Customer Reviews for

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Every single vampire fan should read this NOW. The action and amazing writing make it a standout.

This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely s...
This book was way more than I was expecting.

Allie and the other ‘Fringers’ (those unregistered humans that lived in the Fringe) scrounged for supplies in abandoned buildings and homes and hunted rats so they wouldn’t have to eat spiders or cockroaches. They barely survived and lived by 1 rule – every man for himself. But Allie still managed to help her friend Stick when he was too weak to do things for himself. She didn’t take crap from anyone and wasn’t afraid to punch someone in the face for being a dick. She was a complex character who really went through the ringer. She fought hard just to survive and even agreed to become a soulless bloodsuckers to avoid dying. Once she became a vampire, she fought the urge to become a monster and struggled to maintain her humanity.

This book reminded me of The Host and The Passage because they also were separated into different sections and the protagonist in all of them went on a long journey. This one was separated into 3 parts: Allie’s time in the Fringe, her time with Kanin when he taught her to be a vampire and her time with the traveling band of humans. Some of it was a little slow (how many vampire lessons did we really need?) but the action soon picked up. There was some gore, but I wouldn’t call it excessive. There were a lot of scares and tense moments and every once in a while I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get past the extra suspenseful parts!

There were also some sweet moments, mostly featuring Zeke. His adopted father was the leader of the group of humans Allie found herself in the middle of for the last quarter of the book. Jebediah clearly had secrets he was keeping from the group and Allie discovered he had some parenting issues I wasn’t expecting.

This is my first novel by Julie Kagawa so I don’t know if this is exemplary of her writing style, but I just couldn’t put this down. It sucked me right in from the beginning and did not let go.

I really dislike the cover. It totally fits the story but it seems so in your face to me. It’s saying “Hey, look at me with my red eye and gross bloody tears! This is a VAMPIRE novel!” I wish it were more subtle.

posted by The_Busy_Bibliophile on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Unique Twist of Dystopian Meets Paranormal Romance

A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character de...
A dystopian vampire-ruled society...what's not to like? The Immortal Rules is the first book in Julie Kagawa's new series Blood of Eden. I absolutely adored her Iron Fey series and feel she is off to a great start with this novel. Julie's world-building and character development amaze me. Her worlds are always imaginative but, somehow, still realistic. Her protagonists are strong-willed, both mentally and physically, but also humanly flawed.

Summary:

The world in The Immortal Rules is dystopian, meaning that society is oppressed and disintegrating under some type of government...in this case, vampires rule. Humans are either Registered or Unregistered. Registered meaning that the vampires keep track of you, collect blood for their feeding from you, and, in return, the vampires provide you with food and necessities. Unregistered humans are able to easily slip through the cracks, because, in the vampires' eyes, they didn't exist. This also means the Unregistered aren't given a meal ticket, leaving bands of misfits to scavenge for food and supplies. If an Unregistered is caught stealing, imminent death is certain..

Allie is a young Unregistered living with three other teenagers in an abandoned schoolhouse, struggling to survive. They depend on each other for food and protection. Lucas, Rat, Stick, and Allie attempt to stay under the radar of the Prince of their city. Before her death, Allie's mother taught her to read, a rarity in this particular society. Knowledge of any sort can cause humans, Registered and/or Unregistered, to become Taken and used by the vampires.

It doesn't take long for Allie to lose more than just her parents. She loses the only friends she has ever known and her own life as a human. Nothing can keep her from dying, but Kanin can make her immortal. Kanin is bluntly honest with her. She will, from the point she turns, always be a monster. Nothing changes that fact. She will kill a human, no matter how hard she tries not to...it will happen. Even with this information, Allie makes the only choice she can, she allows Kanin to turn her and teach her how to become a vampire.

Allie's journey with Kanin is only the beginning. Once he has taught her all he can, she must set off on her own path and learn to survive without his protection. Along the way, she discovers a group of humans searching for Eden...the proverbial promised land. The choices she makes along her travels will eventually define her as a person and a vampire. She begins to realize that hiding her true nature is going to be extremely difficult...especially as her feelings for Zeke grow into something more than friendship. Holding on to her humanity is important to Allie and the lengths she takes to save her new friends might be the one thing that gives her away.

