Customer Reviews for

The In-Between: Embracing the Tension Between Now and the Next Big Thing

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Jeff Goins has written another amazing book. He tells stories fr

    Jeff Goins has written another amazing book. He tells stories from his life that draws you in. His book teaches you, without being dry or boring, to embrace those moments in between the great things you do in life. It left me thinking of where I am right now and how I need to cherish these moments with my family. I highly recommend The In-Between to anyone that has ever had to wait on anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    How we spend our days, according to Annie Dillard, is how we spe

    How we spend our days, according to Annie Dillard, is how we spend our lives."

    This is how the book begins. Jeff Goins sets the stage for where he will take us in his second book. The In-Between is a memoir full of stories that speak to deep truths and challenge us to see our own moments as opportunities for growth. It is divided into three parts.

    Part One: Slow Down
    Part Two: Worth the Wait
    Part Three: When the Waiting Ends

    I love the format and felt the progression as I read. Goins builds on each chapter, in a way, and I was torn with quickly getting to the end and savoring every page. There is much to absorb and I will return to this book many times. It is a beautiful reminder to embrace those moments in life where we wait, to see the journey is about who we are becoming, and to not miss out on what is already in front of us. Joy is abundant if we will see it. Take time to read The In-Between and prepare your heart to embrace the journey you are on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Waiting. We have all hated it, enduring it with white knuckles a

    Waiting. We have all hated it, enduring it with white knuckles as we tapped our feet. Now we don't have to.
    We can reframe how we look at our waiting times. Dare I say, we can even look forward to them.
    Why? Because according to Jeff Goins, those In-Between times are essential. There are God moments waiting to happen
    if we'll just let them. Goins knows about waiting and decided to share what he's learned with us. Honestly, this is the best book
    I've read in a long time. One I'll read again and again. It's honest, to the point. He tucks in humor, and his style is easy to follow.
    But even more, you won't leave the book empty-handed. He will give you something you can apply. Something you can take with you
    for now. For later. For always. If you have no trouble waiting, pass on this book. But, if you're like most of us. You gotta read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    We all have an In-between . . . Jeff has a way of gently remindi

    We all have an In-between . . . Jeff has a way of gently reminding me that my now is more important than where 
    I am going or where I have been.

    A great author gives us pause to evaluate for ourselves.  Jeff does this beautifully.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    This is the book you are looking for. *Said with rotational palm

    This is the book you are looking for. *Said with rotational palm wave*

    Jeff has pulled back the veil from life's seemingly mundane moments and has revealed the awesome wonder that is encapsulated in every human experience. Life is about these moments. Life is about The Now.

    Jeff not only bears a striking resemblance to Luke Skywalker, but the Force is strong with him as well. When Chuck Norris was a young man he was lost and without direction. Jeff Goins gave him the round-house kick. Before The Most Interesting Man in the World was interesting...he was just "That Guy with the Beard." Jeff Goins gave him Dos Equis.

    Now is the time to purchase The In-Between. Your life will be forever changed.

    This is the book you are looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I don't know exactly when I first discovered Jeff Goins's writin

    I don't know exactly when I first discovered Jeff Goins's writing, but since that day I've thoroughly enjoyed everything that I've read.

    Writing with both conviction and familiarity, reading Goins is like having a conversation with an old high school buddy. You instantly know that he cares not only about what he's writing, but that he also cares about you too, the reader. You find yourself nodding in agreement and smiling because you feel like you've known him for a long time, even though you've never met.

    That's why I was thrilled when I got my hands on an advance copy of his latest book, The In-Between, which is set to release on August 1. Published by Moody Publishers, The In-Between takes you through the seemingly most mundane and typical seasons of the author's life, with a twist. He chronicles studying abroad, a train ride home, courtship, his wife's pregnancy and a ton more by seeing the day-by-day as the true engine of growth.

    By the middle of the book, let alone the end, The In-Between had me wanting to slow down and take in all the sights and smells that I've been too busy to notice before. It made me want to linger, to cherish.

    Perfectly subtitled, "Embracing the tension between now and the next big thing", Goins's latest work spins his tales with the art of a Twain and philosophizes with the pointedness of a CS Lewis. He wins by making you want to slow down and live. To treasure the moment and memorialize it in your mind instead of capturing it with your iPhone.

    He makes you think by writing, "God is less concerned with exactly what I'm doing and more concerned with who I'm becoming."

    He echoes the biblical truth that it's better to give than to receive by reminding us, "...when we pour out our gifts and talents, we receive abundantly more than we ever provide."

    But for me, the quintessential Goins-ism was this one:

    "Our journey is full of rest stops - park benches and airport terminals - that signal the arrival of things we anticipate. Sometimes they're worth the wait; other times, the glory doesn't shine quite like we'd hoped. Regardless, we need to learn to live in this tension, to appreciate what we have and still hope for. This process isn't easy; we all know that. But it's part of being human and it's what connects us to each other."

