Customer Reviews for

The Importance of Being Wicked

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    OK

    A little women's lib, a little male chavanism, a lot of family interference, a little romance (finally!) and a couple of ghosts thrown in for good measure. Slow and draggy at times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    A great read

    Another great one. I love the strength of the heroine Miranda. Winfield as hero is delicious. Of course the banter makes these characters come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly renommended

    It was funny.I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    The Importance of Being Wicked  The Importance of Being Wicked

    The Importance of Being Wicked 

    The Importance of Being Wicked is an entertaining historical romance, with a cheeky heroine who keeps her charming hero on his toes, amusing flirtations, a little heat, and quite a bit of heart. - Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Hahaha!

    Still laughing in Chapter 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING WICKED by Victoria Alexander is an inter

    THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING WICKED by Victoria Alexander is an interesting Regency Historical Romance,which is a crossover with the "Millworth Manor" series. Winfield Elliott, Viscount Stillwell has had three failed engagements. Lady Miranda Garret has a guarded secret. A wickedly wonderful story of secrets,trust,misunderstandings,and true love. Witty banter brings these two characters to life,as they jump off the pages. Can Win finally complete an engagement? You will need to read "The Importance of Being Wicked" to find out. Another wonderfully written,laughter filled historical romance by this author. Romance and nothing but lost romance. A great read! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Sorry, not one of VA best. I couldn't get passed the first few c

    Sorry, not one of VA best. I couldn't get passed the first few chapters. The heroine is too brass and bossy I couldn't get passed it.
    Some ppl may say she is a strong female but that is not how I took her. I may try and pick it up again but my TBR pile is way too big right now. However, I liked the hero and found him fatehr charming and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Sad and sick take on humanity

    Nothing redeeming about this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Amusing

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ...it doesn’t all have to be doom and gloom for you to have a book containing a well drawn hero and heroine” ~ Under the Covers

    Winfield Elliott, Viscount Stillwell has had three fiancees but has yet to see the altar and has no current desire to look for his fourth, especially now that his family’s home has burned down. So the last thing he expects when he hires an architect firm to rebuild his country home was the widowed Lady Miranda Garrett to step out of her carriage, in her ugly shoes, and start to take charge of not just the rebuilding of his home, but his heart as well. Miranda has always secretly wanted a wicked man, and Winfield Elliott does have a certain reputation but instead of finding him charming and flirtatious he was rather…annoying and stodgy, why hasn’t he kissed her yet?

    I am newly converted to Victoria Alexander, I love her brand of light hearted and funny historical romance. Although I have only read a few of Ms Alexander’s books with each one she has created likable and dimensional characters, which just proves it doesn’t all have to be doom and gloom for you to have a book containing a well drawn hero and heroine. What she also excels at is dialogue, the banter was witty and funny, even when the couple argued (which happened a lot) making a perma-smile appear on my face whilst I was reading The Importance of Being Wicked.

    However, if you are looking for a truly wicked hero then you have come to the wrong book, although Winfield was charming and a flirt he didn’t strike me as at all wicked. When it came down to it he was just a very nice man who has previously had very bad taste in fiancees, luckily I have a soft spot for charming yet nice men. Of both of them, it was Miranda who was the most shocking (for her time) being a woman of business. Miranda also went through an ugly duckingesque transformation as she gains more confidence and I liked seeing her stand up for herself; my favourite parts of the book are seeing her tell various people off, including Win.

    The only part of the book I didn’t like was towards the end where all sorts of misunderstanding happen that seemed to pop out the blue and didn’t serve any kind of purpose and to me read a lot like page filler. Luckily by then I already liked the book and the people in it so it baffled me that this was put in.

    A great read, I am definitely going to continue exploring more of Victoria Alexander’s books and look forward to the next book in this series.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    When Millworth Manor, ancestral home of the Stillwell family, is

    When Millworth Manor, ancestral home of the Stillwell family, is severely damaged in a fire scion Winfield hires  a small but respected architectural firm to handle the rebuilding. Unbeknownst to him, or indeed any of her family, Lady Miranda Garrett has been running the firm and acting as its head architect. Of course she's heard of the notorious Viscount Stillwell's reputation and three broken engagements, as indeed who hasn't? The highlight of this story is the witty dialogue as Miranda fights to keep the upper hand over a somewhat befuddled Winfield who is determined to find out her secrets. The likely of an untrained female managing to successfully work as an architect is a bit more to swallow than most romances demand and as other reviews have noted there is not much happening in the plot to really develop the romance. However if you enjoy reading clever dialogue and a cast of enjoyable characters this is the story for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Miranda Garrett has been the secret behind her husband¿s, J

    Lady Miranda Garrett has been the secret behind her husband’s, John, successful architectural firm until the day he was accidentally killed on a work site. Then she had to come up with a way to continue supporting his employees, keep up business as usual, without her husband to take the credit for her work. You see, London would never accept a lady architect and although she has been the designer for years to keep the business profitable she must maintain her secret. She now has the opportunity to work on a large job for Viscount Winfield Elliot. He is known to be wicked, engaged 3 times and somewhat of a lady’s man. Miranda must maintain her secret while keeping Winfield Elliot in the dark or all will be ruined.

    Viscount Winfield Elliot’s family home has been ravaged by fire and only the firm owned by Tempest and Garret can handle the rebuild in a timely matter. But all isn’t what it seems about the mysterious Lady Garrett. Not wanting to trust her firm to the rebuild, Win hires an investigator to find out all he can about Garrett and Tempest. Although there is mistrust and secrets both are inexplicitly drawn toward each other. What begins as a combative relationship soon becomes so much more. The question , can their secrets destroy it all?

    This was a sweet and enjoyable story filled with witty banter and lots of verbal feuding. I found the story interesting but felt the narrative between characters was quite extensive and the relationship was an extremely slow build. I also had trouble feeling the “wickedness” but found Win, our hero, charming and often reasonably befuddled. The Importance of Being Wicked was a charming, slow building historical romance. 3 stars.

    This ARC copy of The Importance of Being Wicked was given to me by Netgalley and Kensington Publishing Corp. - Zebra in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date January 29, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2