Customer Reviews for

The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What happens to the cat?

Truly amazing. I loved this book. I've read a few others about arctic expeditions, but this one was the most riveting. This book makes you feel as if you are there. You can really get a feel for what these characters experienced. I was reporting updates to a friend ...
Truly amazing. I loved this book. I've read a few others about arctic expeditions, but this one was the most riveting. This book makes you feel as if you are there. You can really get a feel for what these characters experienced. I was reporting updates to a friend each time I read more and the joke was... I have to keep reading this because I simply MUST know what happens to the cat! I won't give it away though. If you want to know what happens to the cat, you'll have to read the book (wink) ...

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

!

Someone please tell harriet klausner to stop with the plot reveals? She ruins every book she reviews.

posted by 8888649 on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    !

    Someone please tell harriet klausner to stop with the plot reveals? She ruins every book she reviews.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    What happens to the cat?

    Truly amazing. I loved this book. I've read a few others about arctic expeditions, but this one was the most riveting. This book makes you feel as if you are there. You can really get a feel for what these characters experienced. I was reporting updates to a friend each time I read more and the joke was... I have to keep reading this because I simply MUST know what happens to the cat! I won't give it away though. If you want to know what happens to the cat, you'll have to read the book (wink) ...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    One of my favorite books...ever

    Couldn't put it down. One of the few books in my library I will re-read!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Hit About the Arctic

    If you have enjoyed reading about the Arctic/Antarctic, then this will be another book you'd love to add to your collection. In the same vein as "The Lost Men", this book basically tells the tale of a shipload of men out to reach an unknown land in the Arctic but never getting there.

    The story is not as well told as "The Lost Men", but the same thrilling situations occur regarding lack of food, poor shelter, squabbles and conflicts among the men, and their final rescue. One extra tidbit, this story has a true murder mystery and one that I feel the author did not do justice to. That particular part of the story is anti-climatic and put a damper on an already tired story.

    Overall, though, this story was good enough for me to buy the audio book as well as the paperback. The audio is abriged, yet the paperback includes details that you wouldn't have otherwise known about just listening to the audio. An entertaining story and good enough read to make you glad you aren't an Arctic explorer.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk

    I cut my teeth on tales of a distant cousin who was an Arctic explorer. I learned what I could of his heroism and bravery and of the deprivations he suffered during his time as a member of the Canadian Arctic Expedition of 1913. However, our family history was limited and there were many unanswered questions. Until now. Jennifer Niven has done a brilliant job of filling in the details and of at last making a forgotten story known to the public. I am a historian myself and had thought for years of writing a book on this expedition. I can honestly say it would not have been this good. To doubt her credulity-- and the only place I have seen it doubted is in this particular forum by one reader-- is ridiculous. The book is painstakingly researched and I, for one, can fully vouch for the accuracy of her research, including her details of George Washington DeLong's Jeannette expedition (most of the information of which she gleaned from DeLong's own diaries). Ms. Niven has given my family-- and the memory of my cousin-- the greatest gift anyone could give: she has brought this forgotten hero back to life and she has taught us something about ourselves in the process. Bravo!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    One of my favorites

    I love this book so much that I am about to read it for the third time

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    Icy cold and indomitable courage penetrate the reader

    To quote an old TV show, 'You Are There.' You are a member of the ill-fated Karluk, you battle the ice,snow and unrelenting wind. You fight to abate the ever growing hunger of Wragel Island. You daily live with fortiude and courage as well as encounter threat, selfishness and betrayal. You benefit from the inate good in some men and suffer the human weaknesses of others. Most of all you learn the importance of true character. Jennifer Niven has demonstated man's ability to meet and conquer unbelievable obstacles in life. This book is reality at its most unbelievable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    A Thrilling Read!

