Customer Reviews for

The Icing on the Cake (Weddings by Design Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    MOSTLY SWEET WITH A FEW NUTS! Before I opened ¿Icing on the Cak

    MOSTLY SWEET WITH A FEW NUTS!

    Before I opened “Icing on the Cake” written by Janice Thompson, I anticipated lots of fun and many surprises.  Janice’s sense of humor and tongue in cheek quotations at the beginning of each chapter were so entertaining – my favorite being “Families are like fudge, mostly sweet with a few nuts.” (Author unknown)  Having read the prequel “Picture Perfect,” in this series – Weddings by Design -   many of the characters were familiar to me in the beautiful setting on Galveston Island.  Janice’s stories are written ingeniously around wedding productions created by Bella Neely and Club Wed; and the whole cast of characters from Bella’s odd family; Scarlett’s family and other familiar characters like Hannah and Drew whose wedding is being planned in this episode.  There is not a family on this Island that isn’t sweet with a few nuts!




    Our main character Scarlett Lindsey had just opened her own bakery, Let Them Eat Cake, on the popular Strand.  Her friend Kenny worked in the bakery and had a crush on Scarlett, however she was a bit of two minds where romance with Kenny was concerned.  Little did Scarlett know what she was in for when her spinster Aunt Willy, an infamous first-rate chef, financed Scarlett’s venture.  Not only was Scarlett planning an elaborate wedding cake for her best friend Hannah’s wedding, she was in charge of planning the church fund raiser.  




    We met Armando, Bella’s brother, in “Picture Perfect” as the problem child of the Rossi family with a reputation of being a real womanizer.  He swept in and out of the first story like a bird on the fly and had a dislike for staying on the Island.  Scarlett had issues with her self-image because of being overweight.  Many, including “moi” can relate to her inner feelings and insecurities.  Let Them Eat Cake was located next door to John’s Pizzeria where Armando worked in his family’s business.  Scarlett and Armando found themselves pushed together at a Rossi family event – not at all to Scarlett’s liking.  An indefinite relationship sets in motion…and Scarlett begins to perceive Armando differently.  He volunteers to help solve the sound problem at the church which meant more time spent in each other’s company.  When Scarlett fills in for Armando’s mother on a Food Network competition with a secret recipe for Italian Wedding Cake, she decides to drop a few pounds so she’ll look better on camera.  Now the real fun begins, so hold onto your hat!




    Ms Thompson has an innate talent at developing a plot that serves the heart in hilarity to sentiment along with beautiful spirituality throughout.  What does “sticky buns” and “Lucille Ball of I Love Lucy” have to do with Scarlett’s anxiety?  It was entertaining as the author allowed the reader into Scarlett’s inner thoughts and I laughed loudly at the zany debates she argued with herself.  One never knows what to expect in the stories Janice Thompson writes.  She is perceptive in creating characters that are well rounded and real.  Her characters build as the story moves forward and can be loved in one chapter and disliked in the next.  Scarlett reminded me so much of myself that that I wondered who might have been the role model for Janice.  Honestly, I’ve never met Janice Thompson in my life….although I’d consider it an honor to do so.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Janice Thompson in her new book, "The Icing On The Cake&quo

    Janice Thompson in her new book, "The Icing On The Cake" Book Two in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Scarlet Lindsey.




    From the back cover: Scarlet isn't sure if she has just the right ingredients for true love-or utter disaster




    Scarlet Lindsey is busy making her dreams come true. She's moved her bakery to a prime spot on Galveston's most popular street, she's planning an extravagant cake for her best friend's wedding, and she has a great relationship with Bella Neeley, the island's most popular wedding coordinator. Business is booming and Scarlet is enjoying the ride.




    But when Bella's dangerously handsome brother Armando breezes into her life, Scarlet is faced with a sticky situation. Should she stay with the safe, sweet guy who's been a fixture in her life for years? Or will this brash Italian hunk melt her guarded heart?




