Customer Reviews for

The Iliad

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A classic that's last for over 2000 years

The Illiad, by Homer, is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. It actually is not necessarily a book; more like a poem. This poem-book tells of the legendary Trojan War between the Greeks and the Trojans. The whole thing kicked off when Hector ran away with...
The Illiad, by Homer, is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. It actually is not necessarily a book; more like a poem. This poem-book tells of the legendary Trojan War between the Greeks and the Trojans. The whole thing kicked off when Hector ran away with the Greek king's daughter, Helen. They then fled to Troy with it's near impassable structured walls. Zeus brought back the news to Mount Olympus, place of the gods, and every god took up arguments for both sides. Half sided with Troy while the other half sided with the Greeks. As the Greeks battled with the Trojans, it became clear that they were losing. So they decided on a trick. A selected few men would hidee inside a great wooden horse, dubbed, the Trojan Horse. The Trojans would wheel the horse in think it was a great prize. When nightfall came, the men jumped out and !opened the gate for the whole Greek army to come in. Troy was defeated soundly and the book ends with the funeral of Hector. A ten out of ten!

posted by AnonymousZS on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Love HOMER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love hlm. Homer is A good guy He is asome!!!:-) ;-/ :-#

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 310 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    ~{] Extus Arguet's bio [}~

    Name: Arguet <br>
    Rank: Extus <br>
    Age: 14 moons <br>
    Looks: Pure white all over, with deep purple eyes. <br>
    Personality: Nice to fellow Clanmates, unless they give him a reason not to be. Heartless towards enemies. <br>
    Mate/Crush/Kits: Not allowed yet./What's the point if you can't have a mate?/None. <br>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    &hearts Bloodhearts bio &hearts

    Female extus [if thats just above tito] black fur green eyes reddish patch on chest a bit crazy looking for revenge histor just ask [sorry this is short i pressed back post a bigger one later]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    =|= Oakheart's Bio =|=

    Name-Oakheart <br> Gender- &female <br> Age-20 moons <br> Rank-Tito <br> Looks-Pure white tabby with black tipped paes, ears, and tail. There is a black splotch over her right eye. Her eyes are lavender. <br> History-Long story short.. <br> Kin-Unknown <br> Personality-Brave, loyal, trustworthy, respectful, and outgoing. <br> Mate\Crush\Kits'-That is forbidden for Titos' <br> Other-Ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Berry's bio.

    Name- Berry
    <p>
    Gender- Male
    <p>
    Posistion- Extus
    <p>
    Looks- Cream with white paws, chest, belly, and tailtip. He has green eyes.
    <p>
    Kin- SongFlight- mom- SeaTail- dad.
    <p>
    Mohawk- brother- Angel- brother.
    <p>
    Mate/Crush/Kits- nope/Lavender/never cuz of rank.
    <p>
    Rank- &beta &omega &real &real &gamaa or Berry &#50927

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    ☻Dark updated☻

    Name~Dark. | Appearance~Long furred black male cat with green eyes. One of his hind legs was chopped off by a bear trap when he was a kit. | Rank~Extus. | Mate/Crush/Kit~None/Maybe, not telling/None. | Kin~He has one sister in SnowClan. Because of this, he will never attack SnowClan even if he was killed for disobeying orders.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Falcon's Bio ||| Version 1.0 |||

    Falcon's Bio ||| Version 1.0 ||| <p> Name: Look up. Sometimes I wonder what goes through your head <br> Age: 6 moons <br> Gender: &female or she cat <br> Rank: Tito <br> Mate/Crush/Kits: No/No/No <br> Looks: Have you ever seen a falcon? If not, go on google images and search falcons. Feathery, brown tabby fur, piercing yellow eyes and excelent vision, sharp claws, great hearing, yeah. <br> Other: I'll expand my bio after the lag is over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Annex!Lavender

    Annex rank, A short hair shecat, slick white fur. Her eyes are genetically different, one an ecentric hazel (left), and the other, musky blue (right). Lavender has no mate yet, and no active crush. But she does like Poppy, the new tito kit, with quite some affection. She is a very unique cat with various emotions, depending how she feels, and who she is speaking to. But in the midst of it all, she's cunning and sarcastic. Lavender has four sisters, Fawnpaw, Spiderpath, and Dixie. Fawnpaw went to RedemptionClan to become a warrior, Spiderpath to become a medicine cat somewhere, and Dixie became a kitty pet as a kit when they all left their birthclan because of its faliire.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Mynt

