Customer Reviews for

The Innocent (Will Robie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 515 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci at his best!

David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fu...
David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fuzzy" kind of book. It is a heart pounding page turner and it is perfect.

posted by charlottesweb93 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight wor

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight words at a time. Never more. The entire book. It gets to be. Too much. Didn't make it. Past one hundred. Pages. And the story is not believable.

posted by 7974733 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Baldacci at his best!

    David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fuzzy" kind of book. It is a heart pounding page turner and it is perfect.

    40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    What a fabulous book!

    Mr Baldacci just gets better and better! I loved all the twists and turns. Don't miss this reading this one.

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    One of his best in a long time! Great characters, suspense and

    One of his best in a long time! Great characters, suspense and surprise twists. Highly recommend!

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight wor

    Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight words at a time. Never more. The entire book. It gets to be. Too much. Didn't make it. Past one hundred. Pages. And the story is not believable.

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great read! Did not want to put it down, stayed up til 2AM to f

    Great read! Did not want to put it down, stayed up til 2AM to finish it. I know it is fiction but it certainly makes you wonder just how much is true! Of course my all time favorite of David Baldacci is Absolute Power!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Amazing

    ABSOLUTELY amazing. Was caught from the start. Mitch Rapp move over. Will Robie has arrived. Incredibly complicated maze. I felt Annie would be involved somehow but not quite in that way. Julies character was also a nice diversionary tactic. Read this. You wont be disappointed.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Will Robie be able to handle three women in his life? I thoroug

    Will Robie be able to handle three women in his life?

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have read several of Baldacci's books before, but it has been a long time. I forget how thrilling and satisfying they can be. If you like thrill, relationships, romance, and non-stop action this book is for you.

    Will Robie kills for a living. He normally works alone, but finds himself in a situation that he is not able to be alone or risk someone innocent losing their life. He becomes a juggler at this point and hopes he is doing it right.

    Julie Getty is the first “woman” in his life. She is 14 and full of life. She's pretty smart for her age, not only school wise but street wise. She surprises Robie time and time again.

    Agent Vance is the older woman in his life who is in the same career field and respects what he is doing. They work side by side, but develop a close relationship.

    Annie Lambert is the sexy, seductress, neighbor. He finds himself caught up with her and wonders if it is okay.

    I loved the characters. Will Robie was portrayed as a tough, but sensitive at the right times male. He was smart and knew how to read what was going on. While it was difficult, he did allow the woman to work with and help him in the investigation.

    Julie Getty is a tough little cookie. What she went through and what she finds out in the end is amazing. She is portrayed as a very smart girl (intelligent), but she was also caring and forgiving.

    Agent Vance was your typical female cop, but didn’t over do the toughness to prove who she was. Baldacci was able to describe her a competent, but not overcompensating. She did learn to let her guard down a little.

    Don’t expect just thriller, suspense, and toughness in this book. Baldacci does add some humor along the way.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Baldacci at his best

    I have read all of David Baldacci's books and I must say that this is his best to date. Great charecters - intricate plot!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I can picture this story as a blockbuster. This is one of the be

    I can picture this story as a blockbuster. This is one of the best Baldacci story I have read for a while. He showed his mastery again in scene-setting and did a great job with visual imagination. The role of Robie in all his interactions and the other characters in the novel show characterization came out well.The character of Robie reminds me of Gavin in the thriller Triple Agent Double Cross, who like Robie is in great shape but equally rugged and soft inside. Complicated though Robie is, his purpose is good. And since he is someone crosses the paths of evil people, the circumstances he finds himself in make him the hero he can not shy away from becoming in order to survive and stop the bad guys. In short, The Innocent is a story to read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Cheaper

    This is $2 less on ny ipad. TOUGH DECISION AS I PREFER TO READ ON MY NOOK,

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Good read

    Not his best effort, but still a lot better than others. Look forward to his next book.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My opinion of David Baldacci novels varies. I found the Camel Cl

    My opinion of David Baldacci novels varies. I found the Camel Club stories terrible and was glad when they ended. Mr. Baldacci can write, he just doesn't do it as well from book to book. The Innocent started out well-enough, but the introduction of the 14 year old was a big warning sign. A killer and a kid? That is not going to go well. And Baldacci did try to make her precocious enough to keep the irritant level down. But women in this story were hard to figure. Agent Vance got the short end of the stick, in my opinion. It's almost as if she was just there to be used. Any romantic interest that Robie had was for his curious neighbor, a pretty White House worker living in his building and becoming a romantic interest. Surely there is no story there, she's just a character introduced for a little sex appeal. But Baldacci apparently decided he had to up the ante, and big time assassination came into play. I didn't think it was the strong point of the novel, which made the book lose two stars. Well, one half was lost when the 14 year old entered the scene. But, I did read it all with moderate interest, and no one paid me to do so.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Awesome!

    Perfecto book. Gettin ready to read all of david baldaccis books. Love his corrupt government theme

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Tmm Not his best Not baldacci's

    Too convoluted for my taste

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the first Baldacci book that I have read. Previously, I

    This is the first Baldacci book that I have read. Previously, I have read all of Vince Flynn's books and my wife suggested that I read The Innocent saying that I would like it based on my love of Flynn's books.

    Boy, was she right! I could easily see where Will Robie could challenge Mitch Rapp as a great assassin for the CIA. If you love intrigue, surprise turn's, and an ending that I would never have suspected, then this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    could not put this book down! Action never stopped

    could not put this book down! Action never stopped

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I hate to rate a Baldacci's bad, but this is not to his usual st

    I hate to rate a Baldacci's bad, but this is not to his usual standards or even close. So poor that I have to wonder if it is goastwritten. Did he run out of idea's? Sorry Mr. Baldacci.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Must Read

    very exciting from start to finish. Worth spending the money on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Jw

    How many pages?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Review 1334881383965

    This is a really nice book! 1334881383965

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26