My Opinion:

I loved the storyline. A dystopian vampire society is a unique and intriguing concept. I also appreciated the fact that Julie made no qualms with including Christian beliefs and ideologies in The Immortal Rules. Her candor with not only Allie's, but with all of the going-to-Eden pack's, beliefs--or loss of belief, as the case maybe--is refreshing to see in writing.

Allie is a strong female lead, who does what she must to survive, but...she also has flaws and battles internally about what is right and wrong. Occasionally, she makes the wrong decisions and suffers the consequences of her actions. Although she is a strong character, it took me a while to "like&

posted by kristinja73 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Best book ever

    Better than twilight more addicting than drugs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    One of the best books to read

    One of thr best book i have read so far, once you pick it up its really hard to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Oh ... wow! Where's the button for 6 stars? It's been a long t

    Oh ... wow! Where's the button for 6 stars?

    It's been a long time since a book sucked me into its world from start to finish. The heroine is believable, her ongoing internal battle with 'the hunger' and coming to grips with what she's been turned into felt real, and the entire world felt palpable to me. I -so- want to go write me some Kanin fanfiction (tortured, mysterious, brooding vampires with a bit of a conscious ... ooh! Hark back to BTVS and Angel days!).

    The Hunger ... if anybody has ever suffered from an addiction, whether it be a substance, narcotic, alcohol, nicotine or a person, they know that compulsive feeling of not being able to push something out of their mind and let it go. The heroines ongoing battle with her inner demon, the hunger for the blood she needs to survive, was a huge part of this story and it felt credible and real.

    What I especially liked was that it took the heroine a believable amount of time to learn to use a katana (Japanese samurai sword). For me, a martial artist who studies the Okinawan sais and can wield (but has not yet mastered) the katana, the fight scenes felt real, even with the heroines super-strength and vampire-enhanced reflexes. So many books have shoddy fight scenes ... either they pretend somebody is taking on 50 opponents at once when, really, one is plenty ... or they speak of fights that last for hours. Or worse ... they gloss right over it, skipping the luscious fight-scene details like the vibration of the blade as it cuts through flesh and strikes bone, or the bone-deep exhaustion you feel after only a couple of minutes. If you've ever been in any kind of martial arts or boxing competition, you know that 3 minutes feels like days! Either Ms. Kagawa has spent some time learning to sword fight, or she has taken the time to speak to somebody who DOES and let them walk her through things such as the weight of the blade and its strengths and limitations in cutting through various elements. Everything was exaggerated, of course, by the heroine's vampire strength, but even then the heroine wielding her katana had her limits and if I could add another point to the story for that detail alone, I would.

    Complaints ... oh ... gosh ... I honestly can't think of anything [other than the fact I've got black circles under my eyes from staying up too late reading*]. I am -so- nominating the second book of this series for BOTM next month so I have an excuse to read it!

    This book got immediately handed to my teen for reading. It has passed mom-inspection (with a caveat for darkness ... a lot of people die gruesome katana-laden deaths) and has earned a permanent home in our personal library

    This book was read as part of the Goodreads Lovers of Paranormal September Book of the Month.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Audiobook Review: 4.5 stars! Yep, silly me¿ this was DEFINITEL

    Audiobook Review:

    4.5 stars!

    Yep, silly me… this was DEFINITELY one of those books that should have been read a longggg time ago. I can’t believe it took me so long to read it! I think this just may be the first vampire book I’ve read since Twilight. And I have to say… I love vampires. No, they didn’t sparkle (hehe, thanks Jen!), but man did they leave an impression on me!




    The dark world Kagawa creates is remarkable. It never ceases to amaze me how certain authors possess that extremely unique gift of creating a world within a story that is so lifelike it’s impossible not to feel firsthand as though you’re right there alongside the characters. I’m sure the fact that I chose to go the audio route with this one really helped as well. There’s nothing like a wonderful narrator performing a story (that’s already written wonderfully) to make you feel like a part of it. I was completely engrossed in this story. The action, the fear, the excitement… I felt it all!




    The Immortal Rules is another story where I can say what a joy it was to read with absolutely no knowledge whatsoever. This came out last year, and though I can’t to read it then, for whatever reason I didn’t. So now, over a year later, I started this book, not having read reviews or the synopsis, and I truly believe that made the story that much better. I didn’t know what was going to happen next, I was thrown for a loop more than once, and I the pounding of my heart had to be audible (at least to any vampires nearby) at that rate. I loved it!




