Customer Reviews for

The Ice Princess (Princes Trilogy Novella)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book but...

I have read all of her books. I love when authors make new stories out of secondary characters. My only complaint was it was too short. These characters could of been developed into a full length novel.

posted by 9305246 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very short

It is only 76 pages on my nook not 100 as in the description. I have read most of her books, this is only a short story.

posted by saamwilson on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Very short

    It is only 76 pages on my nook not 100 as in the description. I have read most of her books, this is only a short story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great book but...

    I have read all of her books. I love when authors make new stories out of secondary characters. My only complaint was it was too short. These characters could of been developed into a full length novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Short but sweet

    Loved it despite it being ever so short. Love the tentative love growth between Pearl & Capt Isaac.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Too short!!!

    Great story but could have been better developed into a full length book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Awesome!

    I wondered what happened to Coral in the Raven Prince. Great short story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    The Ice Princess is a great short read.

    Coral is a woman who hides herself behind a mask and never lets anyone see the true woman. She started selling her body when she was fourteen to help her sister and herself survive. She changed her name to Aphrodite and hasn’t slept with a man in two years.

    Captain Wargate just wants to get his crew and make sure they don’t get into trouble at the Grotto. He has been wanting Coral for awhile but hides his feelings. Isaac makes Coral think he doesn’t like her and that’s the way it is. Until one night Coral is the prize in a card game and Isaac wins her.

    I enjoyed watching Isaac court Coral. She didnt know how to take him because all her defences start coming down. He gets her to trust him enough to take off her mask and lets him see the woman underneath.

    It was great being able to meet the real Isaac and Coral and watching them start trusting each other. I like Elizabeth Hoyt’s books and enjoy the way she writes. Thanks for a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Short story

    Just a short story (and not a very good one)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Elizabeth Holt Published By: Forever Yours Age Recomm



    Author: Elizabeth Holt
    Published By: Forever Yours
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean

    Book Blog For: GMTA


    Rating: 5


    Review:



    "The Ice Princess" by Elizabeth Holt was greatly enjoyed short but sweet read. This was one of this author 'Princess Trilogys' and could be considered a novella...which tells the story of Ms. Coral Smythe, who had owned the
    Aphrodite Grotto...which was a famous brothel in London. A problem comes
    up where Coral loses control of ownership and then she is auctioned off in a 'loop game' where the winner gets to spend seven nights with her. From there this story takes off and this is where I say you must pick up "The Ice Princess" to see how this will come out. I really admired this heroine(Coral) because
    even in a bad situation, she does make the best of it. The hero (Issac) also proves to be a very interesting person and I will just stop at that. Pick up the read and you will see how he becomes a sweetheart with his only intentions are that of saving this damsel in distress.


    I thought "The Ice Princess" was a very sweet, adorable, short, romantic, and steamy story and if you like that... I would definitely recommend this read as a excellence choice of a read for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Loved it

    I have never been disapointed in any of hoyt's books. She is absolutely the best..short story but oh so romantic and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    I loved it

    Short but well developed. I liked it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Beth

    Im quitting chatting....l'll so miss you....youre awesome and dont worry about finding a girl, they'll find you first.....thanks for being there for me....if youre ever in houston go to "east river baptist church" and we can be irl friends.....bye :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Xavier

    ^_^ I understand. Thanks for being a good friend, and l hope you have a good time-- in life that is xD I'll see if l can't visit. Goodbye, Beth. :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Series add-on?

    Good short story but felt the author trying to stretch out the series by tying up a loose end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    ...

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    So worth the read. Ms. Hoyt wrote this SO(!) very well for a sho

    So worth the read. Ms. Hoyt wrote this SO(!) very well for a short story. Love Love Loved it!!!! Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Short story

    This is just 70 pages at most, but an enjoyable short story. Not much humour. Highly improbable as are all e hoyt novels. But lack of substance detracts from enjoyment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Steamy Read

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    SEVEN NIGHTS OF SIN
    As the madam of Aphrodite's Grotto, the most infamous brothel in London, Coral Smythe knows everything possible about men's needs and desires. Yet she's never experienced the love of a single man-not even that of Captain Isaac Wargate whose hawk-like eyes stare at her with both condemnation...and lust.

    SEVEN NIGHTS OF ECSTASY
    Captain Wargate heartily disapproves of the sensuous madam who always wears a golden mask. She lures his officers from both his ship and their duty. But when Coral herself is offered up as the prize in a game of chance, Wargate impulsively enters...and wins.

    SEVEN NIGHTS OF LOVE
    Now the puritanical navy captain has just seven nights to learn everything he can about the mysterious madam and what she knows of a man's desires. But when Coral is threatened by the new owner of Aphrodite's Grotto, will Wargate take a chance on the woman beneath the mask...and on love?

    REVIEW: Ms. Hoyt has managed to create a spell bound story which shows the path of changes, love, and desires. I enjoyed the overall story and did find that it was a quick read – mostly due to the fact that I didn’t want to put it down. While I wished it had been a bit longer, I cherished each page that passed.

    Aphrodite is the supreme chided woman who has wrapped herself in a ball of protection from everything outside. She alludes to the presence of confidence when in all actuality deep down, she’s got insecurities to make any one pause.

    Captain Isaac is the ultimate hero who attempts to fight his feelings for this very public woman, but manages to be ensnared, not only by her beauty but deeper inside to the true woman.

    I liked the exchanges between these two and found that Ms. Hoyt did a great job at keeping the tension rising and showing each step they took in order to overcome obstacles. The chapters transitioned smoothly and the writing was spot on. The only thing I didn’t like was that the ending seemed a bit rushed and out of place. Other than that, it’s a historical read I’d recommend for someone looking to get through a steamy story quick. I give this read four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    This was a companion novella to Elizabeth Hoyt’s Princes T

    This was a companion novella to Elizabeth Hoyt’s Princes Trilogy. You don’t need to have read any of the other books to enjoy The Ice Princess. Again, the author writes about two characters not typically the stars of historical romances- a captain from the British Navy and a madam. Yet it worked. For those who want a shorter read about love and second chances, this is a great book and also a good introduction to the author’s writing style. As soon as I get the chance to read them, I’ll be buying the first three books of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Must Read

    Excellent love story portrayed through the building of a relationship between a strong male and female characters. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    recommended

    entertaining read for a summer evening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6