Customer Reviews for

The Ice Master: The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What happens to the cat?

Truly amazing. I loved this book. I've read a few others about arctic expeditions, but this one was the most riveting. This book makes you feel as if you are there. You can really get a feel for what these characters experienced. I was reporting updates to a friend ...
Truly amazing. I loved this book. I've read a few others about arctic expeditions, but this one was the most riveting. This book makes you feel as if you are there. You can really get a feel for what these characters experienced. I was reporting updates to a friend each time I read more and the joke was... I have to keep reading this because I simply MUST know what happens to the cat! I won't give it away though. If you want to know what happens to the cat, you'll have to read the book (wink) ...

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

!

Someone please tell harriet klausner to stop with the plot reveals? She ruins every book she reviews.

posted by 8888649 on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Amazing!

    Absolutely fantastic book! I love adventure books: Into Thin Air, Into the Wild, and the like. Don't even remember how I stumbled in this one, but so glad I did. You will totally become attached to these folks, and share in their disappointments and elations. Amazing tale of courage and survival. A definite must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    great reading.

    the author does a very good job describing the environment and the survivors of the Karluk. It was very easy to visualize the environment and I could feel the frustration and desperation of the survivors of the Karluk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Rcommended for specific readers

    I am only on page 264, and I am finding it difficult to read any further. Knowing that this is based on a true voyage, the hardships and sufferings of the men are heartbreaking. It is amazing how the men kept such detailed dairies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Review

    This book reads like an action thriller, but it is true. People stranded in the Arctic when their leader abandons them and their boat sinks. This is a month by month account of how they survived gleaned from their diaries. Inflated egos, racism, self- centeredness comes out in the worst of them; heroism, selflessness, resourcefulness comes out in the best of them. This is very well edited and a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    great read!

    One of the few books that made me cry- I loved this book. The arctic is fascinating and the character development superb. Boy was I rooting for these guys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Terribly boring!

    This story could have been much more interesting if their was more personal information about the explorers. It was hard to connect to any of them or to keep who was who straight. There was no map so it was challenging to understand the vastness of their travels. Finally, each chapter was mostly the same over and over. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting True Story

    Highly readable and enjoyable tale of arctic exploration largely forgotton today. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Riveting...suspenseful...

    Incredibly researched and written beautifully. I couldn't put the book down. A look into the past and human nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    very good

    a solid effort that really picks up speed in about the middle of the book. I think _Ada Blackjack_, by the same author, is a bit more interesting in terms of its narrative arc. But still a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Very interesting and well written. Enjoyed reading.

    Held you in suspense and in awe as to what this crew went thru in the ice and freezing temperatures of the Arctic, Well written account of the expedition that really took place in 1913.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    recommend

    Better reading then I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    A Must read

    Loved this book! Living in the deep south, i found myself cuddled in my down comforter and was still cold while reading. A keeper for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Wow!

    What an amazing, heroic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great! Interesting.

    Captivating. Learned a lot. Inspiring. Recommend highly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fascinating

    A wonderful tale of a failed arctic adventure early in the last century Fans of the Shackelton adventure, and Krakauer will enjoy this true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Stunning arctic epic

    Amazing story of endurance andsurvival. Gripping - I could notput it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Jeremiah 17:9 and 10

    The heart is decietful above all things and despartly wicked; who can know it? I the Lord search the heart. I try the reins even to give every man according to his ways and according to the fruits of his doings. †††

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Imagine living this way every day for months.

    Excellent reasearch to tell an incredible story. For months, people lived in minus 40F degree climnate. Heros and villians. I could not put the book down. Monumental detail and research. My plaudits to Ms. Niven for a first book. My great complaint and irritation is with the publisher. This is a book about exploration--islands, seas, bays, points... The publisher should have provided a detailed map. The map on the frontispiece is not detailed and many of the positions described in the book are not shown. And modern Atlas's do no have the old names. Shame on the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4