    The characters… perfect. Allie was a total kick-ass heroine, my very favorite type. No, she didn’t always make the right decisions… and sometimes I wanted to smack her. But man, was she a tough one! I love a strong, tough girl that can hold her own. The secondary characters were without a doubt just as striking as Allie. Plummer did an impeccable job as narrator performing the characters’ unique personalities.




    If you haven’t started this series yet, I suggest you do. That is, as long as you like vampires and tough girls kicking some major booty! I’m always happy when I start a series a little late because the second book is already out, and I WILL be reading The Eternity Cure ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book takes some old ideas and squishes them together in new

    This book takes some old ideas and squishes them together in new ways to make a delightfully original story. It is a vampire/zombie apocalypse adventure with more than a few hints of samurai legends. I love it. It's dark and dramatic and powerfully written. Plus it has vampires fighting zombies. Beat that! Well, they're called 'rabids' in the book, but they're basically zombies.

    Allie is one tough lady. Having spent her entire life hating vampires, she suddenly is one. Under the tutelage of Kanin, a mysterious, solitary vampire with many secrets, she starts to learn how to be a monster without becoming a monster. He teaches her how to use her new abilities to survive and defend herself and gifts her with a katana. (A vampire slaying zombies with a katana - like I said, beat that!) This interlude does not last long, however, and Allison is forced to set out into the world on her own. It is there that she discovers a wandering group of humans - and Zeke.

    I really like Zeke (full name Ezekiel Crosse). He still has hope in a world that offers none. He's a born leader; protective, selfless and brave. He's also falling fast for Allie - or the human he thinks she is. Despite how much I like him as a love interest, I have this kind of half-hope that Kanin will turn out to be...but I doubt it. Maybe. We'll see. He's pretty entrenched in the mentor role for now.

    All-in-all, I loved this book. Great characters, wonderful story, serious and fun at the same time...what's not to like? I would highly recommend The Immortal Rules.

    I received an e-galley of this book through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Favorite Book so far

    I love this book. The ending was a little sad for me but i still loved it. Like i said favorite book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Acid

    Description. Poisonous yellow green eyed she cat with pitch black fur. Black claws. Her tongue is forked. Her tail, if you look at closely, has a sting on the end. She can unfold dragon wings and fly. The wings, when folded, are virtually invisible.<br>
    Powers or skills. A single scratch, bite or sting from her will induce a painful and slow death by melting. Her eyes can mesmerize you. <br>
    Story. As a kit, she was virtually ignored and that was fine. Then a strange wolf (later she would know her name was Eryani) came and explained what ECA was. She eagerly joined, performed ruthlessly and advanced to the Renewal seventeen moons earlier than expected for her level. At the renewal, she gained her powers and graduated with honors. <br>
    Names. Given name: Shadekit. Taken name. Acid. True name: (note that i already put a spell on it so you cannot control me with it) Insidium.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Fear

    Is a kit of Bloodclan, he was named by He<_>llsing for what his dark fur represented to others, he is a completely black tom with dark green eyes, he has unusually long and sharp claws for his age, when he cuts something it sprays blood more than a usual cut does... he is not completely evil yet for he still is being influenced, but theres a stage for when his eyes go red he craves bloodlust and he madly goes on a killing spree... His collar is a ripped black cloth with a strange thorny plant woven into it, he has a few mice teeth from mice he has caught and he also has a mysterious large talon that he doesnt recall getting, he is still growing and doesnt fully understand things quite yet... when he is discuised his face is *+*, his sig is xFEARx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Silver

    Name•Siver Gender•She Collor•blue Old name•Minnowkit Other•is a double agent with bloodclan and sunclan went to sunclan to spy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Fawn

    Name: look to the top. fur collor: white fur black specks yellow collar with some dog teeth. Kin: none crush: none. belongs to bloodclan and sunclan she keeps bllodclan a secret from sunclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Blackshadows

    Name:look at the title. Appearance: black she cat with yellow eyes and a wispy tail. Scars run across her side. Collar: midnight blue with a dog tooth. Personality: mysterious shady and youll find out the rest. Mate:none. Crush:none. Kits: what do you think? Kin: none. History: she once had been in a clan but she got lost. She is a cat who was abandoned.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Scourge