    Fan favorite Janice Thompson is back with more wit, more weddings, and more of what you love best-bridal-business drama laced with laughs.




    When you go to a wedding the item that dominates the reception hall is the wedding cake. Bella is the wedding planner and Scarlet not only is the cake baker but also Bella's friend. Welcome back to Galveston Island and a whole new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Scarlet gets involved in a series of misunderstandings and mishaps that cause her to compete in a cake challenge on national television and this is where all the fun is. And then, of course, there is the romance. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."




    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Another great rom-com from Thompson! This is an excellent addit

    Another great rom-com from Thompson!

    This is an excellent addition to the Weddings by Design series, and a well written one at that. Not that Picture Perfect wasn't splendidly done, because it was. I just think Icing on the Cake is just that: the icing on the cake. Thompson brought to surface an issue that is scarcely written about in fiction: obesity. She handled it with grace and accuracy.

    Nonetheless, it felt good to get to know such a beautiful character. I enjoyed Scarlet's presence in Hannah's story, but nothing could have thrilled me more than getting to know dear, sweet, funny Scarlet more. As with every character I grow fond of, I loved watching Scarlett blossom into the woman God made her to be, flaws and all. She changed for the better.

    So far, there hasn't been a book written by Miss Thompson that I haven't liked. Time literally flies when I pick up one of her novels, in a very good way. I cannot express how much I enjoy her style, her characters, and her humor. I really need to go finish her Weddings by Bella series now...

    If you enjoy clean romantic comedies, then I can almost promise you Janice Thompson won't let you down! I recommend for ages 15 and up.

    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There¿s an overweight baker who happens to catch the eye of a mu

    There’s an overweight baker who happens to catch the eye of a muscular heartthrob. Baker Scarlet may consider herself too fat, but Armando’s cultural background causes him not to view her as heavy (to him, she’s “normal”). Also, Scarlet has another gentleman caller in her life called Kenny. This book gives a good lesson to girls that their weight won’t necessary keep guys away. That isn’t to say women shouldn’t strive to stay healthy and eat their vegetables. Readers learn from Scarlet’s life how true diet and exercise are better than any “crash diet” out there. Girls who may not be a size 2 will know that they can still be viewed as attractive. Another interesting part of the book was how real life events—from other characters—were woven into the story. This wasn’t just some cute love story with 2 characters being the center of the universe. No. In Thompson’s book, we learn about the struggles and joys of Scarlet’s friends, her extended family, and even Armando’s family. This makes the book more connectable to the reader. Not everything in the book is realistic, but there’s just enough plausibility to make you want to keep turning the pages. J

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Janice Thompson book thus far! Oh, how I loved this

    My favorite Janice Thompson book thus far! Oh, how I loved this one, and oh, how I hated for it to end! I loved  the developed characterization of Scarlet and Bella's brother, Armando. While this book can be read singularly, it helped me to have read the Bella series and the book before this one that includes Hannah and Drew. But back to this story, I just found it so refreshing, and like all of Thompson's books, it was just such a fun and enjoyable read! I am already reading on the next book, and look forward to the day when all Janice Thompson books are available on the Nook! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    This book was simply amazing! Janice weaves the story of Scarlet

    This book was simply amazing! Janice weaves the story of Scarlet and Armamdo beautifully. I loved the issues the characters faced-they were relatable and made the story one worth telling and reading. If you love romantic Christian fiction with a great message to make you think this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Janice Thompson is one of my very favorite authors and I have re

    Janice Thompson is one of my very favorite authors and I have read almost every one of her books. In this second book in the “Weddings by Design” series, Janice has done it again in writing a fun, heart warming, Christian novel. In this book, Janice brings back many of the characters from the “Weddings by Bella” series (and if you haven’t read that series, I highly recommend them!). In this book, Scarlet is the main character and owns a bakery. She is very involved with the Rossi family and those relationships continue to blossom in this book. Scarlet has a quirky Aunt who means well but sometimes can drive her crazy and has given Scarlet a nickname of ‘Sticky Buns’ which she desperately tries to get rid of. You will find lots of sweet, yummy reading in this book as well as family relationships and romance. Janice has certainly done it again in creating a delightful book that I couldn’t put down until I was done with it. I highly recommend this (and all of Janice’s) books! OH…and I’m definitely going to be baking an Italian Cream cake (recipe included in the book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Back with some beloved friends, and making some new life friends

