Customer Reviews for

The Inn at Rose Harbor (Rose Harbor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Debbies writing is easy and you can feel the emotion behind what

Debbies writing is easy and you can feel the emotion behind what she writes. The summary makes me want to get a copy of this book and follow through and find out what actually happens in this new widows life. Story is up to date, in the present time, and can be relate...
Debbies writing is easy and you can feel the emotion behind what she writes. The summary makes me want to get a copy of this book and follow through and find out what actually happens in this new widows life. Story is up to date, in the present time, and can be related to the events of today. Being a widow, and in my 60's, I can appreciate what women experience when that moment of aloneness descends upon them. First I grieved, but in six months time I knew life moves forward and I had to move forward with it. As in this story, my major change was to leave - everything. Packed my little doggie, Abby, a Bichon Frise, and headed to Florida, 1,055 miles away. The computer helped me at least know which area I wanted to move. Sometimes you need to change the 'first life' and take up a whole new challenge for a ' second life'. I haven't been sorry, but these past 6 years of my life could write a few good and unbelievable stories. It has been challenging, but no matter what situation I somehow found myself, I was aware of God putting me there. I moved for my happiness, but my happiness happened through the people I have met and helped along my journey. Debbies books are very comforting and some might say 'oh life isn't really like that', but it is if you believe and have faith. One must be open to life and what is happening all around us. I think Debbie is one of those women and that's why her books are always a great read. Thank you. Lynda Kacicz

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, Boring, Could Have Been Written by a High School Student

This is my first book by this author. I was expecting more -- a lot more -- than this very simple storytelling. Lots of good description, but amateur psychological analyses and no depth. And the conversations are unnatural and formal. No one talks like these character...
This is my first book by this author. I was expecting more -- a lot more -- than this very simple storytelling. Lots of good description, but amateur psychological analyses and no depth. And the conversations are unnatural and formal. No one talks like these characters. I feel like I wasted my money on this Nook book. Disappointing.

posted by 14594946 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Another great read!!!

    Looking forward to the next book in this new series.. Debbie didn't disappoint.. if anything it's deeper.. ifnthat makes any sense.. Thank you, Debbie!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber Love this book just fo

    The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber
    Love this book just for the knitting mentioned and how I can totally relate to having more than 3 projects going at one time.
    Jo Marie had relocated to run the existing B&B after her husband Paul passes away in the war.
    The book follows her life and interactions with other local people and protectors.
    Josh Weaver is a guest at the inn and is in town for just a few short days to reclaim things his stepdad has kept at the family house. He is on his deathbed and a nearby neighbor has watched out for him for months.
    He just wants his letterman jacket and his mom's bible.
    Abby Kincaid is back in town after leaving when her girlfriend dies in a car crash that she was the driver. Her brother is getting married and her parents and aunts and uncles will also be at the wedding. She has a few chores, left undone to complete.
    Seems as if Jo Marie will return for more guests. It's a house that leaves one in peace, all that cross its door.
    Look visiting again with just a few locals-a little at a time so as not to be become confused. It's at a nice easy pace but moves along.
    Comes with extra things at the end of the book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Debbie Macomer Loyal Reader

    I am so excited reading this new series..It is great to bring some of the characters from previous series visit and update us on their lives. As always , loved the book, easy read, and anxious for the second book in this series..Definately will preorder again, Debbie Macomer never disappoints her readers,

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Jo Marie Rose has come to Cedar Cove to start her new life by op

    Jo Marie Rose has come to Cedar Cove to start her new life by opening a
    Bed and Breakfast where she hope to find healing, return to joy, and
    most of all PEACE.  After less than a year of marriage to her true soul
    mate, she finds herself widowed by the war in Afghanistan, and her grief
    from this loss has been all consuming.   Her husband, Paul, left her
    with an insurance policy that allows her to start this new endeavor, but
    much more importantly, Paul has come to her in a dream to encourage her
    on this new path of 'healing' for herself and all who come to her Inn.
    Her first two guests arrive and Jo Marie is excited to begin her own
    healing process as she provides a beautiful place of comfort,
    hospitality, and a listening ear for these two wounded souls.  Abby
    hasn't been back to her home town in many years.  Though she had a
    beautiful life growing up in Cedar Cove, she has not been able to bare
    having any connections to this place or people since the accident when
    her best friend, Angelia, was killed in the car accident when Abby
    crashed her car on an icy road as the girls were returning home from one
    of their 'best friends' outings. Her guilt of surviving when Angelia did
    not has overwhelmed all her life decisions since then.  Now her
    brother's wedding has forced her unwanted return. Josh has also
    avoided Cedar Cove since he was thrown out of his house in his last year
    of high school by his step-father, Richard, after his Mom died. Now Josh
    has been called back by the social worker who says Richard needs Josh
    because Richard is dying.  Josh's need to retrieve some of his Mother's
    'heart treasures' has given him no choice but overcome his hatred for
    Richard for a few days in Cedar Cove again. For readers of Debbie
    Macomber's Cedar Cove books, this will be a welcome return to a lovely
    community and beloved friends.  For those newcomers to Cedar Grove, this
    book will introduce you to new community through Jo Marie and her new
    Inn at Rose Harbor, where healing and peace will hopefully be found for
    the unsuspecting guests who take lodging for a few days with Jo
    Marie.  As with all of Macomber's books, this book is also peopled with
    characters who will draw you into their lives before you realize what
    has happened.  Ah, and just wait till you meet, Rover, the dog who
    adopts Jo Marie from the animal shelter. Yes, I said that right--he
    adopts her! Many different forms of grief are portrayed so well in this
    book. And as we all have been in grief or known those in grief, the
    process of healing, and new found peace and joys found in this book will
    make every reader want to take up residency for a while in THE INN AT
    ROSE HARBOR!  As with all those loyal fans of the Cedar Grove books, I
    suspect there will be many more fans who will want to become part of
    this little community after they read this book.  And, never fear, if
    you are new to Cedar Grove, this Rose Harbor Inn book will introduce you
    to everyone just as any newcomer to an area is welcomed into great
    community. In fact, for newcomers who, like me, are always impatient for
    a favorite authors 'next book' , you can start the Cedar Grove series
    with 16 LIGHTHOUSE RD and become part of the community to welcome the
    Rose Harbor Inn guests when Debbie Macomber's new books are published! A
    terrific read all around!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Back to cedar cove

