Customer Reviews for

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Every single vampire fan should read this NOW. The action and amazing writing make it a standout.

This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely s...
This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely survived and lived by 1 rule – every man for himself. But Allie still managed to help her friend Stick when he was too weak to do things for himself. She didn’t take crap from anyone and wasn’t afraid to punch someone in the face for being a dick. She was a complex character who really went through the ringer. She fought hard just to survive and even agreed to become a soulless bloodsuckers to avoid dying. Once she became a vampire, she fought the urge to become a monster and struggled to maintain her humanity.

This book reminded me of The Host and The Passage because they also were separated into different sections and the protagonist in all of them went on a long journey. This one was separated into 3 parts: Allie’s time in the Fringe, her time with Kanin when he taught her to be a vampire and her time with the traveling band of humans. Some of it was a little slow (how many vampire lessons did we really need?) but the action soon picked up. There was some gore, but I wouldn’t call it excessive. There were a lot of scares and tense moments and every once in a while I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get past the extra suspenseful parts!

There were also some sweet moments, mostly featuring Zeke. His adopted father was the leader of the group of humans Allie found herself in the middle of for the last quarter of the book. Jebediah clearly had secrets he was keeping from the group and Allie discovered he had some parenting issues I wasn’t expecting.

This is my first novel by Julie Kagawa so I don’t know if this is exemplary of her writing style, but I just couldn’t put this down. It sucked me right in from the beginning and did not let go.

I really dislike the cover. It totally fits the story but it seems so in your face to me. It’s saying “Hey, look at me with my red eye and gross bloody tears! This is a VAMPIRE novel!” I wish it were more subtle.

posted by The_Busy_Bibliophile on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character de...
A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

Summary:

The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

My Opinion:

I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

posted by kristinja73 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

    A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

    Summary:

    The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

    Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

    It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

    Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

    My Opinion:

    I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

    Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I already had bought this!

    So I am looking for another book to read and the summary drew me in but I read a chapter in and bam I figured out I've read this! I did enjoy this book, I feel like at parts it was slow and predictive but the story moves along steady pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    One thing you can't fault Kagawa for is the amount of ideas she

    One thing you can't fault Kagawa for is the amount of ideas she brings to the table.
    There is always an abundance of creativity and I think this venture into a darker genre was right up her alley. Although riddled with vampires the book also has elements of a dystopian society within the ruins of a rampaged world.
    I found the first half of the book fresh and exciting, then I think Kagawa made a mistake in her plot. Taking out a key character that you have just spent one half of book introducing to the reader, well it doesn't always work.
    After that the book lost a major element and what could have been an outstanding story became a mediocre one instead.
    This is something Kagawa is prone to do and has done in some of the earlier Iron King books also. For me there is still an imbalance and inconsistency in the storyline, creativity and plot, but there is always the next book. I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 The Low Down: Allison ¿Allie¿ Sekemoto lives in

    Rating: 3.5




    The Low Down: Allison “Allie” Sekemoto lives in a part of New Covington called The Fringe. If you’re an Unregistered, that’s the only place within the walls where you can live. If you can call it that. The constant hunger keeps her small band of brothers searching, looking, excavating. Ever since the Red Lung virus killed wiped out most of the population, the remaining humans had been promised security and food in exchange for their blood. Something Allie refuses to do.




    When she has to, Allie bravely sneaks away to an area outside the Wall called the Ruins in search of food. Humans lived out here before the Wall was built, but now it is full of rabids looking to eat anyone stupid enough to venture out here at night. Convincing her friends to return with her to help gather a cache of food she found, they are brutally attacked. When Allie comes to, she is told that she’s too badly hurt and won’t survive. She is then given two options by her “savior:” he will kill her so she won’t turn into a rabid; or, he will make her a vampire.