    Has completly black fur and one white forpaw. Has icey blue eyes and a purple collar filled with teeth. Will ubdate soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I am a big fan of Julie Kagawa, so I not sure if it's just me bu

    I am a big fan of Julie Kagawa, so I not sure if it's just me but i think her work is absolutely stupendous! She creates quite a unique world where vampires rule the earth. The face that her book involves vampires being out in the public (rare for vampire books, for vampires usually hide among humans), she creates a world ruled by a dominate predator. the vampires. i found it quite thrilling through i would not recommend it to one below that of 12 years and under. Depending on how mature they are. But i would generally say that this book should only be read by those of 13 years or older as it is a young adult series. It's a little violent, not horribly so but for an 11 year old it might not fair so well. But you will to judge that for yourself and again i reiterate that the age group for this should at least be that of 13 years or older. I hope many of you bright parents and children alike find this review most helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    When I first picked this book up I didn't know what I would thin

    When I first picked this book up I didn't know what I would think of this book. I haven't read a really good vampire novel in forever, and then I picked this one up. 
    I was amazed at how well written this book was! I love dystopian novels and the fact that it was mixed with the true nature of vampires was truly awesome. I think
    anyone who loves dystopian novels and has an interest in vampires should read this book. It doesn't portray vampires like Twilight or even other vampire novels
    do. It shows vampires as how they should be! The romance in it is also very believable as well as off to the side. It isn't the main focus of the story, which is how
    most vampire novels are. I am impatiently awaiting the next novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Net Galley and Harlequin Teen for providing me w

    I want to thank Net Galley and Harlequin Teen for providing me with an ecopy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…
    Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.
    Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for…again.
    Enter Julie Kagawa's dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.




    I need to start off by saying that I never read the blurb or any reviews for this. So, going into it, I really had no idea what it was about! I had heard such great things about it, and I had read Julie's other series, The Iron Fey, so I figured I would just jump right in. And I'm so happy I did. I was totally engrossed with this story. I could not put it down (except I had to work and eat and sleep and take care of my family!). So it was a pleasure to read this for sure. And then as I read it and realized it was both paranormal and dystopian? What a great mix! I have only read one other book like this, Day Soldiers by Brandon Hale, which I LOVED. So this idea is still new and unique and totally captivating.




    Can we say cover love? I love this cover. I am a little surprised that the cover model is not Asian, tho, considering the main character is. But it does depict something very significant from within the story. So, after reading this book, I completely understood why this was chosen for the cover. I can honestly say that I am really unhappy with the change in the cover and will be purchasing the UK paperback of the second book so that my books will match (even tho one will be hard cover and the other will be paperback).




    The characters in this book were so well described and really great to watch grow. They are definitely characters who are easily relatable. I felt sympathy for them when necessary, and I was rooting for them when the time came. They had depth and nuance. It was great watching their personalities unfold and take shape.
    Allison is tough as nails. I totally love this about her. She's strong and strong willed for sure. She goes after what she wants. However, she is a bit selfish at times, and this does come back to bite her. But she absolutely learns from her mistakes and uses that knowledge to help others. It was great to watch Allie's struggle as she came to terms with being a vampire. And one of my most favorite things about Allie is that she is a vampire, that Kagawa chose to take her main character and turn her into a monster! Most YA paranormal books have the main character being human, or at least mostly human, and it was nice to see a story told from a different perspective.
    Zeke, well, I wasn't sure what to make of him at first. I knew he would turn out to be the love interest, but I just didn't see how it could possibly work. I mean, the idea of human and vampire has already been touched upon in the Twilight series, but this was so much more in depth. There were many more rules here, such as Allie not being able to be out and about during the day. I wasn't sure how Kagawa would over come this, but she came up with some great ideas to do it. And so, the relationship between Zeke and Allie became possible. And Zeke is very strong and strong willed. I definitely felt the clash between him and Allie and thought for sure that the two strong personalities would never work together. But they did. He's also loving and caring, and of course totally swoon worthy. And he comes with lots and lots of baggage, which Kagawa slowly reveals to help shape. He is sensitive and kind and never expects anything in return.
    Kanin, well, he is obviously Allie's father figure during this story. He's cryptic, but he reveals things as the time comes. And he teaches Allie what she needs to know to survive. She is connected to him in many ways, as is revealed throughout the story. 




