BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Every single vampire fan should read this NOW. The action and amazing writing make it a standout.

This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely s...
This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely survived and lived by 1 rule – every man for himself. But Allie still managed to help her friend Stick when he was too weak to do things for himself. She didn’t take crap from anyone and wasn’t afraid to punch someone in the face for being a dick. She was a complex character who really went through the ringer. She fought hard just to survive and even agreed to become a soulless bloodsuckers to avoid dying. Once she became a vampire, she fought the urge to become a monster and struggled to maintain her humanity.

This book reminded me of The Host and The Passage because they also were separated into different sections and the protagonist in all of them went on a long journey. This one was separated into 3 parts: Allie’s time in the Fringe, her time with Kanin when he taught her to be a vampire and her time with the traveling band of humans. Some of it was a little slow (how many vampire lessons did we really need?) but the action soon picked up. There was some gore, but I wouldn’t call it excessive. There were a lot of scares and tense moments and every once in a while I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get past the extra suspenseful parts!

There were also some sweet moments, mostly featuring Zeke. His adopted father was the leader of the group of humans Allie found herself in the middle of for the last quarter of the book. Jebediah clearly had secrets he was keeping from the group and Allie discovered he had some parenting issues I wasn’t expecting.

This is my first novel by Julie Kagawa so I don’t know if this is exemplary of her writing style, but I just couldn’t put this down. It sucked me right in from the beginning and did not let go.

I really dislike the cover. It totally fits the story but it seems so in your face to me. It’s saying “Hey, look at me with my red eye and gross bloody tears! This is a VAMPIRE novel!” I wish it were more subtle.

posted by The_Busy_Bibliophile on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character de...
A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

Summary:

The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

My Opinion:

I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

posted by kristinja73 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Every single vampire fan should read this NOW. The action and amazing writing make it a standout.

    This book was way more than I was expecting.

    Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely survived and lived by 1 rule – every man for himself. But Allie still managed to help her friend Stick when he was too weak to do things for himself. She didn’t take crap from anyone and wasn’t afraid to punch someone in the face for being a dick. She was a complex character who really went through the ringer. She fought hard just to survive and even agreed to become a soulless bloodsuckers to avoid dying. Once she became a vampire, she fought the urge to become a monster and struggled to maintain her humanity.

    This book reminded me of The Host and The Passage because they also were separated into different sections and the protagonist in all of them went on a long journey. This one was separated into 3 parts: Allie’s time in the Fringe, her time with Kanin when he taught her to be a vampire and her time with the traveling band of humans. Some of it was a little slow (how many vampire lessons did we really need?) but the action soon picked up. There was some gore, but I wouldn’t call it excessive. There were a lot of scares and tense moments and every once in a while I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get past the extra suspenseful parts!

    There were also some sweet moments, mostly featuring Zeke. His adopted father was the leader of the group of humans Allie found herself in the middle of for the last quarter of the book. Jebediah clearly had secrets he was keeping from the group and Allie discovered he had some parenting issues I wasn’t expecting.

    This is my first novel by Julie Kagawa so I don’t know if this is exemplary of her writing style, but I just couldn’t put this down. It sucked me right in from the beginning and did not let go.

    I really dislike the cover. It totally fits the story but it seems so in your face to me. It’s saying “Hey, look at me with my red eye and gross bloody tears! This is a VAMPIRE novel!” I wish it were more subtle.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pick up this book and read it. Now

    It’s been a while, I’m sad to say, since I’ve read a book that’s kept me up nights and made me want to skip meals and forsake sleep (two VERY important things in my life) just so I can turn one more virtual page. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa (NYT bestselling author of the Iron Fey series) did that for me.

    Thank you, very much, Julie. For not only giving us another fantastically written YA book, but also for supplying the market with a rockin’ vampire-dystopian that laughs in the faces of sparkly vampire everywhere, and for giving the YA community a kickass heroine (Allie) with a hard attitude and who knows how wield a katana.