    After agreeing to the latter transformation, training, and learning all about her new “kind,” Allie is forced to separate from her Master and go off on her own. Then she meets Zeke. Open, friendly, even with a rifle leveled at her chest, she’s never met anyone like him. Can she safely travel with Zeke, his father, Zeb and their group as they try to find a place called Eden? Will she be able to control herself around humans? What is Zeb’s real reason for wanting to get to Eden at all costs? And how can she keep everyone, especially Zeke, from finding out what she really is?




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: At first, I thought “Really? Dystopian + Vampires? Seriously?” But hey, it works. It’s sort of a vampire version of The Walking Dead, really. Allie is kick-ass, Zeke warms her and makes her softer, and the secondary characters are all realistic and varied. It’s ironic that Allie is more human when she’s no longer breathing. And the bad guys? To the bone, people. To the bone.




    I’m Cranky Because: Let’s face it: you can’t be dystopian without suffering, extreme rules and whatever chaos caused this state in the first place. Dystopian stories are pretty dour, bleak and gray. On the other hand, you know that eventually something’s going to happen that is going to cause a shift, a Network sort of moment, when the main character decides that they just aren’t going to take it anymore. It just seemed to take a little longer than I would have liked for this to happen. Because once it did, the book was infinitely more interesting and moved at a much quicker pace.




    The Bottom Line: If you’re a fan of vampires trying to hang onto their humanity and people trying to find something worthwhile to cling to, then this is the book for you.




    The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa was published April 24, 2012 by Harlequin Teen. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley, Harlequin Teen and Julie Kagawa.




    Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction Dystopian Fantasy Paranormal Romance Series
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Mild profanity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I was expecting the usual vampire/supernatural romance, but the

    I was expecting the usual vampire/supernatural romance, but the novel is so much more. This is a story about choices, loyalty, family, and judgment. The book made me think about my beliefs - why I believe what I do and how that impacts the way I see the world. What would I do if I found out everything I believed was wrong? How would that change my life?
    The main character in the story is an Asian teenage girl named Allison. She lives on the fringes of New Covington - a Vampire owned city. The novel is set after the Red Lung Virus kills many humans. The planet is now inhabited by humans, Vampires, Rabids (mutations caused by the Red Lung Virus that are vampire/zombie/monster hybrids), and other mutated animal monsters. Some cities are Vampire owned and some are not. Allison survives as an unregistered (one that does not serve the Vampires) by stealing food and foraging in the dangerous ruins outside the Wall. The Wall protects all those inside from the Rabids who will kill anything with a pulse. Allison is in a gang of three other unregistereds that live and work together to survive. She risks her life by venturing into the Ruins to find food for herself and the gang. Her life changes dramatically when she takes her gang out to the Ruins to help gather food. How Allison deals with those changes, the adventures, trials, and people she meets afterwards make up the rest of the novel.
    The story unfolds in four parts - human, vampire, monster, and wanderer. Since the novel is told from Allison's point of view, we see her struggle to survive, struggle with her choices, struggle to understand choices, and then learn to understand and accept her choices. Allison is not perfect, but she does what she thinks is best. She cares for others and shows love, loyalty, and forgiveness even when she is not shown the same in return.
    This book is not what I expected and I like that. The secondary characters are well developed and interesting. At 342 pages, the book does have complexity and depth, but there are areas where the action and plot seem to drag. During a few of the side adventures, I found myself wondering why we were on the adventure and what it added to the plot.
    I would recommend the book to my high school students. Allison is a character many will relate to and enjoy watching her struggle with and learn about her new life.
    Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa receives 3 of 5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    ?. :)

    It was pretty good but was slow at times....i loved the iron fey series soooooooooo much better though:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    First off, you have no idea how much I love this author! LOVE HE

    First off, you have no idea how much I love this author! LOVE HER! The Iron Fey series was amazing! I would totally read anything by her! When I heard that she was going to make another series about vampires. I was really excited to read it.


    First Chapter: Allison lived in a house with other people. The town was filled with vampires and human just like her. Every week or so, the registers would go to the building and let the vampire feed off of them. If they missed the appointment to go to the building, they would be killed. Allison and the others are unregisters. Since they are not registers, they have to go hunt food for themselves.


