Customer Reviews for

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Every single vampire fan should read this NOW. The action and amazing writing make it a standout.

This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely s...
This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely survived and lived by 1 rule – every man for himself. But Allie still managed to help her friend Stick when he was too weak to do things for himself. She didn’t take crap from anyone and wasn’t afraid to punch someone in the face for being a dick. She was a complex character who really went through the ringer. She fought hard just to survive and even agreed to become a soulless bloodsuckers to avoid dying. Once she became a vampire, she fought the urge to become a monster and struggled to maintain her humanity.

This book reminded me of The Host and The Passage because they also were separated into different sections and the protagonist in all of them went on a long journey. This one was separated into 3 parts: Allie’s time in the Fringe, her time with Kanin when he taught her to be a vampire and her time with the traveling band of humans. Some of it was a little slow (how many vampire lessons did we really need?) but the action soon picked up. There was some gore, but I wouldn’t call it excessive. There were a lot of scares and tense moments and every once in a while I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get past the extra suspenseful parts!

There were also some sweet moments, mostly featuring Zeke. His adopted father was the leader of the group of humans Allie found herself in the middle of for the last quarter of the book. Jebediah clearly had secrets he was keeping from the group and Allie discovered he had some parenting issues I wasn’t expecting.

This is my first novel by Julie Kagawa so I don’t know if this is exemplary of her writing style, but I just couldn’t put this down. It sucked me right in from the beginning and did not let go.

I really dislike the cover. It totally fits the story but it seems so in your face to me. It’s saying “Hey, look at me with my red eye and gross bloody tears! This is a VAMPIRE novel!” I wish it were more subtle.

posted by The_Busy_Bibliophile on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character de...
A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

Summary:

The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

My Opinion:

I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

posted by kristinja73 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

           

           

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    2pmbiegirl

    Omg!!!that was awesome im so glad but im also angry at the same time. What is the second book please tell me i camt find it anywhere!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Not romantic until page 175

    I really wanted to like this book but it felt like torture until page 175, it was her interaction with that group and her small crush that made the book move smoothly and actually get interesting. It was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Really liked this story. Recommend

    Goldylox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    The Iron Fey series (with the exception of the first book) is on

    The Iron Fey series (with the exception of the first book) is one of my favorites. It’s very easy to read, has good humor, fun characters and a magical world. Since I had heard that The Blood of Eden series was completely different from the fey one, I was a little reluctant to start these, not gonna lie. Shouldn’t have doubted Julie Kagawa’s writing abilities though, because this was quite magnificent!

    "Allison, how you live your life is up to you. I can only give you the skills you need to survive. But eventually, you will have to make your own decisions, come to your own terms about what you are."

    Julie manages to craft the world beautifully and with effortless ease. Allison’s strength, courage and tough exterior were intriguing and well-welcomed in this dark, cruel paranormal dystopian world. Liked how the world and Allie both got development, but the plot moves to darker themes quickly, where we get even more development. 

    You can guess based on the original and new covers that this story is dark and more resemblance is towards True Blood than Vampire Academy or The Vampire Diaries: the vamps in this world cry blood tears, there are different gangs, there’s a vampire royalty—I approve of everything. I also liked how the romance took a back seat in this novel. It’s more about Allison’s personal growth and journey to accept the monster she has become. This brings me to Zeke though—loved, loved, loved that guy! Such a sweet, humble and caring person. You can’t help but like him :)

    Part II, while excessive with world building, was intense and the fighting scenes were awesome. I hate Stick. I think it’s good that Ruth questions Allison’s motives even if she does it out of pure jealousy, because it gives realistic qualities to the world where friends turn to foes in 2 seconds flat if it meant they could save their own skin, so why in the world would you want to trust a stranger, yeah? Anyhow, from a reader’s POV, especially one’s that roots for such a kick-a MC as Allison, I wanted Ruth to SHUT UP. Geez! She’s one annoying character. As for other characters, loved Kanin, intrigued by Sarren and hated Jackal. I have no idea why you guys love him so much, he's a complete douche, but.. I'll find out soon, I hope.

    If I were to point out some flaws, I’d say that even though I was rooting for the characters, I didn’t form any big emotional connections. Also, perhaps the long descriptive parts when Allie has to travel alone etc, but it’s totally understandable why it was written that way. Plus, we see Allie’s inner struggles on how to cope with her hunger, lack of home or any support system in the form of a friend during those parts and they were still very beautifully written.

    At the end of the day, this was a great first book and a complete 180 from Julie’s previous work with her fey series. I love me some Ash and Puck, but it was great to see that Julie is just as talented with world and character building as I thought her to be. If you’re interested in something a little darker then I’d definitely recommend this pretty. 

    Overall rating: 4.3 out of 5.0

    Originally published on my blog @ Little Pieces of Imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    The 1st and 2nd Book are awesome !!! Great story, Great Characte

    The 1st and 2nd Book are awesome !!! Great story, Great Characters! Need the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I loved it

    :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    My new favorite heroine

    Love the story love the characters havent been able to stop reading already have the next two books on my nook waitung to be read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Vampires Strike Again

    Action packed, romance, and a vampire ready to change her destiny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I liked it.