    This book is a freaking awesome cross between Daybreakers, Last Man Standing, 28 Weeks Later, Resident Evil, and The Road. Don’t think it can be done? Wrong. It has been. And it rocks.
    What makes this different from every other vampire book out there? Well, for one, there’s no obsessively beautiful vampire boy who just wants to fall in love. Secondly, this one’s AWESOME. Told from a girl’s point of view, it’s a book about survival and realizing that there might be something out there worth saving other than your own sorry skin. It portrays vampires as they should be—vicious killing machines with an animalistic instinct to destroy and survive.
    Only two things make this book better than it already is: 1) it’s a series, and 2) the film rights have been acquired by Palomar Pictures.

    Heck. Yes.

    Longer review at my blog. Raelynnfry.blogspot

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    When I first bought this book, I was alittle apprehensive about if I would like it or not. Well turns out that I didn't like it, LOVED it! It always keeps you guessing and wanting more. I read it in 3 hours, skipping breakfast and lunch. When i finished reading it, I was sad because there wasn't more. And a little mad because i read it too fast. But I loved every word and every page. If you want to read a vampire book that you will want to read more, this book is 100% the book you want. Can't wait for the next book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Really good!

    I rarely rate any book with five stars, but this one earned it. It is a mix between hunger games and vampire novels. You will not be disappointed. This was the most enjoyable book Ive read this year and i read a lot!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    This is bar far one of the best supernatural books i have read,

    This is bar far one of the best supernatural books i have read, i love the main character Allison and Zeke. Allison is very strong and brave, and i think the same goes for Zeke as well. And i loved how this story had just a touch of romance, but it wasn't overwhelming or fake, you really got to see how there friendship and trust, slowly built on. And I was absolutely absorbed into the story, I just couldn't put my book down and I was extremely sad when i finished the book, 'cuz now i have to wait another year for the second book! UGH. Anyway as i read the book It was almost like you were in that world and i think even though it was supernatural and the world was completely different from our own world today, it wasn't cheesy or unrealistic, where everything is peachy and perfect. And maybe i sound like a complete sadist for saying this, but i liked how some characters died. It wasn't one of those stories where everyone lived, and somehow NO ONE got hurt. I'm like totally in love with how strong Allison's character is, and she immedietly won me over. And yes this book is a little bit gory and violent, and it's not exactly an ideal 'perfect' world, but this book is seriously amazing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just when you think that nothing new can be done with vampires

    Just when you think that nothing new can be done with vampires, Julie Kagawa decides to write about them, and boy does she write a refreshing take!
    I was immediately drawn to Allie, the main character. I love her survivor instinct and how she clings to her humanity and ultimately who she is even in the darkest of circumstances. This is really what defines a strong main character. They can have all the wit in the world or the hottest guy, but if they don't stay true to themselves (this doesn't mean they don't struggle or make mistakes, by the way--in doing these things they discover more about who they are and make me ultimately like them more) then I don't really find them to be believable.
    I really love the mystery surrounding Kanin and I can't wait to find out more about what makes him tick and what led him to the place he's in now. Ms. Kagawa has such a talent to keep me guessing, because for every answer we get in the book, five more questions arise.
    Julie Kagawa writes with such immediacy for her characters and with the right amount of detail that it makes me feel like I am a part of the story rather than a passive passenger. I also admire the talent she has to craft these paranormal societies with such subtleties and dysfunction all at the same time. I'm amazed at how authors such as Ms. Kagawa continue to have things up their sleeve to surprise me, because she did it beautifully in The Immortal Rules with the plot twists and revelations, from Jeb's secret, to the mysterious Raider King, Kanin and the whole story with Zeke.
    As I mentioned a bit earlier, the characters are crafted wonderfully in this first book of The Blood of Eden. I admired Allie's loyalty and resiliency, and Zeke's unwavering ability to see the good in others. Not only are there great characters, The Immortal Rules is packed with action and adventure. You know it's true when one line reads: "I was tired of being shot, stabbed, burned, gutted, staked and thrown out windows..." It is also a sign that you have one kick butt heroine on our hands.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Amazing! But seriously, people?