    What I like about this book s the main character is really strong. She doesn't lean on anyone to protect her. She's independent. She's like a warrior. I love how she doesn't think about the guy she likes all the time. She actually is the one who protects everyone in this book. Which is amazing since I always see the guy protecting everyone.


    Zeke....oh Zeke. I wish he wasn't so clueless. He would even kill the girl he likes. What a shame. Hopefully he improves in the next book. I want him to be a man.

    It was a great book! I wouldn't say it was my favorite book of all time but I like it. I think it was kinda sow in some parts of the story. The beginning was awesome! A lot of action, loved it. The middle wasn't that great but the ending made up for it. The author gave us some hints on what is going to happen in the next book. It was quite easy to predict. I'm excited for the next book in the series! I definitely can not wait until The Lost Prince comes out!

    Overall this is a great book! If you like action books, this is definitely for you! I'm pretty sure everyone will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    (Source: purchased on kindle for only 99p!) It is sixty years si

    (Source: purchased on kindle for only 99p!)
    It is sixty years since a virus called ‘red lung’ wiped out most of the human population, and now there are 3 races living on the earth – humans, vampires, and rabids.

    Allie is human, and lives on the fringes of a vampire city called ‘New Covington’. She is unregistered, which means that she doesn’t have to donate her blood to the vampires of the city, it also means that she doesn’t get fed. Slipping outside of the walls of the fringe one day, into the wastelands beyond, Allie thinks that her and her friends will be safe for the winter when she discovers a hidden storage room full of tinned food. Little does she know just how much that discovery will change her life forever.

    Attacked by rabids while trying to save the life of her friend, Allie is offered a choice – die or become a vampire. Finding an intense desire to live, Allie becomes a vampire, and must then learn to live as a vampire, which means what was once unthinkable – drinking human blood.

    Forced to flee the city where she has spent her entire life, Allie comes across a group of humans who are searching for a place called ‘Eden’, a place where humans are safe from rabids and vmapires. But with her hunger growing, can Allie live among them and not feed on them? And what should she do about Zeke – the boy she can’t stop thinking about?


    This book had a very interesting concept – part dystopian, part classic vampire, and I couldn’t wait to read it! I have to say that unfortunately it didn’t reach up to the high expectations I had for it.

    To start, the storyline was a mix of dystopian and vampire, and at times I felt like the two ideas just didn’t really mesh well together.
    I think what was odd was that in a dystopian society, I kind-of felt like maybe we should have moved on from vampires, that there could have been something a bit different going on 60 years in the future, rather than good old blood sucking, sunlight avoiding vampires. I don’t know why, but I just didn’t fall in love with the concept.
    The other thing that annoyed me is how the hell no one noticed that Allie didn’t breath! She didn’t even pretend to hide it! Surely someone would see her not breathing and think it was odd?!

    Okay, moving on;
    Allison/Allie was an interesting character. She started off wanting to be different, wanting to not kill human beings, until she realised how difficult it was. She really did try so hard though, especially to not feed off those she was traveling with – even though Kanin (her sire) had told her she wouldn’t be able to resist.

    I like Kanin and his blunt attitude, and I actually liked his background story, as it proved him to be different too. I found it refreshing that Kanin, was very blunt and to-the-point with Allie when telling her about vampires;

    “Sometime in your life, Alison Sekemoto, you will kill a human being. Accidentally or as a conscious, deliberate act. It is unavoidable. The question is not if it will happen, but when.”

    There was no – ‘maybe you can change’, ‘maybe you’ll be different’, he gave her the facts, which was a nice change from the norm. Although I have to say that the rest of the book was then spent proving him wrong!

    Zeke (the love interest) was really sweet, and I really liked him, although several of the other members of the group were a bit irritataing. Zeke really believed that people were ultimately good, and always tried to help people if he could, even if it meant endangering his own life.

    Thankfully, after a slow start and a few moans, the book picked up towards the end, and I’m interested to see what will happen to Allie in the next book.
    7 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1