    Rank: Tito. Age: Old enough. Looks: White pelt. That is all you need to know. Crush/mate/kits: Really?! What is wrong with you! Other: Do Not Mess With Me! I have severe anger issues! I am really nice though... GO AWAY!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Tito Spark

    Name: Spark--- Gender: &female ---Looks: pure black with amber eyes---History: do not ask unless you wish to lose an ear

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Annex Glissern

    Brownish blackish tom. Orange eyes. Muscular build. No mate/crush/kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Imperator Stygian's Bio Updated

    Name: Stygian <p>

    Gender: Tom <p>

    Rank: Imperator <p>

    Mate/Crush: ......... <p>

    Kits: None, yet. He doesn't mind the little buggers though. <p>

    Scars: A line on his stomach, and one on his cheek. <p>

    Looks: Stygian wears no collar or claw reinforcements. He believes in battling with his own sill rather than that of a dog or neckwear. He is pure black, save for a white spotch on the back of his left ear. He has dark red eyes, which he is not fond of. He thinks they make him seem far harsher to clanmates than he is. <p>

    Friends: Konoha's the only one to have spoken to him about something ither than rank advancements yet. <p>

    Enemies: Blueheart SnowClan. He will kill him one day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Exus Fawn

    Name:fawn
    Rank:exus
    Age:?
    Gender:she cat
    Apperence:light grey with white spots on bavk
    Other :ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    I wish it included number lines

    I really enjoyed the book, but we had to read it for school and the ebook does not include number lines so it made it hard to follow in class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    2 blow

    Take ur little x and go dy with it up ur butthole its a good book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    x

    x

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Iliad

    I read this for a project I have to do for my end of the year grade...it is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    A Must by for Mythology Fans

    The Iliad may be over 3000 years old, but the enthralling adventure is still apart of modern literature. Robert Fitzgerald has written a great translation of the Iliad. Along with translating the Iliad Fitzgerald creates a story of his own. The image of war is greatly emphasized in Fitzgerald's version of the book. He puts in image of the carnage of the battlefield then he does on just the story of Achilleus.
    Robert Fitzgerald paints an image of a bloody battlefield into the minds of his readers and in this he makes his translation unique. Most of the other translations of the Iliad put much emphasis on Achilleus and his journey to Troy. Robert instead tells the stories of everyone else and the hardships of the war. Here is an example of the image Robert paints of the battlefield, "Now both men disengaged their spears and fell on one another like man-eating lions or wild boars," (pg163 line298). That quote describes the battle between Hektor and Aias with such detail. By describing them as animals it helps in explaining the carnage of war.
    Robert Fitzgerald's Iliad is an amazing story about the struggles of the Achaians and the Trojans. Due to the fact Achilleus wouldn't fight makes the struggle for the Achaians a great one. The Trojans meanwhile have Hektor on their side, which gives them much morale throughout the many battles with the Achaians. Achilleus' anger is very prominent throughout the Iliad. His anger sparks many war changing moments for both sides. For example: "Not if his gifts outnumbered the seas sands or all the dust grains in the world could Agamemnon ever appease me-not till he pays me back full measure, pain for pain, dishonor for dishonor,"(pg209 line470). These are the words of Achilleus when Agamemnon tries to give gifts to him to appease his anger.
    Roberts translation is one that will not be forgotten. He rights or a new Iliad, not one of Achilleus, but one of a great war. Your time is well spent if you plan on reading this great book. Readers will not be disappointed in the enthralling adventures of the Iliad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    greek mythology is reall

    greek mythology is reall this tealls you about it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    oh, yes and that tragic pride....

    ....the Iliad comes alive in its humor, tragic dimension as a lesson in human nature and the nature of conflicts and violence in general. A very apt and current manifesto of blind fury, deceit, petulence and an occasional moment of profound dignity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    I HATE THE ILIAD!

    The Iliad by Fitzgerald is by far the longest and most boring book I have ever read. It took me weeks to finish and bored me to tears. The book was overly descriptive, dull, and gory. I would not recommend it to teenagers or children as it is a classic and usually a college level read. My history teacher forced me to read it freshman year and I absolutely despised the book. This is a book for older men to read if they are into reading long winding passages with flowery dialogue and stupid details. There is so much blood, killing, and useless information. Too many characters are named in the book and there are over a hundred minor characters that are mentioned once and forgotten.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 310 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16