Customer Reviews for

The Imitation of Christ

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My favorite edition of this classic

As Msgr. Ronald Knox once said, if you find 'The Imitation' an 'easy read' then you're probably not getting much out of it. It's a tough book and it took me a long time to appreciate it. But at some point Thomas a Kempis' approach really hit home and became a source of ...
As Msgr. Ronald Knox once said, if you find 'The Imitation' an 'easy read' then you're probably not getting much out of it. It's a tough book and it took me a long time to appreciate it. But at some point Thomas a Kempis' approach really hit home and became a source of joyful and profound meditation. I've sampled numerous versions of 'The Imitation,' but I prefer the Penguin edition for its readability and scholarliness.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beware Penguin translation!

Comparing the Latin text to the Penguin and Vintage translations, one finds in the 'vanity' section of chapter 1 that the Penguin actually leaves out the first sentence! The Vintage renders it 'It is vanity to seek riches that are sure to perish and put your hope in th...
Comparing the Latin text to the Penguin and Vintage translations, one finds in the 'vanity' section of chapter 1 that the Penguin actually leaves out the first sentence! The Vintage renders it 'It is vanity to seek riches that are sure to perish and put your hope in them.' The Penguin goes straight to the vanity of soliciting/pursuing honors. If the Penguin omits an entire sentence from the 1st paragraph, what else is wrong with it? Yikes. Try the Vintage Spiritual Classics edition (tr. Tylenda).

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    My favorite edition of this classic

    As Msgr. Ronald Knox once said, if you find 'The Imitation' an 'easy read' then you're probably not getting much out of it. It's a tough book and it took me a long time to appreciate it. But at some point Thomas a Kempis' approach really hit home and became a source of joyful and profound meditation. I've sampled numerous versions of 'The Imitation,' but I prefer the Penguin edition for its readability and scholarliness.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Excellent!

    A very readable translation of a book that is second only to the Bible. Highly recommended!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thunderous!

    This book is an incredibly rare gem of spiritual knowledge. It is not just words, but a guide on how to live life spirituality. It shouldn't be left simply as words on a page, but this book should be lived by the reader who is really seeking the spiritual, and they will see these words come alive inside them. I gave this book as Christmas gifts for all those I thought would benefit. My favorite review from a friend was "Thunderous! Its just thunderous!"

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    Touches the Heart

    Simply put, this book changed my life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    life-changing potential here...

    this book is so spiritual, so motivating, and very inspirational. it is worth the read. if there is anyone out there that wants to see a great book telling you how God wants you to live your life, this is the book, only second to the Bible of course.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    "Come and Follow Me"

    A beautiful and inspiring guide to living in the Image of Christ. This book is simply structured by specific topics, short entries and scriptural citations. A "must have read" for enriching your prayer life and deepening your relationship with God.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    Translation Comparisons

    I prefer this translation because it is the most penetrating, thought provoking, and most to the point. Comments on the book listed under various translations are not exaggerations. The book is applicable to all ages to all people, even non-Christians. The truths are basic, self-evident, and universal. You have already read or heard much content in other forms, but it is simply much better than anything you have ever read or heard on the myriad of ethical and moral issues. It is founded on basic Christian morality and theology, true, but non-Christians will appreciate and love the words as well. They may be surprised to find that they cherish every word as much (maybe in some cases more) than most Christians, regardless of some theology they do not agree with. I have also reviewed the other most recent translations. The one edited and translated by Joseph N. Tylenda is also well written, and I recommend you purchase both books and compare the two to one another. Keep the Tylenda book for its preface and introduction, and keep this one for the clearer, easier-to-understand content (a matter of taste, which is why you should buy both). This book is small, durable, compact in size and content, and has excellent quality paper. It is also among the least expensive, which has no relationship to its quality; paying more does not necessarily equate to being superior in quality. In my opinion, after comparing, you will buy multiple copies of this compact, maroon book for all your close friends as gifts.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Life is a path !!