    Great book cannot wait until the next one especially liked how the characters from the cedar cove series were interwoven into the book so glad debbie macomber started another series of books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    An Absolutely, Wonderful Book

    I have read almost everything that Debbie Macomber has written. I have never been disappointed. Some authors have the special ability to keep writing great works and she is one of them. I absolutely loved this book! The plot is a great one. Jo Marie is destined to be a good inn keeper. She is a person that listens, respects and is very kind to people. Plus, this lady can cook and bake. Her story is so sad but she turns it into positive happenings. All of her guests have their own stories. She never knows who will cross her doorstep and how they will affect her life. It was so good to catch up with some people from the Cedar Cove series. The other new characters we meet from Cedar Cove are very interesting. I do think Rover, the dog, needs a new name! I can't wait for the next book of the series!
    Please pray for, praise and thank our service men and women and their families!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    The Inn at Rose Harbor is a beautiful book of healing and findin

    The Inn at Rose Harbor is a beautiful book of healing and finding peace,
    not only within yourself, but with others. I am thrilled I received an
    advanced reader copy. Jo Marie Rose is recently widowed and just
    getting back into life. She moves to Cedar Cove and purchases a bed
    & breakfast in her husband’s memory. Her first two guests, Abby and
    Josh, are back in town after leaving years ago. Both are there for
    different reasons and filled with dread at having to be there. Abby,
    because it’s the site of painful memories – the night her best friend
    tragically died, and Josh, to confront the dying stepfather who kicked
    him out of the house in high school. While the three people don’t
    interact much, except at the inn, they each are finding their own paths
    to peace and healing. I have been a Debbie Macomber fan for many
    years, and this is now one of my favorite books. It was wonderful
    visiting Cedar Cove again, and seeing familiar faces in the town. I
    love the added twist of intervention from beyond the grave that the
    author has added, and I hope she continues to do so in future books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Debbie Macomber takes us back to Cedar Cove, Washington for her

    Debbie Macomber takes us back to Cedar Cove, Washington for her brand new series. This series features Jo Marie Rose. She has came to Cedar Cove to make a fresh start after the death of her husband. She has purchased the local Bed & Breakfast and renamed it Rose Harbor Inn. Her surname may be Rose but there is not a single rose bush on the property, but there will be a rose being planted very soon.

    Her first guest is Joshua Weaver. He has come to Cedar Cove after receiving a call from his stepfather's neighbor telling him that the man was very ill. There is no love lost between Josh and his stepfather. The man kicked him out of the house before he even graduated high school. A friend of Josh's from high school reenters his life. She hopes that with her help these two men can reconcile before it is too late.

    Abby Kincaid arrives in town for her brother's wedding. She hasn't been back to Cedar Cove for twenty years. The town holds so many painful memories, she is almost wishing she had stayed in Florida. She runs into an old high school friend who suggests a lunch with all her old Cedar Cove friends. Abby agrees when her mother is invited too. This lunch is going to be a monumental event for Abby. Is she ready to face her past and try to move forward?

    I am thrilled the Debbie Macomber is not done with Cedar Cove but taking the stories in a different direction. I loved it when characters from the previous series drop by the inn to introduce themselves to Jo Marie.

    Like other books from this author the books are full of flawed characters who learn to forgive and fall in love again. This one had some real tearjerker moments so keep a tissue handy.

    Jo Marie's story is one many women are living today as their spouse doesn't come home from Afghanistan and women have gone through forever back in time. Buying the inn to help her through her grief and feeling her husband's presence in very special ways is so moving.

    This series promises to be quite inspiring as Jo Marie is effected by guests and the way the guests are effected by Jo Marie and the folks of Cedar Cove. Macomber fans will love this and don't worry if you haven't read any of her books this is a great story to start your journey with Debbie Macomber.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    I loved the characters! I like the small town setting. The way

    I loved the characters! I like the small town setting. The way the author tells the story, I can picture each character, and their surroundings. Enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    disappointed, not a typical Cedar Cove story!

    Really enjoyed The Cedar Cove series. Was looking forward to a continuation, with more interaction of old and new residents of Cedar Cove.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Another Wonderful Novel

    I really enjoyed Debbie Macomber's new book and it was nice to see old characters from the Cedar Cove series. I especially like Jo Marie's character and look forward to seeing new guest at The Inn of Rose Harbor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Another Series Winner

    I really enjoyed the first installment of this new series and it was great to see a few familiar faces along the way. Good job, Debbie Macomber, now get back to work on book two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    I would give it ten stars if I coulf.

    You will fall in love with the new cast of characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Another good book

    I love here wholesome writting style. Cant wait to read the next in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Absolutely loved it!

    Cannot wait for the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Love the book!

    So happy to be introduced to new characters and catch up with the people from Cedar Grove.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    The Inn At Rose Harbor

    Very good book - 270 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great read

    Love this book cant waite to read more Thank You Mrs Macomber

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Great book # 1

    Great book to read, looking forward to reading the whole series. This is the first book I have read from her and now she is one of my favorite author's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Great Book

    I really liked this book. Awesome story lines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9