    This is one of those you-cant-put-it-down books. I read it in 3 hours! However, if one more person compares it to Twilight, I swear... I've lost track of all the reviews I've read saying, "no sparkly vamps here!" or "there's no hot vampire boy obsession in this one!"??? I, for one, am fed up with it. Can't a good book stand on its own? Why do you people have to put down the Twilight series ALL THE FREAKING TIME?!?!? I loved this book, but I loved Twilght too, and it hurts to see that no one can get past their prejudice and bias and like BOTH books! Just a request: can you please stop ruining this incredible book and others like it for Twilight fans? I, personally, am always seriously discouraged when seeing these reviews, and though I understand you have an opinion, please don't assume everyone shares it. I, for one, would rather not rant like this and would like to post a review simply focusing on the book, but you leave me no choice. Just please, appreciate the book for what it is, not what it is or isn't like.

    Moving on, I really did like the book, and Julie Kagawa never fails to disappoint. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes YA fantasy and sci-fi. Really, I don't know if it's possible to dislike the book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

    A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

    Summary:

    The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

    Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

    It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

    Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

    My Opinion:

    I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

    Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    My Thoughts (There are no major spoilers, but if you like to be

    My Thoughts
    (There are no major spoilers, but if you like to be completely surprised do not read on.)

    Nitty Gritty
    Okay, so this book is a start of a new series by Julie Kagawa, who is known for writing the Iron Fey series(whichareamazing). In the beginning we are introduced to Allison (or Allie) who is an unregistered human in a world ruled by vampires. Now by being unregistered, she is not living under the rule of the vampires. Since the vampires took over, the humans have to register to give blood and such or they won't be able to get food/have a place to live, etc. But- you're pretty much controlled by the vampires. Allison doesn't want to be controlled by vampires so she lives life in the Fringe. The fringe is a community- if you could call it that - where all the unregistered humans live. They have to live in abandoned buildings, scavenge for food, and do their absolute best to avoid the rabids- Rabids are crazed vampires who live in the wild and attack after dark. So while living in a beat up abandoned building with her group of friends, Allison has to struggle to survive. But one night when Allison and her friends are out looking for food they get corned by a bunch of rabids, and this is when Allison has to make the choice to die or live as the thing she hates most. So she choses to live, and a vampire (Kanin) changes Allison, and has to teach her the ropes of being a super strong, bad ass vampire! Okay, so after a while with Kanin- Allie is left alone to fend for herself as a vampire, and comes across this group of humans and decided that she would pretend to be human and tag along. ENTER ZEKE. I'm sorry, I just had to add the caps there because Zeke is awesome. So this group is on a search for this land called 'Eden' which is a place free of vampires where humans can live free. And so Allison decides to come along and help them on their search and they go through tons of obstacles on the way, crazy stuff happens, a love blooms, etc. etc.

    Characters
    A l l i s o n : Allison was my type of heroine! I really enjoyed following her throughout the whole story. In the beginning she tried to act like she didn't care and only worried for herself. But after you start reading the book she isn't like that at all, she would jump in front of a bunch of rabids to save the people she cares for! (literally) She was such a strong lead and so selfless which made her oh so very lovable! :D
    K a n i n : I loved this guy. Foreals. He was Allison's sire and her mentor throughout part of the book. He was different from the other vampires which was awesome, and as time went on he really started to care about Allie.
    Z e k e : I'm at such a crossroads between who I love more. :( Kanin or Zeke.. Zeke or Kanin. Ahhh. Well, Zeke is the love interest in the book and one of the members of the group who is on a search for the magical land of Eden. Zeke was just too dang cute for words, guys. He has such a sad past and yet he still wears a smile on his face and tries his best to get by. It was really fun watching Allison and Zeke slowly start to fall for each other. Even though sometimes Allie was just thinking about sinking her teeth into his neck..(She couldn't help it. D: She's hungry!)......

