Customer Reviews for

The Intercept (Jeremy Fisk Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Catch This One

Dick Wolf continues doing what he does best, fashioning stories of those who protect and serve the citizens of New York. This time he has written a novel rather than a television script. The transition does not seem to have changed his style much. We still have the acti...
Dick Wolf continues doing what he does best, fashioning stories of those who protect and serve the citizens of New York. This time he has written a novel rather than a television script. The transition does not seem to have changed his style much. We still have the action packed good guys versus bad guys, or cops versus terrorists in this case. There are a few good twists and turns as the police follow the convoluted trail of the terrorists. In this case we are not getting deep and insightful here, but plenty of well paced action and suspense. Wolf's NYPD detective, Jeremy Fisk, could be a character worth bringing back if refined and given a bit more depth. Over all a very good read with some good promise for future books. This book provided for review by the well read folks at HarperCollins.

posted by Ronrose on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

TREND!

Why is it $3.20 more for the Nook than for the Kindle?! I have notice this on two book just today,

posted by 1728642 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Catch This One

    Dick Wolf continues doing what he does best, fashioning stories of those who protect and serve the citizens of New York. This time he has written a novel rather than a television script. The transition does not seem to have changed his style much. We still have the action packed good guys versus bad guys, or cops versus terrorists in this case. There are a few good twists and turns as the police follow the convoluted trail of the terrorists. In this case we are not getting deep and insightful here, but plenty of well paced action and suspense. Wolf's NYPD detective, Jeremy Fisk, could be a character worth bringing back if refined and given a bit more depth. Over all a very good read with some good promise for future books. This book provided for review by the well read folks at HarperCollins.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You may not immediately recognize Dick Wolf's name, but I'm sure

    You may not immediately recognize Dick Wolf's name, but I'm sure you know the name of the hit television show he created - Law and Order. Wolf has now turned his talents to fiction and his first book The Intercept is newly released. It's the first in a series featuring NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk.

    It's happened before - a terrorist on a plane, bent on blowing it and everyone aboard to kingdom come....but this time six passengers aboard the plane manage to thwart his plans. They take him down with no casualties. Jeremy Fisk works for the Intelligence Division of the NYPD and is called in as the plane lands. Although the outcome was favourable, Fisk still has a bad feeling. There was no bomb, just a detonator....and there's one passenger on the plane who disappears before he can be questioned.

    The six passengers? Instant heroes and celebrities. Fisk's partner Krina is tasked with shepherding The Six as they've come to be known. Fisk? He's chasing down leads that disappear and change two steps ahead of every move he makes.

    Wolf has made great use of his TV talents. The Intercept has the feel of a television series written to hook you and keep you watching - or reading as the case may be. The plotting is excellent- believable and frightening. Although the terrorism angle is nothing new, I didn't see Wolf's twist coming. I found the 'marketing' of the heroes fascinating (and an interesting social commentary). The lead characters are well written and likable. The pacing of the book keeps you hanging on for just another chapter...and another. Or, in my case another disc. I chose to listen to this book. Peter Ganim was the narrator. He was a great choice - he's got a strong, tough, gritty voice that just says 'cop'. He easily conveys the tension and drama with his deep voice.

    Fans of 24, Vince Flynn and Nelson DeMille will love Jeremy Fisk. And this reader would definitely read/listen to the next in the series.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    A Must Read

    Dick Wolf does not disappoint with his first novel, Intercept. Set in New York City, readers are taken on a page-turning, edge of your seat thriller involving terrorism, 4th of July celebrations, 9/11 dedication, and instant celebrities. Even though the novel is fast paced, Wolf takes the time to create likeable, well-developed characters. The plot is not rushed and does not leave the readers with unanswered questions. A great plot, full of twists, and believable characters, makes Intercept a great read. This is one of the best books I have read in a while, I highly reccomend this book to other readers.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great Read - police vs. terrorists

    This is exactly the kind of book I love to read - Well written, interesting plot twists, believable characters who are realistically developed and constant action leading to a climactic conclusion! OK, it's not great literature, but I enjoyed it as a wonderful piece of escapist fiction. Well done, Dick Wolf!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    TREND!

    Why is it $3.20 more for the Nook than for the Kindle?! I have notice this on two book just today,

    11 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Wow this is great

    Mr Wolf is a Master Story teller and writer both. Intrrcept is as good as any thing from Grisham, Brown, Palmer, Etc. For the first book from his imagination this is great stuff. The characters are beliveable and you can feel their tensions build as this story races to a very real and scary conclusion set against the background of Americas War on Terrorism.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I'm a fan of the Law & Order shows and was curious about Dic

    I'm a fan of the Law & Order shows and was curious about Dick Wolf's first book. I figured it would be adequate, but I was really impressed because it was GREAT. It is well written, but, more than that, the story was extremely well crafted and completely plausible. You didn't even see some of the twists and turns coming as it was all as subtle as real life. Being a New Yorker made it even more exciting as I know every inch of this city referred to in the book (although his reference to B&H takes liberties with their cashier/checkout process). He deserves to be in the same category with some of my favorite authors of this genre like Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, etc. I cannot wait for his next book!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    July 4th is usually a time when most of us are looking forward t

    July 4th is usually a time when most of us are looking forward to spending some time with our families, but when an attempted airline hi-jacking on Scandinavian Flight 903 is stopped by six heroic passengers and crew, it seems there is more there than just an ill conceived plan. Jeremy Fisk, a detective assigned to NYPD's Intelligence Division believes it may have just been a diversion to a much deeper terrorist plot. Having worked with bringing down Osama Bin Laden and deciphering clues from his network, he believes that something big is going to happen in New York and soon. As he works with other agencies to break down the passenger manifest to see if anyone interacted with the hi-jacker while in route to New York. He soon finds another man on the plane, Baada Bin-Hezam, has terrorist backgrounds but seems his plan was to stage the hi-jacking with another man so he could find his way into New York to simply disappear until it was time.