    Back with some beloved friends, and making some new life friends. We are back with Club Wed, and following the wedding from the last book Wedding Perfect. Hannah is getting ready to marry Drew, and Scarlet Lindsey is her maid of honor. She is also making the cakes for the wedding, both the brides and grooms cake.
    Bella who runs Club Wed, has a brother, who doesn't fit in with the rest of the family, Armando, but when a family crisis happens he comes to the rescue. He ends up next door to Scarlet's new bakery, running the family pizza shop.
    Be ready for some more family emergencies, and for Aunt Willy's arrival in the picture. There are some really funny happenings, and some very unexpected things. Maybe we will learn the secret family recipe, under lock and key? The Italian Cream Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting...I want a piece!!
    In between running the bakery, and doing a TV contest, she is committed to helping her Dad run a show to raise money for the kids in their church to go to Guatemala. She is one busy girl, and with all of this she decides to diet?? Funny!!
    Sit down for a cozy and great read, you will not be getting back up until you are finished. Enjoy!!

    I received this book through the Revell's Blogger's Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the characters that Janice Thompson creates. Boy, do I co

    I love the characters that Janice Thompson creates. Boy, do I connect with Scarlet, the main protagonist in this novel. She is the first overweight female I've "met" through reading. Poor thing, Scarlet feels self-conscious about her abundant backside--her "sticky buns," a thoughtless nickname her Aunt Wilhelmina gave her long ago. To further complicate things, Scarlet owns and operates a bakery named, "Let Them Eat Cake" which is financed by the same Auntie, who makes a habit of popping in often to offer her advice.

    Scarlet's love interest, Armando Rossi, doesn't notice her (ahem) thickness. In fact, he seems to think she looks just fine. He's an Italian bad boy who has come home to temporarily work in the family business--Parma John's Pizzeria, located next door to the bakery.

    I learned about the business of running a bakery, a bake-off competition for a national television show (as in Food Network), and the work involved with raising money for a mission trip. Included is a recipe for an Italian Wedding Cake that I plan to try, even though I know my "sticky buns" will surely expand!

    I recommend reading the first book in the Weddings by Design series Picture Perfect. Nonetheless, Icing on the Cake is a delightful stand-alone novel and certainly can be enjoyed without reading any other.

    Available August, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE ICING ON THE CAKE by Janice Thompson is another delightful i

    THE ICING ON THE CAKE by Janice Thompson is another delightful inspirational Contemporary Romance set on Galveston Island. #2 in the "Weddings by Design" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Picture Perfect". Join Scarlet Lindsey, and her friends, as Scarlet tries to make her dreams come true. Her best friend Bella Neeley is getting married and Scarlet is to make the wedding cake. Scarlet bless her, can not only make cakes, she skirts disaster as well. With, weddings,charm,wit,wedding cakes,and romance what not to enjoy! Ms. Thompson has done it again with her "Weddings by Design" series. She certainly knows how to spin a tale of charm,humor,weddings,wedding cakes,with her sweet romantic story of Scarlet and Armando,Bella's dangerous Italian brother. Well written with charismatic characters and a treat of a story! If you enjoy a witty storyline, charismatic characters, sweet romance, Weddings and a taste of love than pick up "The Icing on the Cake" you will not be sorry. Another enjoyable read by Janice Thompson. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    **Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    "Icing on the Cake" is another wonderful book in Janic

    "Icing on the Cake" is another wonderful book in Janice's "Wedding by Design" series. I have been a big fan of Janice's for years. Scarlet's journey is a heartfelt one with humor and hope. As is Armando's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1