    The rest of the review can be found at my blog. Cheerful Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Wow! :-)

    I really loved it and i hope there are more to come. I really like this author, but i have got to say this is my favorite of her books. Can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Kelly365

    This book was one of my favorite vampire books! One of the best setting I've ever come across: a world where vampires rule but are in as much danger as humans. I really recomend it for someone who is tired of the stories where vampires have no enimies and are stuck having to hide because of science.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    Especially the audiobook version. Worth every penny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Best book

    Best book i have ever read in long time i wish it was in a series but owell it was still a amazing book :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I¿ll definitely have my eyes out for the next in this series.

    This book was supplied to me by the publisher through NetGalley. This was NOTHING like The Iron King. I read online (maybe at Ms. Kawaga’s website) she was reluctant to write a vampire book. OMG! I am SO glad she decided to take the leap. I loved the main character, Allie. Bad @$$. Yes, that’s what she was. She was the type of girl who wasn’t playing games. If she told me to get out of her face for whatever reason, you better believe I’d do it, cause I’d know without a doubt, her next move would be to make me physically comply in the most unpleasant way. And the thing was, I’d deserve whatever she dished out. I love a gal who sticks to her guns! Quite a few side characters in this book. I’m not going to go into them all, but if you were able to get over all the expendable characters in The Hunger Games, you should be fine with this book. PLOT!!! Wonderful plot… always moving forward. I almost wonder if Julie Kawaga wrote this one by the seat of her pants. A lot of books start with an overall goal to achieve. This book sort of just moved along from incident to incident. I never really felt like there was an end goal for Allie other than to survive… and that gal was a survivor! Even though the book didn’t seem to have an ultimate goal, pretty much all the main strings were wrapped up in the end. HOWEVER, the story didn’t really end. New goals were created in the last few pages… something to look forward to in the next book. Overall, great book. I’d say 4.5/5 stars. I’ll definitely have my eyes out for the next in this series. In fact, I enjoyed The Immortal Rules so much, I’m going to give the next book in the Iron Fey series a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Another great by julie kagawa!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so hard to read. It was traumatizing, depressing a

    This book was so hard to read. It was traumatizing, depressing and terrifying. And all these are good things.

    Here’s the world: Vampires have now taken over after a disease has killed or created monsters out of the entire population.

    For the few remaining humans, there are a few options:
    One: Become a Pet, i.e. get pampered by the vampires, have a master, give blood whenever necessary.
    Two: Get registered and have to give blood with no exceptions.This goes with being a pet too. However, you wouldn't be as pampered as a pet.
    Or Three: Remain unregistered. Live in absolute squalor with no food resources and fear of death at all times.

    Allie, the main character, chooses door number three because of her overwhelming hatred for vampires. She lives in a group with three boys and their only way to survive is to trade for food, randomly find some (not likely) or go outside the city into open territory where psychotic vampires known as Rabids roam. Now most vampires are like humans in mental processes i.e. they remember their own life, they can be logical. Rabids are nothing like that. They are vicious and animalistic. Luckily, the author stuck with vampires as night creatures so Allie figures she’s safe going outside the wall.

    Let me tell you one thing I learned in this book: NO ONE IS SAFE. This was probably the most horrifically accurate depiction of what I think the world would be like if vampires ruled. I'll say it again: it was depressing, sad and terrifying. But what made this book wonderful were the moments of hope. Allie ends up meeting someone who brings a little light into her life…err after life. I don’t want to give away more than the blurb does, but I loved who Allie meets after she becomes a vampire and what he makes her think about life and about love.

    I also loved Allie's kickassness. She struggles so greatly about becoming this creature she hates. It was so hard to watch, I was biting my shirt neck the entire time I was reading it. I loved her story line but was impressed me was the connection I felt with all the characters. People who I hated in this book because they were cowardly, jealous or petty, I couldn't not feel sympathetic or empathetic towards. Take for instance Allie’s friend Stick. He doesn’t do any of the work to get food and relies on Allie to do everything for him. He was whiny, annoying and cowardly. At times I wish she would beat him in the face but I had to stop and wonder what I would be like in this world. Everyday that Allie and her gang left to get food was another day they could have died. It would be impossible to not understand why Stick would act the way he did. I loved that almost every character had redeemable qualities and weren't one note.

