BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

India Fan

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

There are few books as satisfying as a novel by Victoria Holt or

There are few books as satisfying as a novel by Victoria Holt or Jean Plaidy. The India Fan is one of those epic stories that you can completely immerse yourself in and it will stay in your memory for years. Victoria Holt definitely knows how to pen a fascinating yarn, ...
There are few books as satisfying as a novel by Victoria Holt or Jean Plaidy. The India Fan is one of those epic stories that you can completely immerse yourself in and it will stay in your memory for years. Victoria Holt definitely knows how to pen a fascinating yarn, and The India Fan proves it.
The main character, Drusilla Delany, is a pastor’s daughter. She possesses a great deal of common sense and pragmatism. The wealthy Framling family lives on a nearby estate. Drusilla becomes playmate to the Framling children, Fabian and Lavinia. An old aunt lives a secluded life in an upper bedroom in the stately manor. During child’s play, Drusilla finds herself with a beautiful, peacock-feathered India fan that belongs to the aunt. It is then that she learns of the fan’s deadly curse. 
As the years go by, Drusilla finds herself drawn deeply into the lives of the Framling siblings, especially Lavinia who is self-serving, self-indulgent, with a tendance to seek pleasure from her wealth and beauty. Lavinia’s actions and choices strongly affect the ever-sensible Drusilla, drawing her nearer to Fabian, both as friend and nemesis. The storyline twists and turns into several different subplots.  




Victoria Holt writes with such vivid detail and clarity, that the book plays more like a movie than the written word. Her elegant prose evokes emotion with every turn of the page. The storyline is incredibly full and touches on themes such as social class, love, forgiveness, duty, poverty, and loss as it sweeps the reader from the elegance of England into the exotic wilds of India. If you’ve never read a Victoria Holt novel before, then you must start with this one. It’s unputdownable. 

posted by Mirella on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Feminists beware!

I love romance novels and I read a lot of them, and this is an okay romance novel. However, if you're a thinking person, don't read it. It smacks of eurocentrism and sexism (not to mention slut shaming).

Yes, the book discusses colonial India, but the author doesn't...
I love romance novels and I read a lot of them, and this is an okay romance novel. However, if you're a thinking person, don't read it. It smacks of eurocentrism and sexism (not to mention slut shaming).

Yes, the book discusses colonial India, but the author doesn't approach the subject of rebellion and colonization in a respectful way. Most people won't care or notice, but, if you're sensitive to race issues and/or a feminist, don't waste your money. Otherwise, you won't care.

posted by 8312591 on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Feminists beware!

    I love romance novels and I read a lot of them, and this is an okay romance novel. However, if you're a thinking person, don't read it. It smacks of eurocentrism and sexism (not to mention slut shaming).

    Yes, the book discusses colonial India, but the author doesn't approach the subject of rebellion and colonization in a respectful way. Most people won't care or notice, but, if you're sensitive to race issues and/or a feminist, don't waste your money. Otherwise, you won't care.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are few books as satisfying as a novel by Victoria Holt or

    There are few books as satisfying as a novel by Victoria Holt or Jean Plaidy. The India Fan is one of those epic stories that you can completely immerse yourself in and it will stay in your memory for years. Victoria Holt definitely knows how to pen a fascinating yarn, and The India Fan proves it.
    The main character, Drusilla Delany, is a pastor’s daughter. She possesses a great deal of common sense and pragmatism. The wealthy Framling family lives on a nearby estate. Drusilla becomes playmate to the Framling children, Fabian and Lavinia. An old aunt lives a secluded life in an upper bedroom in the stately manor. During child’s play, Drusilla finds herself with a beautiful, peacock-feathered India fan that belongs to the aunt. It is then that she learns of the fan’s deadly curse. 
    As the years go by, Drusilla finds herself drawn deeply into the lives of the Framling siblings, especially Lavinia who is self-serving, self-indulgent, with a tendance to seek pleasure from her wealth and beauty. Lavinia’s actions and choices strongly affect the ever-sensible Drusilla, drawing her nearer to Fabian, both as friend and nemesis. The storyline twists and turns into several different subplots.  




    Victoria Holt writes with such vivid detail and clarity, that the book plays more like a movie than the written word. Her elegant prose evokes emotion with every turn of the page. The storyline is incredibly full and touches on themes such as social class, love, forgiveness, duty, poverty, and loss as it sweeps the reader from the elegance of England into the exotic wilds of India. If you’ve never read a Victoria Holt novel before, then you must start with this one. It’s unputdownable. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    An unexpected ride

    I have started reading several Victoria Holt novels recently. I love them all. Some may find them dull because, yes, they do all involve similar circumstances. But for me, I know that every time I read a new one, I am going to love it. As for this book, it was very wonderful. It also had some very unexpected scenes in it. Normally Ms. Holt's novels are quite tame (they're no Harlquin novel!) And while this one is far from racy, it definitely moved up a notch- to the benefit of the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    A fan of Victoria writes :

    I was young when I first read the India fan and was absolutely facinated by it, now I am older and have read it a couple of times more and it´s still my favorite Victoria Holt novel. People who dismiss Victoria Holt right away are not smart because she simply is the best novelist (in her own field ofcourse) that I have come across. This book is wonderful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE INDIA FAN by Victoria Holt is an interesting historical fict

    THE INDIA FAN by Victoria Holt is an interesting historical fiction set in set against a backdrop of England and France. What is the real meaning of the peacock feathers fan,could it really be cursed, Drusilla Delany will soon find out. For hidden deep within the Framling Mansion is a dark secret. Then you have the dominating,brooding Fabian Framling who is either friend or foe. "The India fan" is an epic Gothic romance filled with danger,sensual tension,betrayal,secrets,a curse or two, deception,blackmail and of course romance. Ms Holt is an excellent storytelling who draws the reader into the story. With her compelling,intriguing plot and her engaging,challenging characters you can't go wrong in reading one of her stories. What a read! If you enjoy romance, curses,dark secrets,and a Gothic tale of epic proportions than I would recommend "The India Fan". Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Of all the Victoria Holt books, I have read the following four m

    Of all the Victoria Holt books, I have read the following four many times since I read them with my mom and four sisters as a teen:  Pride of the Peacock, Shivering Sands, Mistress of Mellyn, and The India Fan.  Her earliest books were her best.  Later, I loved The India Fan.  However I found the last of her books to be too morose.  you will love these books!       r bo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Victoria Holt did it again - another winner!

    I have been a long time fan of Victoria Holt's work. I was so happy to be able to read this selection. She held my attention so much that I read it it two sittings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Very good.

    Much better than I thought it would be. Learned something about India by reading this. I was sad to finish it as I enjoyed it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Ybyy .yhyi yi ihft .tu ti

    Htutubyu yrytyi uby. Yba .juy uhywuyruhbyyyyuyu b b yi riy y .u uuytuutoy u u .uiytyyvmun

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Jessica

    It means i am undefiled by intercourse. I havent had s.e.x

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    &crown

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1