BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Insanity of God: A True Story of Faith Resurrected

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Life changing!

    This book has changed my life, it has changed me. Don't read this unless you are ready to see how God works in this world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Amazing

    This book changed the way I view God and how alive and active he IS in this world.

    The author uses true stories to show the reality of the petsecuted church.

    A must read by any Christian!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Best book I ever read

    This book is very humbling! We in the US are lazy chistians. This book is like reading about Pauls experiences but happening in todays world. It is about God speaking to people that have never heard the gospel and yet God seeks them out and uses them to win others. Many times the gospel is spread when someone is sent to prison. This is a must read for Chistians!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Life Changing

    Read what it to be blessed and if it agrees with your interpretation there of. I will not be using that phrase lightly again. Read how God uses the sufferings of the persecuted to greatly increase his church of followers. After reading this book, I realized why the explosive numbers of people coming to Christ in oppressed countries such as China is because of the sufferings of the persecuted. If you are persecuted you are growing. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Let me start off by saying that I admire anyone, regardless of f

    Let me start off by saying that I admire anyone, regardless of faith or non-faith, who trys to help ease the atrocities in a so-called third world country. Giving aid via food, healthcare, clothing, water or any basic need without any hidden agenda. That is commendable. Doing so under the guise of bringing people under the banner of the christian faith, perhaps not so much.
    Looking at this book from a perspective of a person, who believes in God.
    It gives the overall feeling of being about Ripken's personal quest to enlighten as many people as possible. That does not mean that he hasn't seen and experienced hell on this earth, both in his personal life and professional one. The book however takes on this overall feeling of 'God speaks to me, I am his messenger and only I know the right path.'
    Looking at it from the perspective of a person, who doesn't believe in God.
    When someone believes that there is no hope for anyone without Jesus then I question how rational they are. It also equates all victims and perpetrators in African warzones if they are non-believers, because they have the same level of 'Lostness.' Devoting everything you do and each action you take to that one thing, your faith. Making that choice for yourself is one thing, but making that choice for your family and in doing so putting them in harms way is another. That of course is up to the Ripkens, however children have no choice do they. They go where they are told to go.

    As for the book or memoir, I felt the emphasis was completely on one person and towards the last half it lost a little clarity. The chapters on Russia and China could have been more structured.
    Overall reading between the lines I think the book gives a picture of how generations of people have been hounded for their faith. It shows us how religion is still one of the most dangerous and controversial topics of our day and age.
    I think this book, about a man trying to bring comfort and peace to others via his faith, will interest both believers and non-believers.
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1