Customer Reviews for

The Indigo Spell (Richelle Mead's Bloodlines Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

"Bloodlines" as a series is filled with characters tha

"Bloodlines" as a series is filled with characters that are the casualties of Rose and Lissa's happily ever after. Jill is in hiding and cannot have a normal Moroi life, because Lissa became queen. Adrian is left heartbroken and in a dark place, because Dimitr...
"Bloodlines" as a series is filled with characters that are the casualties of Rose and Lissa's happily ever after. Jill is in hiding and cannot have a normal Moroi life, because Lissa became queen. Adrian is left heartbroken and in a dark place, because Dimitri got the girl. Sydney is surrounded by the very creatures she was taught to hate as a sort of penance to the Alchemists, because she helped Rose. What I love about this story is that they began as casualties and they are quickly becoming the heroes of their own life. I don't just mean technically, because they are the stars of their own series, but also thematically. These characters have evolved. They are not victims, but warriors. A different type of warrior from Rose, but they are warriors all the same.

Sydney has been taught intolerance her entire life. She has been trained to follow leader and programed to believe that vampires are bad. After the events of "The Golden Lily," Sydney is a new person. She is now questioning her world. She has become close to vampires, has discovered magic and just following orders is no longer enough for her. Sydney has decided to make up her own mind and stop the alchemists from making it up for her. This leads to a dangerous, action packed and life changing adventure.

My favorite thing about "The Indigo Spell" is Adrian. Before you collectively roll your eyes and shout `of course,' I should be clear. I did not like Adrian in "Vampire Academy." I thought he was annoying, a party boy and I always felt that he pressured Rose into a relationship that she was not ready for. Most importantly he was not Dimitri. In Bloodlines, I am glad that he is not Dimitri. Sydney is so serious, someone like Dimitri would make these books unbearable. Adrian has the right combination of chill, loyalty and bravery to make his scenes with Sydney jump off the page. Most importantly we have seen a real change in Adrian. Richelle Mead has done a beautiful job in transforming him into the kind of man we can trust. The amount of bravery, chivalry and loyalty that Adrian exhibits in this book is astounding. I barely recognize him as the same guy who pursued Rose.

"The Indigo Spell" is my favorite book in the series so far. Why? For one thing, it is filled with action. There are break ins, fist fights, intrigue and many other thrills that could only really be found in the climax of previous books. The other great thing about this installment is that Sydney has stopped straddling the line and finally walks in a direction. She finally decides where her true loyalty lies and immediately jumps into action. Some of her actions are misguided and others had me cheering, still Richelle Mead has done a wonderful job of setting up "The Fiery Heart."

This book will not only have you at the edge of your seat because of the dangers, but you will be waiting with bated breath for every mention of the name "Adrian." What I love about the characters in this series is that they are not your typical YA heroes. Adrian will never be Jace Wayland, or Dimitri. I love that Sydney is not a powerful warrior or some kind prophesied witch. They are just Sydney and Adrian, nothing special and yet absolutely amazing.

This book is an absolute must read for every fan of the series and if you are a VA fan resistant to picking up the series it is really time that you did! Great things lie ahead.

posted by BookGeekConfesses on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Good book , not a total waist of time. Still do prefer Fallen An

Good book , not a total waist of time. Still do prefer Fallen Angel though have to agree with that

posted by BettyWalker11 on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Bloodlines series amazing

    So excited pre-ordered the new installment The Ruby Circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    I loved it!

    This is an absolutely fantastic series! So much so that I had to give it a review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    another great book from Richelle Mead

    Richelle Mead is a fantastic author. I've read all of the Vampire Academy books and now transitioned into the Bloodlines series, they are remarkable. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love, love, love Richelle Mead¿s Bloodlines series. Seriously,

    I love, love, love Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines series. Seriously, I was addicted to VA for such a long time and got so sad when the series came to an end, but Bloodlines has gotten pretty freaking amazing. Getting to see a new part of the VA universe, the world of the Alchemists, has been nothing short of awesome. Since I finished The Golden Lily I have been dying to get started on The Indigo Spell and by the time I finished it I was screaming. Seriously, somebody has to give me The Fiery Heart right now.

