Customer Reviews for

The Infernal City (Elder Scrolls Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Based on the Elder Scrolls video game

At sea, the sailors feel the heaviness the water and look up to see floating in the air a big mountain wit the cone pointed downward with a beautiful city on top. The ship speeds to the docks to spread the word, but was given no credence until Annaig the young human fe...
At sea, the sailors feel the heaviness the water and look up to see floating in the air a big mountain wit the cone pointed downward with a beautiful city on top. The ship speeds to the docks to spread the word, but was given no credence until Annaig the young human female and Mere-Glim the sentient reptilian find themselves on the floating island of Umbriel. They had floated up there using the magical potion that Annaig had drank, but also has no way to turn them home in Limoth, which was once part of the Empire but now belongs to the An-Xileel due to the events of four decades ago during the Oblivion Crisis.

The island's inhabitants find themselves on the south of Annaig's world especially the High Lords while the lesser beings shall need to find food to stay alive. Annaig obtains a position as a cook and the Lord live her banquet meals. She uses a mechanical bird to send a message to try and get Prince Attrebus back to the Empire to rescue them get rid of Umbriel. To do so they need to travel through the inter-dimensional portals. It is not long before the people with various missions getting rid of Umbriel is next to impossible but it must be done before its evil destroys all life on the surface below its shadow.

Based on the Elder Scrolls video game, THE INFERNAL CITY occurs between the fourth and fifth game. Readers do not need to have played game four as the novel stands alone, but it helps to understand the events of four decades earlier that led to the current surface world. Annaig is the star of the tale as her ability to face up to challenges lead others to want to assist her; she makes friends with them though they are of a different sentient essence. Although at times the plotting feels like a game especially when Annaig gets in trouble, fans will enjoy Greg Keyes' fine adaptation that stays true to the original saga yet brings fresh action-packed excitement on its own front.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Okay Book

I liked the story all the way up until the end. I'm confused and I actually hope there is another installment. That way the end will make more sense because right now I'm lost.

posted by Depositink on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Good book for fans of the Elder Scrolls games

    I want to state first that I am a big fan of the Elder Scrolls game series so I am pretty biased toward this book. I really liked it, but that is partially because I have already spent so much time with this universe I can't help but enjoy any more time I get to spend in this series. So if you like the series and want to get more out of it this is a good book.

    As a fantasy book I was pretty happy with it, it seemed a bit cliche' at times, but it never bothered me too much. One of the things I really enjoyed which I don't see all that much is a focus on Alchemy, I love Alchemy in fantasy and historically, so I got a kick out of that. Overall I think fans of fantasy should enjoy this, even without knowledge of the game series.

    As a fan a of the game I loved this book, I have been playing the series since the third one and have gone back and played the older ones and newer one. Off the bat I will say I liked the 3rd game the best so when reading this book I looked for anything that could tell me more about what has happened to Morrowind since the 3rd game. In one sense this doesn't disappoint and does give you a pretty good idea of what happened, but some fans might get a bit upset. Overall though if you like the lore and want to get more Elder Scrolls this is a good book to read.

    My final opinion is that this book is a short and quick read and I enjoyed it, it wasn't the deepest thing I have ever read, but I enjoyed it regardless. I am excited for the next book which will pick up right where this one ended on a cliffhanger. So I would tell people to give it a chance, especially if you enjoy the game series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Based on the Elder Scrolls video game

    At sea, the sailors feel the heaviness the water and look up to see floating in the air a big mountain wit the cone pointed downward with a beautiful city on top. The ship speeds to the docks to spread the word, but was given no credence until Annaig the young human female and Mere-Glim the sentient reptilian find themselves on the floating island of Umbriel. They had floated up there using the magical potion that Annaig had drank, but also has no way to turn them home in Limoth, which was once part of the Empire but now belongs to the An-Xileel due to the events of four decades ago during the Oblivion Crisis.

    The island's inhabitants find themselves on the south of Annaig's world especially the High Lords while the lesser beings shall need to find food to stay alive. Annaig obtains a position as a cook and the Lord live her banquet meals. She uses a mechanical bird to send a message to try and get Prince Attrebus back to the Empire to rescue them get rid of Umbriel. To do so they need to travel through the inter-dimensional portals. It is not long before the people with various missions getting rid of Umbriel is next to impossible but it must be done before its evil destroys all life on the surface below its shadow.

