Customer Reviews for

The Innocent (Will Robie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 554 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci at his best!

David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fu...
David Baldacci still has got "it" when it comes to keeping the attention of his readers. His characters are complex, yet entirely likable. Even if they are cold blooded killers. There are some tender moments between Robie and Julie, but in general it is not a "warm fuzzy" kind of book. It is a heart pounding page turner and it is perfect.

posted by charlottesweb93 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight wor

Short sentences. Staccato writing. Like a machine gun. Eight words at a time. Never more. The entire book. It gets to be. Too much. Didn't make it. Past one hundred. Pages. And the story is not believable.

posted by 7974733 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Cheaper

    This is $2 less on ny ipad. TOUGH DECISION AS I PREFER TO READ ON MY NOOK,

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My opinion of David Baldacci novels varies. I found the Camel Cl

    My opinion of David Baldacci novels varies. I found the Camel Club stories terrible and was glad when they ended. Mr. Baldacci can write, he just doesn't do it as well from book to book. The Innocent started out well-enough, but the introduction of the 14 year old was a big warning sign. A killer and a kid? That is not going to go well. And Baldacci did try to make her precocious enough to keep the irritant level down. But women in this story were hard to figure. Agent Vance got the short end of the stick, in my opinion. It's almost as if she was just there to be used. Any romantic interest that Robie had was for his curious neighbor, a pretty White House worker living in his building and becoming a romantic interest. Surely there is no story there, she's just a character introduced for a little sex appeal. But Baldacci apparently decided he had to up the ante, and big time assassination came into play. I didn't think it was the strong point of the novel, which made the book lose two stars. Well, one half was lost when the 14 year old entered the scene. But, I did read it all with moderate interest, and no one paid me to do so.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Tmm Not his best Not baldacci's

    Too convoluted for my taste

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Started off great...

    The innocent started off pretty good & really kept my attention. But somewhere in the middle, it just kinda went round & round in circles talking about the same thing over & over again. I'm sure this had to be done but I began to lose interest b/c it could have been written better. Too many unnecessary chapters or actions by the main character & a hit man character that is well written in the beginning & flawed towards the end. A trained hit man not thinking to close the blinds in what may be a compromised situation. Come on!!!! An ok read but will give The Hit a chance b/c this book had a lot going for it. It's just that the fat should have been trimmed from the edges so to speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    For David this was only so so. Most of the plot was guessable. H

    For David this was only so so. Most of the plot was guessable. Hopefully he has set the characters for the next book but I would go with caution. Not enough depth in the story itself. Too shallow a reason for the events that eclipsed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good read

    Quick read but kept me glued. Dragging a little toward the end but overall a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    So So. I've read much better books.

    So So. I've read much better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Good read, drug a little

    Liked the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3