    I am in a discussion group that just finished reading Jennifer Niven's THE ICE MASTER. Our group is large, diverse and opinionated, and debate always seems to swirl around what our next read will be! However, THE ICE MASTER had a lot to recommend it-- adventure story, historical narrative, great press and the high opinions of friends who'd read it-- and we all dove in with unanimous curiosity and excitement. And now I want to let anyone who is looking for a first-rate travel tale to know that THE ICE MASTER is a must-read! It's a splendid marriage of information and entertainment; academic (in the best sense of the word) when it must be, but far from dull; breezy and never terse; and engaging from beginning to end. We supplemented our discussion with the audio tapes, which come across with the sharp intelligence and cool assurance of a radio broadcast from the Arctic Circle. You can't help but wander, first-person, into the narrative, and feel all the terrors, hairpin twists and triumphs of good fortune and character: it's like you were living the story yourself! THE ICE MASTER is a harrowing and ultimately transporting work that was a joy to read and terrific fun to talk about. Absolutely do not miss it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Top of my list!!

    The best novelist in the world could not write this story any better than Jennifer Niven! And no fiction could compare to the true-life events that are related in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Exciting Adventure in the Ice

    'The Ice Master' relates the little known but fastinating expedition of the research vessel 'Karluc'. The story is well told and will hold your interest. Only the bravery and leadership of the captain enabled many of the crew and passengers to survive. Many geographical locations were referred to and were essential to the story. Unfortunately, the absence of a map made the story much harder to follow and appreciate. In addition,many of the author's referrences to the similar expedition of the USS Jennette in 1879 were factually wrong. This made me wonder just how accurate her facts about the 'Karluc' were. I blame her editor for these oversights. I would still recommend this book to anyone who likes a good adventure

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    This was a riviting glimps into history.

    Reading The Ice Master was like watching a train wreck, you just can't look away or in this case put the book down. The crew was amazing in many ways. Niven worked wonders w/journal accounts of the crew and scientists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    Truly amazing!

    Ms. Niven has done a truly amazing job with this book. The story she wove now ranks as my favorite! The way she described the men, the family and the conditions made me feel I was with them. This must be made into a movie!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk

    I am a 25-year-old woman who has never been interested in this kind of genre before a friend of mine gave this book to me for my birthday. Two days later I was finished and I had a new favorite author. It was that edge-of-your-seat, leaves-you-breathless, high-octane reading that makes you forget the outside world (while reaching for a blanket and some hot tea). But it's also a passionately and strongly written book which makes you feel as if you are living the story with the characters. I will definitely be searching my local bookstores's shelves for other books of this type, while I eagerly await Ms. Niven's next one!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk

    I am probably one of the only people who read this book and THEN bought the audio tape. It's an incredible read by a fantastic first-time writer, and I was wrapped in blankets the entire time I was reading this book. I suggest you wrap up, too, and enjoy the ride! You will want to read this book in its entirety in one sitting, or at the very least in one weekend. I was unable to put it down and by the end of the journey I felt so close to the people of this expedition that I was moved to tears by their tragedies and their triumphs. (I am a man, but I'll admit to those tears.) Jennifer Niven's naturally soft-spoken, melodic voice in the audio version is a haunting contrast to this ruggedly masculine story and I found this to be highly effective and moving. Everyone expects these books to be written or read by grizzled old sea salts, but I could not imagine the riveting story of the ill-fated Karluk and her courageous captain being told or read by anyone other than Niven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    This book is sure to be a classic!!

    I really enjoyed reading Jennifer Niven's Ice Master! In fact, I would venture to say it is one of the best books that have ever been written in this particular genre! One can see that Ms. Niven was very meticulous in her research and unlike so many researched books that become stale long before the end of the story, this book lives and breathes the very life of these men all the way to the final pages! It is like you are there, and you know them personally. Because of her tireless research and soulful account of these men,they come right off the pages and into your heart, and enliven your senses. I believe this book will become a classic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    Great book but

    Like another reader had written .....Where are the maps. So many times I wanted a detailed map that would help show me graphically where the crew was or was going. It really would have helped.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    A true adventure

    This is a compelling story of courage and survival written with passion and vigor. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey that Jennifer Niven took me for a ride on in this book The Ice Master.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    I stumbled onto this book in a small bookstore in Sitka, Alaska.

    I stumbled onto this book in a small bookstore in Sitka, Alaska.  I'd previously enjoyed books about Shackleton's voyage so I picked it up.  Wow!  What a great book!  And if you like this one let me recommend "Hell on Ice" which tells a similar true story that occurred decades earlier.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    inspiring and captivating

    Inspiring and captivating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Excellent

    Started off hard to keep track of all the men but well worth it. Incredible true account!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4