Customer Reviews for

The Inquisitor's Key (Body Farm Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

This book brings the Bone Detective, Dr. Bill Brockton, across the globe! He is involved in a controversial quest to determine whether the bones in France belong to none other than Jesus Christ himself. You would think that there would be a major conflict of religious o...
This book brings the Bone Detective, Dr. Bill Brockton, across the globe! He is involved in a controversial quest to determine whether the bones in France belong to none other than Jesus Christ himself. You would think that there would be a major conflict of religious organizations here, but the characters are well-balanced and used very effectively. I love this new addition to The Body Farm Novels! I know you will too! Don't miss this great book, it is a MUST read!!!

posted by KaYe_BO on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have LOVED all the Body Farm novels but this one is my least f

I have LOVED all the Body Farm novels but this one is my least favorite. It is a good read but a little confusing the way it jumps from past to present.

posted by Demert on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have LOVED all the Body Farm novels but this one is my least f

    I have LOVED all the Body Farm novels but this one is my least favorite. It is a good read but a little confusing the way it jumps from past to present.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    actaully written by two authors - Jon Jefferson and Dr. Bill Bas

    actaully written by two authors - Jon Jefferson and Dr. Bill Bass. Bass is the founder of the Body Farm - a ground breaking forensic anthropology site. The crime novels from this pair have always had the ring of truth and excellent detail behind them.

    In the seventh and latest offering, The Inquisitor's Key, protagonist Dr. Bill Brockton (who is a forensic anthropologist, of course) heads to Avignon, France. His young assitant Miranda Lovelady has been working on a dig that has uncovered bones that may be of unimaginable importance and they need his expertise.

    I really like this series, but have to honestly say that this book fell flat for me. The plot is nothing new and brings to mind a Dan Brown or Steve Berry novel. The history presented was interesting and well researched, though. But it just stretched the imagination a little too far - the Vatican is after the bones as well as American zealots bent on using the bones' DNA to bring about The Second Coming. I just found it a stretch that a prof from Tennessee would be involved in something like this.

    The authors have always tried to insert a love interest for Dr. Bill. (They don't seem to last long) Dr. Bill has now turned his attention to his assistant Miranda. Insert ick factor here - this just doesn't work for me.

    The audio version of the book is read by Tom Stechschulte, who has a wonderful voice. It's very rich and expressive and does bring to mind the mental image I've created of Dr. Bill. But, his French accent wasn't the best and by the end was really quite annoying.

    Really, all I want or expect from Dr. Bill is a good ole down home who dunnit. This one was just too far removed from the roots.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What would you consider the greatest archaeological find? The cu

    What would you consider the greatest archaeological find? The cup of Jesus from the last supper, the nails from His crucifixion? The crown of thorns from his head? The true Ark of the Covenant? What if you discovered what appeared to be the actual bones from Jesus Christ? How would that impact the world if proof could be given, that they were real? What if they actually held supernatural powers?

    Such is the premise behind the latest novel from Jefferson Bass, The Inquisitor's Key, when a trio of experts, Dr. Bill Brockton, a forensic anthropologist, Miranda Lovejoy, his assistant, and Stefan Beauvoir, a colleague of Miranda's happen upon a discovery beneath the Palace of the Popes in Avignon, France and uncover what appears to be the bones of what could be Jesus Christ. The identifying marks on the wrist bones, ankles and ribs appear to coincide with what we know of his death. What would the impact be on the world if in fact these could be proven to be genuine? What would some people do to ensure that this discovery remains buried beneath the earth?

    This is the 7th novel in the Body Farm series and a first for me when I read this one. The story line toggles between present time and in the 14th century as the reader begins to unravel clues to determine what relevance this new find of buried bones will do for the world. Could it be that a great hoax has been created as a way to move forward certain religious teachings? What would the implications be if this was discovered and shared with the world? I guess you'll have to pick up this novel and find out for yourself.

    I received The Inquisitor's Key compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. Being a huge history fan as well as a follower of Jesus, I had mixed interests in seeing where this one might be headed, but it does cause you to wonder just what makes us believe certain artifacts may be real or have some been a huge lie all along. I was interested in where this was headed and some points of the novel drag on a bit without an apparent reason for the delay. However, if you can endure this one to the end, I don't think you'll be disappointed. I think the author researches their history well and this book is really geared for that fan base over a mystery genre. I would rate this one a 3.5 out of 5 stars and really kept me guessing along with the characters just what they would ultimately discover in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Great!

    I loved this book! The series has been good fun to read and this latest one was the best ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    recommend

    Previous "Madonna" book was unnecessary. Bulk of it was contained in first few pages of Inquisitor's Key. I think that Tennessee would be a better setting for their books than France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1