    Great characters, great story. Its a vampire/zombie/apoctolipic story. Took me all of two days to read it. Didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was interesting. It was a dystopia, but it creatures z

    This book was interesting. It was a dystopia, but it creatures zombies and vampires. They weren't even hidden; in fact, everybody knew of them. Vampires ruled the cities, the zombies (or "rabids") were a danger to civilization. I've never read a book quite like this one. It was different than the usual vampire book and I really liked reading it. 

    One complaint that I've heard about the beginning is that it's very slow, and in a way, I do understand why someone would think so. The first hundred pages was reserved to world building and introductions and just plain getting the story started. However, I liked that. I didn't find it to be terribly slow. I appreciate details and the build up because it's important to have them when reading a book set in a whole new world or future. 

    Speaking of the "future," the dystopia elements were well done. There was a ruling force—the powerful vampires—then the rebellion—the humans searching for Eden. There was even that danger element—the danger of rabies attacking and vampire leaders upturning the humans' plans. The world and elements inside of it were nicely put together and I wasn't confused about what going on. 

    The characters, too, were nicely set up. Allie, the main character, was very strongly the face of her new reality as a vampire. She didn't want to be a monster that everyone expected her to be. Instead of succumbing to the Hunger, she held out so she wouldn't hurt or take away from the innocent. Unfortunately, most of the other characters judged her immediately upon the discovery that she was a vampire and thought of her as a vicious creature that would kill them. That's understandable, though, because that's a natural response, but it's sad to see someone judged so harshly when I know she didn't deserve it. I was glad that some decided to trust her, though it appeared that she still didn't fit in with anyone at the end of the book. 

    The other characters were pretty good, too. I didn't like them as much as Allie. Kanin didn't make many appearances, but I could tell that he'll play a much bigger role in the sequel. Ruth played the annoying, jealous girl . . . but let's face it, there almost always has ti be one annoying character. I liked Jeb less because he seemed way too obsessed. Jackal was a little scary, and I know he'll make a pretty important appearance in the next book. As for Zeke, he was kind, loyal, and determined, but had the flaws necessary for him to have. I'm not sure about his future in the series. I don't know if he and Allie will fight to be together or if she'll move on from any future with a human. I don't know, bit I'm curious as to where Allie will be heading next. 

    Overall, The Immortal Rules was a great read that not only focused on a group of humans seeking salvation in Eden, an almost mythical location during their journey, but also a heroine who struggled with her new identity as someone most saw as a monster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Beautiful and sad

    Luv this book :) I've already read the second book in the series and it was so depressing but once I got into the story I couldn't stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Daylighters

    I love love the Morganville Vampire series. I've read all the the books in the series except Last Breath. This seems to be one of the best books in the series. It's sad that this amazing series had to come to an end. I hope rachael caine will write another vampire book series or change her mind and write another book in the Morganville Vampires series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Loved it

    Just have nothinhg else to say but wow that was an amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    I loved this book!! It was another great vampire book with you



    I loved this book!! It was another great vampire book with your mostly scary vamps but some that have a non beating heart.



    Our street rat MC Allie is left with two choices after being attacked by the rabids and stumbled upon by a vampire who goes by the name Kanin; die a quick death where he guarantees she won't come back as a rabid or allow him to turn her and live the rest of her immortal life as a monster. I liked that the choice of becoming a vampire wasn't sugar coated like "oh you get to live forever, it's so awesome!" Kanin always called it the life of a monster, even from the get go. But I also loved that Allie's reasoning behind wanting to become a vampire was the pure selfish desire to stay alive. I mean really most of us would do whatever we could to not die. We do see Allie struggle with the new life she leads and what she learns from Kanin. About a third of the way into the book Allie sets off on her own and learns how to take care of herself. While out in the wilderness she stumbles upon a band of humans who are working their way to a "promised land" free of vampires and the rabids. There are surprises along the way and the suspense of if the humans will discover Allie's secret was high.



    The world building was well done. The character development was extensive although I feel there may still be secrets we don't know about. There is a hint of romance between Allie and Zeke (the second in command of the human group) I don't know how they will make it work but I look forward to reading more about them in the next book. I also look forward to finding out more about Kanin, I think he has a lot of secrets to tell.



    Overall it was a fast paced, action packed, exciting read. One that I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Fantastic Book

    I have never liked books about vampires or werewolfs, but this is definatly an exception. The author does a great job at giving vampires a new look. When Kanin saved Alli I was expecting more of a stiff creepy ruthless vampire, but when he showed he cared it put a whole new twist on vampires. If I had to choose my favorite vampire would have to be either Serran or Jackal because both of them have a twisted evil sense of humor. This book has to be one of the greatest books i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Best book ever

    Better than twilight more addicting than drugs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    One of the best books to read

    One of thr best book i have read so far, once you pick it up its really hard to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12