    If it were a hard copy that I read, I'd tell you that I couldn't put the book down, but since I had the Kindle version, it's more like, I couldn't turn it off.

    My only complaint? I would have preferred a little more "how" and "why" in exchange for a little less "what". I'm not fussing, but I could've had a few more classic lines like this one: "In the waiting, we become."

    And, just a little bit less narration.

    So, if you're the kind of person that's moving from one thing to the next with neck breaking speed...if you are that guy who can't relax on vacation because of the strict time schedule that you've imposed upon your entirely family...if you're at all like me and what I'm trying hard not to be, then walk, don't run to the book store on August 1st or 2nd or 3rd and pick up a copy of The In-Between.

    Take your time, but do it. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    This book is a must read for any personality type. For hyper ov

    This book is a must read for any personality type. For hyper over-achievers like me...it was God sent. Jeff weaved beautiful stories and wisdom in a way that will be with me forever. This is a book that I will read every year. Laura Harris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    ¿A life filled with movement, with constant movement and no rest

    “A life filled with movement, with constant movement and no rest stops, isn’t a life at all. It’s tourism.”  

    Jeff Goins expands on his personal revelation, inviting the reader along on the experiences that taught him the importance of enjoying life’s ordinary moments. Whether traveling through Europe or sitting through a red light, Jeff shows us the magic that can be found in those moments. 

    “The irony is that when we think we are standing still, we are actually growing the most.”

    Jeff’s conversational writing style draws the reader into his experiences. He doesn’t write as a guide who’s blazed a new trail, but as a wanderer who’s learned to find joy with each step. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Jeff has done it again - written a book that will open your eyes

    Jeff has done it again - written a book that will open your eyes and your heart to a new way of living. Beautifully written. Goins shares his heart and experiences with a world full of busyiness and a lack of understanding when it comes to waiting. (Myself included).

    May you walk away from this book with wisdom, patience, and a longing to absorb the in-between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    In his book, The In-Between, Jeff Goins takes us through a serie

    In his book, The In-Between, Jeff Goins takes us through a series of personal stories where he transparently shares his struggle with the in-between and offers a new perspective to benefit anyone who struggles with the process on the way to the destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    In his book, Jeff inspires us all to see our personal waiting pe

    In his book, Jeff inspires us all to see our personal waiting periods in a new light. No matter your age or season of life, there are things
    you have to wait for. The In-Between takes us on a journey through various seasons of Jeff's life, including his mission travels,
    meeting his wife, and becoming a father. So much wisdom packed in such a young man.  Through his own life lessons, Jeff
    encourages us to slow down, let go, and be grateful.

    This is a short, easy-to-read, yet very thought-provoking book. I would highly recommend it to anyone, of any age.  "A life filled with
    constant motion and no rest stops, is not a life at all. It's tourism." Jeff's book has challenged me to stop and reflect on my own
    waiting times. For the first time, I'm encouraged to see the lessons God has been, and still is, trying to teach me through those
    times. I'm now excited to be an active participant in what I sometimes see as `mundane" in my daily life.

    It's no surprise Jeff has quickly become a leader we all look to for writing, as well as life, advice. The only thing I disliked about 
    Jeff's book is that it ended so soon, and now I have to wait for his next one. But now, thanks to Jeff, I will find joy in my 
    inconvenience of the in-between. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Jeff has a way of creating ah-ha moments out of things that seem

    Jeff has a way of creating ah-ha moments out of things that seem to be obvious. We all know we wait, but Jeff's book brings a realization: There’s always something to learn in the in-between.

    Here’s the lesson. I hate waiting. I want to be in the “better” phase—the accomplished phase—now. But I’m not ready for that. I’m still growing. And even when I reach the next level, I’ll go right back into the world of waiting…and that’s ok. That’s where I spend time becoming my best. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    The In-Between is a timely book which spoke a multitude to me. W

    The In-Between is a timely book which spoke a multitude to me. When I began reading it, I couldn't put it down.

    I have read everything Jeff Goins has written. For me, his writing is like eating my favorite ice cream. It's delicious.

    The In-Between are stories taken from Jeff Goins life as he shares the reasons why we should embrace the now and cherish waiting; the in-between moments in our lives.
    Sometimes we focus on the next big thing in our lives that we often miss the best moments which are right in front of us.
    I know I am guilty of this, which is why this book deeply resonates with me. I definitely wrestle with the in-between moments in my life.

    Jeff Goins is an amazing writer who is full of wisdom. I always get so much out of reading his books and blog.

    His book, Wrecked is one of my favorites, but now I believe, The In-Between is my new favorite.

    I highly recommend this amazing book to everyone. It is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1