    Based on the Elder Scrolls video game, THE INFERNAL CITY occurs between the fourth and fifth game. Readers do not need to have played game four as the novel stands alone, but it helps to understand the events of four decades earlier that led to the current surface world. Annaig is the star of the tale as her ability to face up to challenges lead others to want to assist her; she makes friends with them though they are of a different sentient essence. Although at times the plotting feels like a game especially when Annaig gets in trouble, fans will enjoy Greg Keyes' fine adaptation that stays true to the original saga yet brings fresh action-packed excitement on its own front.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    A true Elder Scrolls story

    There isn't a moment in this book when nothing is related to the Elder Scrolls. Any Elder Scrolls fan will recognize every bit of this storyline. The new world contains a little of what is in Tamriel, and some things that might be a little confusing. Most of it is able to be recognized. All of it has to do with the events of the Elder Scrolls games.

    For anyone who doesn't know, it takes place between the games Oblivion and Skyrim.

    It is a great book, and the ending is understandable if you pay attention to the words and the whole storyline. This book should be worth more than the five stars it is allowed to hold.

    Divines smile upon ye.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    if (TESFan) { Book.Buy() } else { Book.ReadSample() }

    It's been a while since I read this and I'm getting ready to read the next one in the series. If you're into Elder Scrolls lore this is a no-brainer. Bethesda did right by its fans with this effort by retaining a skilled writer to produce quality TES fiction.

    What I'm always afraid of with books based on games is that they're junk with a familiar name slapped on the front to cash in on devoted fans. That sort of abuse is not TES's reputation, and they've held up that reputation with this offering.

    If you're not into TES and just curious, it's still worth a look. There's nothing here that requires you to have played any of the games. It's a completely separate storyline set in the game world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Good, some problems

    The only problem i had with this was it seemed that the author skipped some really good info with Tamriel's history. Also i found myself confused at some parts because they werent explained well enough. Overall a decent book, with most lore keeping with the game series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    amazing!

    novels based off games are usually bad but this is just great. i could not set it down. Tamriel is an epic world and oblivion was by farthe best rpg of all time. I recommend playing the.game a little bit.befor reading this because it will provide key information like the detailed variation of races. anyways stunning book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay Book

    I liked the story all the way up until the end. I'm confused and I actually hope there is another installment. That way the end will make more sense because right now I'm lost.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good, quick read

    I saw the front cover and instantly liked it, and then I saw that it was an Elder Scrolls Novel and then really liked it. Upon finishing it I must say that it was quite enjoyable and very well-worth the money. No, it is not epic. And no, the characters are not deep and intriguing like, say...one of R.A. Salvatore's characters, but for being such a short book it does a great job at entertaining and keeping the pages turning. It is 100% adventure and it is 100% satisfying. And the end is great. Add it to your collection

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    Awesome Book

    I really looked forward to this book. It is about a girl who hears of a rumor from a friend, about the flying city. After she discovers that the island/ city is real, she asks her friend if they can explore it, and sure enough, she finds a way on board. Being captured one time after another, she seeks to destroy the island, and find her friend. She communicates constantly to Attrebus through her magic locket, and tells him all of the info she can find out about it.
    I really liked this book, and i can hardly wait until the second one comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Love this book!

    Love the charecters and how well it runs along with the games setting. Gilm is a very good charecter. Love his attitude, his thoghts on adventure and then he is willing to not listen to the little voice in his head. Of course the story takes place in THE ELDER SCROLLS V: SKYRIM because they metion the oblivion crisis and the setting years after. The writing is well done. The Infernal City is somthing I would recomend to a lot of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Jose

    *Hides behind Whiterun castle wall and shoots Heimskr*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Looks cool

    I haven't read it yet, but I either own or have played through all of the Elder Scrolls games. My favorite one is Morrowind, because it was my very first PC game. The Elder Scrolls is my favorite video game series ever. I'm looking forward to buying the book, but I'm on a budget right now. Peace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    NEW ELDER SCROLLS ROLLPLAY

    -Haze the dragon born

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I played oblivion

    Oblivion was one of my favorite games in the
    TES series besides skyrim which is my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Best series ever

    Don't let some of these comments fool you, this book does NOT force you to buy the second. It is completly possible to end with the first, however hard. It is criminal to not buy the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Make a sequel

    Skyrim

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great book

    Really captures the elder scrolls essence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Very good read.

    Good story and very enjoyable for anyone that loves elder scrolls lore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Elder scrolls

    Awesome!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Yo

    Thank ye kind sir!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5