read and get into.  The dialogue  was natural and easy to follow.  Even easy to feel as if you are part of the conversation.  By the end of Patrick and Ellen’s date where she learns of the stalker I was needing to know who the stalker was and how Ellen would handle it.   I had more fear of Saskia than Ellen and Patrick seemed to have.  This bothered me.  Especially due to the fact that Patrick has a son, Jack, who was also being followed by Saskia.  I wanted Patrick to go to the police and file charges to be a man and get his life back, and to keep his family safe.  He needed to step up and protect the ones he loves.




    I really enjoyed that this story was told from two point of views.   Ellen’s and Saskia’s views were so opposite while telling of the same event.  Ellen’s curiosity about Saskia intrigued me.  I am not sure that I could be as calm as she was if I was in the same situation.  I felt pity for Saskia, which was something none of the other characters in the book felt for her.  Saskia needed help, major help, and everyone seemed to feel that if they ignored her she would go away.




    The Hypnotist’s Love Story was a creative story with some dark moments.  I truly enjoyed it and will recommend it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    I basically ignored my husband all day yesterday because I couldn't put his book down. It is very well written and I was fully involved and emotionally invested in the various outcomes for the primary characters. Every character grew, developed and matured as did their relationships. Very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3