    Now it's a race against time for Jeremy Fisk and his team to try and find a proverbial needle in the haystack before his terrorist plan is attempted. On the heels of the biggest 4th of July celebration planned along the Hudson River, there is also the dedication ceremony for the new Freedom Tower at Ground Zero. If Jeremy and his team can't locate Baada Bin-Hezam in time, he wonders which target may have the greatest threat. Will it be a bomb, a deadly viral assault, or will it be bigger than any of them could ever possibly imagine? It's simply a race against time and the clues are getting harder and harder to find.

    In the latest suspense thriller from Dick Wolf, the legendary talent behind the iconic Law & Order TV drama, he makes his literary debut with this extraordinary tale filled with the ingenious twists and high-wire drama that we have come to expect from this master storyteller in The Intercept. The reader is in for a roller coaster ride as each new lead that Fisk chases soon fizzles to another dead end while the time continues to edge closer to the 4th of July. If you love suspense action thrillers, then this will be a must read for you to pick up and enjoy.

    I received The Intercept by Dick Wolf, compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. The storyline was amazing but the thing I didn't care for was how much the book jumped around between different aspects of the story in the beginning. At one point he is working with Osama Bin Laden and the next chapter they are working with trying to find clues amongst his affects and it's apparent he is now dead. There needs to be a little bit more continuity to help the reader maintain that connection, and I found myself flipping back pages to see if I missed a page along the way. Yet all in all by 1/3 of the way through the storyline is gripping and soon your buried deep with Detective Fisk to uncover the plot before it's too late. In my opinion, I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    What better way to begin any year than with a really good book.

    What better way to begin any year than with a really good book.  I was fortunate enough to get my hands on an Advance Reader Copy of Dick Wolf's first novel, The Intercept. If Wolf's name sounds familiar, it should; he created Law & Order. I have been hopelessly hooked on the series in all of its incarnations. When I read that Wolf had written his first novel, I wanted in on that.  And I didn't want to wait.  
    Officially released this month, Wolf sets his novel in his oh-so-familiar setting of New York City. His protagonist for this first book in what promises to be a dynamite new series, is NYPD  detective, Jeremy Fisk who works in the intelligence gathering agency. 
    In The Intercept Fisk is tasked with finding the terrorists who want to destroy the country and cause havoc in New York City. Pulling from today's real-life terrorist organizations, Wolf has created a book with more twists and turns than a roller coaster ride at a fancy theme park.  It helps that Fisk is fluent in Arabic. 

    The award winning creator, writer, director and producer of the longest-running scripted show in television history has created a story worthy of the big screen. It certainly played out in my head like a feature film. 
    Each of the characters is well-drawn and believable and the City itself serves as another character in this well-written novel.  I couldn't stop turning pages and can't wait for the next book in the series.  

    Get yours soon. It's perfect for a long winter's night.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Good read.

    Think of Nelson DeMille in his early days when he relied on his great story lines and not on trying to sell the wit and repartee of his main character.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    After being a long time fan of the Law and Order series this boo

    After being a long time fan of the Law and Order series this book was one that holds true to many "twists" as found on the TV series.  I could not put this book down until I finished it.   

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Just buy it!! If you want an awesome read over the holidays this

    Just buy it!! If you want an awesome read over the holidays this is it!  Page turner, exciting.  

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Last week's freebie

    Haven't started this book, but just wanted to state that this was the free book from last week.
    Y
    Y

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    FREE FRIDAY?!

    This was supposed to be the free Friday offer. It cost $1.99!? Please explain what free Friday means,

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Why is this book not free like the "Free Friday" blog

    Why is this book not free like the "Free Friday" blog post said?

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Very likeable, fast-paced and believable

    Enjoyed the plot and the characters. Considered a good read for anyone who likes thrillers and mystery. Easy to get engaged, but difficult to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    This book was an absolute page turner. If you like who done it

    This book was an absolute page turner. If you like who done it books. this book is for you because it keeps you guessing on who is actually behind it and how they plan to achieve it which you don't find out until the last couple of chapters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Spellbinding!  Mind Boggling and a page turner.   I left The Int

    Spellbinding!  Mind Boggling and a page turner.   I left The Intercept to be my bedtime reading book and that wasn't the smartest thing to do.   I would read until I was thoroughly tense and then I had to read even more before I could settle down and close my eyes,   At one point I was so invested in the story, I felt like I crept into the arms of a panic attack, just empathizing with the Six.    It was so easy to love the six who fought off a terrorist trying to take down their flight.   They were successful in preventing the attack and then became America's newest sweethearts of the day, being hailed as national heroes!




    Those police detectives serving to protect the six, and FBI agents investigating the occurence knew there was going to be a terrorist attack on the fourth of July, a national holiday, but who was the perpetrator and what was the target?     The suspense grew steadily and right down to the wire when the treacherous one was revealed.   He had left a bloody trail behind and a sadness for those who so easily gave up their lives and those who went out fighting all the way.   The plot was strong, the intelligence commander was like a cat chasing its tail, until finally, the last piece of the puzzle dropped succinctly into place.   The characters were strong and held the attention of this reader late into the night.  

    I thoroughly enjoyed Wolf's writing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I thought it was very slow- and didn't care for the characters..

    I thought it was very slow- and didn't care for the characters...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    FrEE book

    I am reading this book now as it was the FREE book LAST friday also! Come on Nook love the free one but same one 2 weeks in a row--- boo!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8