    After having Adrian admit his feeling to her only for her to turn him down, things have been awkward between Sydney, Jill and Adrian. While it has been putting a strain on her relationship with the vampire princess, Sydney has more on her plate than usual. Dealing with her secret meetings with her teacher as she begins to master magic; discovering that there’s a new witch in town, Veronica, who plans on sucking the youth and magic out of young girls; finding the elusive and mysterious Marcus Finch, the only person known to have left the Alchemists and give Sydney the answers she seeks; and dealing with her relationship with Adrian.

    Soon Sydney finds herself hunting down both Marcus and Veronica. Both pull her closer than she would like toward Adrian as she tries to fight the undeniable attraction between herself and Adrian (who has vowed that even if Sydney won’t reciprocate his feelings, he’ll just love her from afar). Sydney begins to question everything that she knows about the Alchemists, her mission and herself.

    I loved everything about The Indigo Spell. It was just perfect, which it seems everything that Richelle Mead writes is. P-e-r-f-e-c-t. The amount of romance in the story, the amount of action and magic and detailing it all just clicked together in the right way. Readers who have read The Golden Lily but haven’t had the time to get to The Indigo Spell need to get reading right away. This is, in my opinion, the best novel I’ve read out of the three Bloodlines novels. Kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end.

    As always, Mead’s writing brings the characters to life and makes the setting and story all the more real. Throughout reading The Indigo Spell I could easily see the characters and the plot happening in my head like a movie. Scene for scene. It was awesome. With the way tthat Mead writes there are lots of times where I would go through a hundred pages of the story without noticing and find myself unable to put the book down because a) I was addicted and b) I’m falling for Adrian the way I fell for Dmitri in VA.

    There’s lots of Adrian being his sexy self in The Indigo Spell guys. Apart from him being a drop-dead attractive goofball we also get to see a lot of his vulernable, emotional side that cares a lot about Sydney. He does so much in The Indigo Spell to woo her and win her over so that she will finally be his and over and over again I would yell at Sydney for always making up excuses to push him away. Just accept that he’s in love with you and that you guys will be perfect together. So what if he’s a vampire?

    This ending will leave you emotionally compromised (and I mean that in a good way). That cliff hanger? And what occurs between certain characters that had me screaming? Amazing. As I said before, I’m literally dying to read The Fiery Heart and I need is ASAP.

    I would recommend the Vampire Academy series and the Bloodlines  companion series to readers that are big fans of the YA vampire scene, readers who want some breathtaking romance and to anybody who just wants a really good, brilliantly-crafted, story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Miriam

    No stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Love love love

    The whole series is amazing from top to bottom, can't wait for November when the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    love this series

    daughter and I both felt this was a great series! enjoyed reading and had to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Very well written

    Very suspenseful. I love Richelle Meads writing style can't wait for the fiery heart :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I love this series.

    What a great series. How will she get herself out of this mess now that her sister has shown up? She finally admits she has feeling for Adrien (yum!) only for her sister to show up and ruin everything. Can't wait for the next book. I also loved the VA series. For those of you who don't know the bloodlines series is a spinoff from the Vampire Academy series. Really Great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    TO ALL WARRIORS FANS

    Glasscl at glass crystal needs you please be active please join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Such a great story!

    The story keeps getting better and better. Sidney and Adrian together crack me up. The author really shows the chemistry between the two very well. Can't wait for the next book to here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Great book and great series can't wait for the next one!!!

    Great book and great series can't wait for the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Must read

    Richelle is a fantastic writer this series is great can't wait for next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Can't wait for the fiery heart!!!

    I was a little unsure if bloodlines would be as good as the vampire acadamy but I am just as hooked as ever reading the 3 books in two days!!! Adrian was one of my favorite characters in the last series and I love him with sydney now more than ever. The only problem is waiting for the fiery heart to come out in november ughhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Fantastic!!

    Really awesome installment in the bloodlines series! You really see a huge growth in the depth of the personalities of both Sydney and Adrian. Really well done! Agh it just made me fall in love with Adrian. Sydney has now become one of my most favorite heroines, she is so brave and smart and logical. Just truly fantastic.

    This book could have easily turned into one of those cheesy love triangles, but it didnt! And for that, i am truly grateful. Definitely recommend this series and book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Great series

    Love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I <3 Adrian!

    Love, Love, Loved this book! Finally I got some peace for my fav Character in the series! Thank you Rachelle :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    amazing!!!

    Mead delivers another great book! Adrian seems more mature than what he was in the Golden Lily. Can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Love

    I love love love the bloodlines series. I cant wait for the next one. If you havn't done so yet please pick up the first bok in this heartpounding series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11