Customer Reviews for

The Importance of Being Seven (44 Scotland Street Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Just keeps getting better!

    Like all of Smith's books, this is a rest for the soul and a peaceful read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    I've read them all!

    If you've gotten this far in the 44 Scotland Street series then you already love these books and will read it no matter what. If this is the only series you've read then check out McCall Smith's other books--Ladies No.1 Detective Agency, Corduroy Mansions, Isabel Dalhousy, Sausage Dogs...
    these are what I read when I want to be engaged, amused, and feel like I'm visiting another country to live among the people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Alexander McCall Smith does it again!!!

    As always, another gentle, witty and insightful book. Bertie gets one of his wishes!!! A book by Alexander McCall Smith is a cause for celebration!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Love this series!

    Raise your hand if you think Bertie's mother, Irene is a dunce. Now raise your other hand if you think Ulysses is Bertie's half-brother. While your hands are up there, give the author a standing ovation.

    It's amazing how invested I am in the lives of these imaginary people - a testament to Mr. McCall-SMith and his skills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    You will love this one!

    Alexander McCall Smith knows how to please, bring pleasure, a smile even an outloud chuckle or laugh. He has such a sense of reality . The simple pleasures and quirks in life are probably the most fun, and funny. This author knows that and can describe them like no other author I have ever read.! He is wonderful and a certain pick-me-up!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There┬┐s fuel enough for several novels in this installment of



    There’s fuel enough for several novels in this installment of Alexander McCall Smith’s 44 Scotland Street series, with a young married couple seeking a larger home, an older unmarried couple seeking commitment, the joys of Italian art and countryside, and, of course, the little boy who isn’t yet seven but knows the world will change one day. The author weaves his stories together with swift scene and chapter changes, leaving one set characters hanging, or falling, while another takes the stage and runs with it. Through it all, an omniscient narrator invites the reader to experience the world through many different eyes—even those of a dog—and in doing so to notice what we ignore, remember what we forget to recognize, and just perhaps become a little kinder to each other.

    Good-humored, fun, filled with the real and the strange, The Importance of Being Seven brings Scotland’s houses, streets and countryside to life, offers insights into the schooling system over cups of tea and plates of biscuits, and even invites the frozen reader to enjoy the warmth of a glorious Italian sun. The narrator’s constantly pleasing voice holds disparate stories together, and a book that’s easy to pick up after putting down (because of its well-separated chapters) proves seriously hard to put down (because it’s just such a smooth, well-measured, good read). Enjoy.



    Disclosure: A friend loaned me the book, but I’m sure I’ll buy my own copy one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    Love the continuing adventures...

    The more of Alexander McCall Smith that I read, the more convinced I am that he is a genius at obsservation of the human condition. Poor Bertie, who is looking forward to being seven. (And more importantly, to being 18 and fleeing his mother, on that very day) And all of the other characters, who individually and as members of the neighborhood, make their way through Life, with all its joys, surprises, and mortifications. These books are just tiny marvels of truthful observation, often hilarious, and yet very moving. Satisfying for a late night or early morning break. I heartily recommend this latest installment, as I do all of the 44 Scotland Street books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Alexander McCall

    Another great book from Alexander McCall.
    Light easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Review not possible :(

    Haven't received this title yet. I think that the shipment of this book is waiting for the release of the simultaneously-ordered Sue Grafton book, so all can be shipped together. However, based on the fact that I love all the Alexander McCall Smith 44 Scotland St. series, I doubt this will be an exception. Therese Steinlauf

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1