BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Innocent (Will Robie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(286)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci at his best!

David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fu...
David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fuzzy" kind of book. It is a heart pounding page turner and it is perfect.

posted by charlottesweb93 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight wor

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight words at a time. Never more. The entire book. It gets to be. Too much. Didn't make it. Past one hundred. Pages. And the story is not believable.

posted by 7974733 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Always a good read

    Enjoyed this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    New to reading David Baldacci.

    I loved this book I MEAN LOVED IT. I read this book in less than a day. I have sinse bought eight other books by him , and ordered book two of this book. It will be out on April 23rd I think..I love the way he writes, it grabes hold of you and you don't want to put it down. Butyou have to eat, watch kids, go to the bath room even if you don't want to. ( L O L). But I read every day and this was the first book I've read buy him. Clearly I love the way he writes to buy eight books and pre order book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great read!

    Fast paced and great storyline

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Should we always follow our beliefs? Will Robie was a sanctione

    Should we always follow our beliefs?

    Will Robie was a sanctioned killer who was the best at what he did and walked away from each assignment with a clear conscious. The unidentified alphabet soup who decides the fate of everyone else pushes him into one situation he refuses to act on and sends him into hiding where fate, coincidence, or bad time connects him with Julie a kid on the run from her own enemy. It takes about 5 minutes to find that the same ghost is chasing them both from different directions with the same objective - to eliminate them.

    Will has no experience protecting anyone but himself and has no working knowledge of what to do with a kid. When you are getting a crash course in survival, you do or die trying and Julie is going to force him to let her help. She is smart enough to follow directions and eager to get back to a life she can control even knowing what has blown up her past. Julie's parents tried to do their best but in the end left her alone with a man she does not trust as her only ally.

    With shots fired that don’t hit their target, moles turning up everywhere, and will desperately trying to figure out who is the master manipulator with all the cash behind this game of chess. The one key to stopping the violence is figuring out whom the target really is and if the revenge meter has been set to stun or kill. The pace is fast, the details exacting, and the result of all their work scary. What Will and Julie uncover cannot only change the course of their lives but everyone that walks the planet as well.

    David Baldacci knows how to take the facts, write them into a work of genius that will keep the reader unable to put the book down. The twists and turns in THE INNOCENT are a masterful manipulation of fiction that comes so close to fact it if frightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Poor man's "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo",

    contrived, unbelievable, a MacGyver episode, Baldacci is writing for the Lifetime channel. I wanted my money back when Robie pulls rope and plywood out of a dumpster to get on the fireescape. Very disappointed. Couldn't figure out how to give half a star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Once again Baldacci comes thru. Great story hope to read more

    Once again Baldacci comes thru. Great story hope to read more of Robie, and as always hated when it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great book!

    Baldacci is a great writer and this book does not disappoint! I couldn't put this down! Such an interesting twist in this story to involve a teenager with the main character, who is an assasin. Love this book...could see a series easily with this great character!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great book

    Excellent piece of writing! Keeps you captivated from the start! Once you pick it up, you will not put it down. The twists and turns keep you guessing until the end. It's a "must read"! Enjoy the experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    This is certainly not up to Mr. Baldacci's usual talent. I feel

    This is certainly not up to Mr. Baldacci's usual talent. I feel that he's trying to borrow from Lee Child when he ought to stick to his own tight story outlines and plot development!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    best yet

    could not put down!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great new character

    As good as all the Baldaccis! I hope he follows up with this character.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Great read

    Terrific page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Terrific

    Lovedit good from page one to the last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Good book

    It is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Recommended for mystery and spy buffs.

    Although I have not finished this book, it rates right up there with all his other books that Baldacci has written. I especially appreciate that there are no cuss words in his stories. I also like the depth his books have; not simple
    but complex. It is sometimes difficult to figure out the plots at first which is the way I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Great read!!!!!

    I have read several books by DB, they were all great. When you think you have it all figured out he adds a new twist to the plot. His books are a fast and very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    I've read several David Baldacci's books and I thoroughly enjoye

    I've read several David Baldacci's books and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Could not put it down. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    I'm hook. This is the second book I've read by this author. The

    I'm hook.

    This is the second book I've read by this author. The plot is well written and some of the storyline will have
    you on the edge of your seat. I'm going to read the whole series of Will Robie. Love this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Excellent

    Another great book by Baldacci

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28