    This book has helped me learn that no situation in life is permanent just like life itself so we can only be assured of eternal life if we do all things with Christ in mind, even scratching !!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    A Timeless Catholic Classic of the Spiritual Life

    After the Bible this is the all-time favorite book of Catholics world wide, and with good cause. This a truely concise instruction on the spititual life and 'its basic theme is that, since Jesus Christ is true God and true man, by imitating Christ as man, the Christian becomes more and more like Christ who is God.' (Fr. John Hardon, S.J.) If you want to obtain true holiness then this book is a must have for your library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Truly The Best Translation

    Dr. Joseph Tylenda, S.J., Director of the Theology Center at Georgetown University has provided the most excellent translation of this wonderful classic, The Imitation of Christ. Rev. Joseph Tylenda, SJ earned his Doctorate in Rome. But more than this, Joseph Tylenda's work is that of true Christian. I highly recommend his translation. His English translation brings this timeless classic to life. It has a beautiful cover, and makes a great gift. The Scriptures are in cleverly placed in italics with complete Bible references where Thomas A. Kempis used the Scriptures. If you are a reader of Classic Works, this translation is a must. But even if you are not, this translation will truly inspire you. Dr. Joseph Tylenda, S.J. provides the history as well. All of his work is elloquent and reader friendly. He gives complete dates with very well written readable explanations! Very unique. He demonstrates that he is not only a skillful Dr. of Theology, but also a modern genius of English, History, and Latin. All Christians should own a copy of this book which is among the world's most famous devotionals. So when you have the time, take a look for yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Life transforming!!

    This is a powerful book that will dramatically help bring the Bible to life for you and is the ideal companion to Scripture. If you are a Protestant and enjoy Chambers' Utmost for His Highest, you will really appreciate this devotional that is as timely today as it was in the Fifteenth Century. I just ordered a dozen copies to give to men in my Businessmen's Bible Study.

    BN also has a leather bound bound Wellsprings of Faith that includes Imitation of Christ, The Dark Night of the Soul and The Interior Castle. It is a wonderful volume to own, but is a large (but beautiful) book. The Dover Thrift edition is good for tucking into your briefcase along with your Bible or keeping by the night stand.

    If you are serious about doing God's will rather than your own or man's, then this is a book that will put you on the path to Heavan. If you are serious about your faith and have graduated from the feel-good, sugary, prosperity theology of the day that gives you a quick, brief high, but leaves your spirit weak and unfullfilled, then I highly recommend The Imitation of Christ.

    "There is a great difference between the wisdom of an illuminated and devout man, and the knowledge of a learned and studious clerk. Far more noble is that learning which floweth from above, from the divine out-pouring, than that which is painfully acquired by the wit of man." (Book III, Chapter XXXI) This is a book for those who yearn for devotion and illumination . . . for closeness to their creator and Savior.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book, which inspired John Newton to write Amazing Grace along with the Bible, is the perfect companion to the Bible. God tells us what to do, Kempis helps us know HOW to do it. Though this is a Catholic title, it applies to every Christian in most ways, especially in how to escape the corruption in the world, caused by evil desires..I'm ordering more to give away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Praetor barracks &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent!

    The Imitation of Christ is a must read for all the faithful. It should be read slowly, so as to not miss one word. It is second only to the Holy Scriptures and is a book that should be read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    a MUST read for anyone living for CHrist

    This book shows me how I truly must live to please my Lord. It is inspiring and made me love my Lord so much more than I ever did. He is all I need - He is my everything. Learn of His Ways and His Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    timeless

    Although this book is quite old it is timeless. It discusses scripture and how we are to interpret it. It uses scripture and the way he feels we should be living by it. This book is by dover publishing which gives bargains for their books. You can also find other books about the bible for a very inexpensive price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    A book of comfort and promise

    I'm not as good with words as some others, but I can say that since I bought this little book there has not been a day that I have not found myself thumbing the pages. This work cuts so close to the imaculate, loving heart of Christ that you can almost hear it beat. The wisdom here is Christian, and Catholic, but the message is so universal it can sway agnostics and even athiests to belief. I have given copies of this book to all of my best friends, and they pass the favor on. There is just something about this text that brings the comfort and promise of Jesus to life in few words. I can only say that the Holy Scriptures is the only volume I have that is more powerful than this book to obtain a feeling for the abiding love of Christ. And, it so inexpensive that you can give them to all the people you love. Give this little book a chance, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2