    Kagawa's writing is so different in this book than in her Iron Fey series. Unlike others, I was not a huge fan of Iron Fey. It was nice enough, but I felt like the story lacked something. Well, Kagawa has certainly fine tuned her craft with this book. Her descriptions are spot on. I felt like I was right there with the characters during the action scenes: being chased, heart beating out of my chest. And I could clearly picture in my life what the towns and surrounding areas looked like. It was great watching the world unfold right before my eyes impossible not to feel as if I, too, were a character in this story, watching it unfold and develop. The setting was reminiscent of Oliver's Delirium, a walled city surrounded by unknown wilds.




    Kagawa has shaped a dark tale that will pull you in and completely absorb you. She has created a world where there is a little for everyone: the paranormal lovers and post-appocolypitic world lovers both! There is no doubt in my mind that the next installment of this series will do the same. She will have your heart racing, pulse throbbing and mind reeling with this story. If you are a lover of vampires, then pick this one up. If you love dystopian worlds, then this is the book for you! It's a refreshingly different story that has me chomping at the bit for more. Well done Ms. Kagawa!




    5/5 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read from February 25 to 26, 2013 BOOK SYNOPSIS To


    Read from February 25 to 26, 2013




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…




    Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.




    Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for…again.




    Enter Julie Kagawa's dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.




    My Thoughts








    What a choice to make, die for real or live as one of the undead who survive by drinking human blood! 




    When this series was first hyped I really fell in love with the concept of mixing young adult characters in a dystopian setting along with vampires being one of the many dangerous elements that inhabited the world the human population was trying to survive in.




    The author created a world that reminds me of others but at the same time has it's own unique atmosphere, has a fantastically grim landscape that is populated by diverse characters whom readers can truly &quot;see&quot; in their minds eye as the story unfolds. 




    This story is full of action, the hair raising exploits that Allie must undertake as a human and then as a vampire defy belief but at the same time feel very &quot;real&quot;, the romantic aspect that unfolds between she and Zeke is both sweet yet heartbreaking and when Allie finally ends up being exposed as a vampire the choices she makes are not only hard but totally in keeping with the character that the author has shown from the very beginning of the narrative.




    There is nothing quite like the journey you will take in this book being told in other vampire lore at the same time a lot of it will be familiar as it follows parameters used in this genre for many years. Julie Kagawa is an author whose work reaches into your heart and takes root, she is someone who can be read and enjoyed by all ages as the tales she tells have no limits to their audience.




    The Eternity Cure book 2 in the series was also available on Netgalley so am reading it closer to release date to see what challenges Allie manages to work through next.




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Allison Sekemoto is living in a world destroyed by the red lung

    Allison Sekemoto is living in a world destroyed by the red lung virus, which wiped out most of the human population and lead to the rise of the vampires as the ruling body of the world. Refusing to register as one a piece of property owned by vampires, Allison must live on the “fringes” as a human that scavengers for food and shelter. 

    The vampires are also affected by the red lung virus and it causes many vampires turned into a “rabid” beast attacking anything. Attempting to get find food, Allie leaves the protection of the city to grab a food stash she’s found. While beyond the city walls she is attacked by a pack of rabids. A vampire named Kanin finds Allie and offers her the choice of become what she hates most or die…she chooses becoming a vampire...but refuses to lose her humanity and fights her vampire nature.

    I’m not going any further into the story because I don’t want to give anything away but….FHEW, this story will knock your socks off. Julie Kagawa imagination and ability to wrap you up in the dark, dystopia world made this book incredible. I loved her twist on vampires. There was betrayal, romance, good vs. evil, evil vs. evil and the realization that there is a grey area in-between. OK, it did go a little slow when she hit the wilderness but I just didn't want to put it down. ANOTHER SERIES I MUST FOLLOW!!!

    An ARC copy of Immortal Rules was given to me by Harlequin Teen in exchange for an honest review. This book is set to publish March 26, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Awsome.

    Second book, The Eternity Cure not infintey cure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    Love triangles are okay but if you want to read about a young woman surviving a cruel world and being a total badass while still adding that touch of romance, this is it. I like that this is a girl that doesn't need to be "rescued" she is the hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Speechless

    It gave me goosebumps and a new lease on life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7