Customer Reviews for

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 1: The Mysterious Howling

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Delightful!

    I think I said this a while ago, but I'll repeat: one of my favorite MG-subgenres is historical. There's nothing better than wacky characters in a lush historical setting! It reminds me that while a lot of things have changed (society, technology, etc.) the big things like childhood, human nature, and everything else has not.

    The cover looked cute, the story sounded great, my Nook Color was sitting on my shelf, empty of a fresh new story, and I just had to download it. And I'm so glad that I did!

    THE MYSTERIOUS HOWLING starts off with Miss Penelope Lumley, our lovely protagonist that we must first get acquainted with as Miss Penelope Lumley and then later simply Penelope, trekking her way through the European countryside. You see, Penelope Lumley-I mean, Miss Penelope Lumley, as you are not yet acquainted with her-has just graduated the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females and is now in search of a possible job. What job? Well, what else might a Poor Bright Female be than a governess to three wolf children?

    When Miss Penelope Lumley arrives to Ashton Place, she is shocked to see that three children she is to take care of aren't even human children. Or maybe they are. Or maybe they aren't. All she knows is, they have a ferocious growl and the gait of an ill-groomed dog.

    I seriously ADORE this book! Usually when I love a middle grade so much I call it "cute," but that word doesn't fit. The words "lovely" and "lavish" and "fun" fit. The moments when Miss Lumley Penelope is attempting to train the children, and there are many (oh yes, they so need all the training they can get), were my favorite. Their interactions are laugh-out-loud funny.

    Here's my inner-publishing intern coming out: The protagonist of THE MYSTERIOUS HOWLING is 15-years-old, yet this book is nowhere near a YA. It never reads as anything but MG, and I'm in awe of Maryrose Wood's talent for keeping the MG voice with YA-aged characters. In the slushpile, I see a lot of these situations that just don't work (the protagonist has a YA voice when the story is supposed to be MG, and vice versa). This is a perfect example of how to master the middle grade voice with hard-to-tackle characters.

    Really, just go out and get your hands on this book! Maryrose Wood is a marvelous story-teller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    The incorgible children of ashton place

    This is a fabulous book! I cant wait until the fourth one comes out! Maryrose Wood is a great author. I recommend this book for kids ages ten to twelve. Very well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    The Mysterious Howling

    This story has a different style of writing but i really like it. the overall plot is good and it's an enjoyable read. i couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Oh my god

    Oh my god i am toatlly in love with the book plan to buy them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Loved it

    I loved this book! I got it from my school library and wanted to read instead of learn... but i still listened! It was amazing! I need to get all of the books from barns and noble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I enjoyed reading it as much as my children enjoyed listening.  

    I enjoyed reading it as much as my children enjoyed listening.  The characters are endearing and quirky, we cannot wait to read book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    GiddyYap Rainbow

    Amazing book. I love Penelope and Cassiopeia and Alexander

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A very strange & charming book for all ages

    Not the type of book I usually read but it was cute and kept me involved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A clever book even us seniors can enjoy!

    Miss Penelope Lumley has just graduated from Academy, and at age 15 is hired as governess for three children at Ashton Place, a lavish estate in Victorian England. The fact that they are three howling wildlings apparently raised by wolves, dressed in rags and held in the barn, does not deter her from improving their lot and educating them. She sets up a nursery for Alexander, about 10, Beowulf, perhaps 7, and Cassiopeia, about 4 (names selected by the Lord of the manor, who called them the "Incorrigibles" perhaps tongue-in-cheek)and makes amazing progress in their education. Until Lady Constance plans a Christmas dinner party, where Murphy's Law prevails. Who plotted all this mayhem? A mystery is discovered. In fact several mysteries beg to be solved. Who is trying to harm the children? But...... we must read the next book to find out what happens! A fun little read that youngsters will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I

    It seem to be a great book i reeccomemd it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Soooo good!

    This book is awesome i didnt want to read it but i had to for my BOB(battle of the books) team and it is so good! Slow start but it is totally worth it! Definitley reccomended! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Most amazing book i have ever read!

    It was worth EVERY penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Amazing book

    It was written amazinngly one of the best book I've ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book is very funny, and will keep you wondering what happens next. I love the humor of children school aged learning simple things like the abcs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Anonymous on January 10,2013

    I absoulutely loooooooove this book!!!!!!It ends with a cliffhanger so I need the 2nd book but anyway its a great book!Get the book(book-haters too!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Originally posted at Nose in a Book This is the story of Penelo

    Originally posted at Nose in a Book

    This is the story of Penelope Lumley, a fifteen year old recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. Penelope is invited to Ashton Place to help the Incorrigibles. Alexander, Cassiopeia, and Beowulf, or the Incorrigibles, were found running wild in the forest of Ashton Place. This fact however does not deter Penelope, she embraces it. She wants to dive right in and teach them how to speak Latin and use a globe; however, the first thing she must teach them to do is to overcome their canine tendencies.

    This of course is easier said than done after years of the children living in the woods by themselves, but Penelope doesn't mind. She truly is up to the challenge. Things that would faze other nannies, the way they drink, the way they bark is just another bump in the road for her. She takes her time with them and they appreciate it because they slowly become `normal' in the sense that they are proper and can be seen in public by their adoptive parents when they host their upcoming ball.

    The Incorrigibles take to Penelope, and she takes to them. They are quickly their own little family. This comes in handy when the mystery of the novel takes place. What is also important is many of the mysteries that take place in this novel don't actually get answered in this novel, which makes me glad that this is a series.

    Also, I am a big believer and fan of audio books. There are two reasons I hit my goodreads goal this year. One: middle grade books and two: audio books. That being said, The Mysterious Howling is a book that needs to be read, not listened to. The illustrations and drawings of this book are almost as important to the book as the story is. Plus, they are adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    OMG

    I loved this book it was ome of the very best books i have ever read. I think you should read this book . This book left me wanting more so as soon as i finished this book i read the second and am now on the third. The children seem adorable yet distructive. I would recomend this book to everyone who likes mystery books. I love that the athor decided to add in pictures so you know what the characters are supposed to look like. Oh and i want to compliment the athir for her very creative books:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it when I was about 8 and l

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it when I was about 8 and loved, read it now four years later and I still love it! It's fun and the kids are funny and adorable. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. The ending is a bit of a cliffhanger, it leaves you wanting more. But it is not a terrible cliffhanger, it satisfied me enough but as soon as I put it down I came here and ordered the next two books and pre-ordered the 4th. READ IT IT'S AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    It was amazing

    I loved how the kids would say their names and there manners were adorable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Miss Lumley is eager to teach the young children of Ashton Place

    Miss Lumley is eager to teach the young children of Ashton Place, her soon to be home. When she arrives she finds that the children howl and woof. Lord Fredrick decides they should have names and names them Alexander, Beowulf, adn Cassiopea. for their last name he cooses Incorrigible. Miss Lumley is astounded by the names but passes by it and starts with lessons. She teaches them poetry and reads to them while preparing for Lady Constance’s ball. I would recommend this book for those who wish for a good book. It will keep you laughing cover to cover. This book pulls you into its grasp with the adventures of Miss Lumley, the Incorrigibles, and crazy Lady Constance. You’ll enjoy this book, I guarantee it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3