    Here’s what I didn’t like. There were a lot of plot holes I had a hard time overlooking. Allie almost never thinks about the boy she lost when she became a vampire. I didn't feel like it was callous of her, I almost felt like Kagawa forgot to mention him again. Allie meets a new boy who she likes but doesn't think about the one she liked for two years? Seems fishy. Also, there were other points were Kagawa missed mentioning things that had previously happened like bodies being left somewhere but when Allie returns to the spot she doesn’t think about what happened to the bodies and there is no explanation of where they went. I don’t know if this was an ARC problem but it bothered me because it took me out of the story, though it was minor.

    I also didn't like how Allie kept meeting people that were all connected through a certain event. Everything was just too perfect. Like magically Allie happens to meet the exact person who knows someone she knows or is a part of the bigger problem going on in the world. It was just unrealistic. Too serendipitous, in my opinion. If it happened once, I would have been like OH OKAY but it happened like three times so I can't excuse it.

    Lastly, (this has nothing to do with the story) I wanted to point out how the girl on the cover is not Asian even though Allie is. I don't see the point in that.

    OVERALL:

    Lost points for plot holes and some other aspects I didn't like but I loved the world and characters. I felt the pain and terror of the characters. What could be a better experience than that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I hoped it'd be

    I really wanted to love The Immortal Rules, and since it was by Kagawa, I thought I would. However, I was wrong. This book didn't blow me away at all. Kagawa's writing is near perfect, and the world building is fantastic. I didn't like the characters, though, and the plot was a bit scattered (which is something I notice a lot in dystopian novels). Also, the pacing kind of dragged for me. I just was not into this story at all. It took me awhile to read it. I'm glad I did, if nothing else, just to satisfy my curiosity. I have to admit that I like the Iron Fey series better. One thing I did like, other than the writing and world building, is the fact that vampires aren't good sparkly characters in this novel. They are controlling murderers. That was refreshing.


    Allie is one of the most detestable characters I've ever read. She alternates between being a snarky, whiny, self-centered brat, and a doormat. It's kind of annoying. The people who she lives with on the Fringe are also horrible, as are the humans she meets after she's changed. The only person I liked was Kanin, and he disappears mid-novel never to be seen again. I really couldn't stand Zeke, and I kind of wanted to impale him with something.


    The plot was confusing and a bit scattered. There were times that I had a hard time following what was going on, and sometimes I had no idea why something occurred. After reading the entire book, I still have no real idea why some things occurred. The pacing was also slow-as-molasses. I thought I was going to gouge my eyes out during the first half of the book because it moved so slowly. It did pick up around the 250 page mark, though, and it got much better. At least there was action and adventure going on then. Nothing about this novel actually kept me guessing or on the edge of my seat, though. It took me a few days to read this one because I kept getting bored. I'd go read something else then come back to it.


    Overall, I'd recommend this to dystopian, Kagawa, and *real* vampire fans. When I say *real* vampire fans, I mean people who are disturbed by the fact that Edward Cullen sparkles. If you want to read about *real* vampires, as they were meant to be perceived by the great Stoker, then this is an excellent choice for you. The book isn't bad. It just wasn't for me. I know a lot of people have loved this novel, and I'm sure many more will love it than hate it. Try a sample or skim over the first chapter or two at the book store before you buy it, but I know for a fact that dystopian fans will love this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    2pmbiegirl

    Omg!!!that was awesome im so glad but im also angry at the same time. What is the second book please tell me i camt find it anywhere!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Not romantic until page 175

    I really wanted to like this book but it felt like torture until page 175, it was her interaction with that group and her small crush that made the book move smoothly and actually get interesting. It was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Really liked this story. Recommend

    Goldylox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12