Customer Reviews for

The Intercept (Jeremy Fisk Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Catch This One

Dick Wolf continues doing what he does best, fashioning stories of those who protect and serve the citizens of New York. This time he has written a novel rather than a television script. The transition does not seem to have changed his style much. We still have the acti...
Dick Wolf continues doing what he does best, fashioning stories of those who protect and serve the citizens of New York. This time he has written a novel rather than a television script. The transition does not seem to have changed his style much. We still have the action packed good guys versus bad guys, or cops versus terrorists in this case. There are a few good twists and turns as the police follow the convoluted trail of the terrorists. In this case we are not getting deep and insightful here, but plenty of well paced action and suspense. Wolf's NYPD detective, Jeremy Fisk, could be a character worth bringing back if refined and given a bit more depth. Over all a very good read with some good promise for future books. This book provided for review by the well read folks at HarperCollins.

posted by Ronrose on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

TREND!

Why is it $3.20 more for the Nook than for the Kindle?! I have notice this on two book just today,

posted by 1728642 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    A Must Read

    Dick Wolf does not disappoint with his first novel, Intercept. Set in New York City, readers are taken on a page-turning, edge of your seat thriller involving terrorism, 4th of July celebrations, 9/11 dedication, and instant celebrities. Even though the novel is fast paced, Wolf takes the time to create likeable, well-developed characters. The plot is not rushed and does not leave the readers with unanswered questions. A great plot, full of twists, and believable characters, makes Intercept a great read. This is one of the best books I have read in a while, I highly reccomend this book to other readers.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great Read - police vs. terrorists

    This is exactly the kind of book I love to read - Well written, interesting plot twists, believable characters who are realistically developed and constant action leading to a climactic conclusion! OK, it's not great literature, but I enjoyed it as a wonderful piece of escapist fiction. Well done, Dick Wolf!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Wow this is great

    Mr Wolf is a Master Story teller and writer both. Intrrcept is as good as any thing from Grisham, Brown, Palmer, Etc. For the first book from his imagination this is great stuff. The characters are beliveable and you can feel their tensions build as this story races to a very real and scary conclusion set against the background of Americas War on Terrorism.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    What better way to begin any year than with a really good book.

    What better way to begin any year than with a really good book.  I was fortunate enough to get my hands on an Advance Reader Copy of Dick Wolf's first novel, The Intercept. If Wolf's name sounds familiar, it should; he created Law & Order. I have been hopelessly hooked on the series in all of its incarnations. When I read that Wolf had written his first novel, I wanted in on that.  And I didn't want to wait.  
    Officially released this month, Wolf sets his novel in his oh-so-familiar setting of New York City. His protagonist for this first book in what promises to be a dynamite new series, is NYPD  detective, Jeremy Fisk who works in the intelligence gathering agency. 
    In The Intercept Fisk is tasked with finding the terrorists who want to destroy the country and cause havoc in New York City. Pulling from today's real-life terrorist organizations, Wolf has created a book with more twists and turns than a roller coaster ride at a fancy theme park.  It helps that Fisk is fluent in Arabic. 

    The award winning creator, writer, director and producer of the longest-running scripted show in television history has created a story worthy of the big screen. It certainly played out in my head like a feature film. 
    Each of the characters is well-drawn and believable and the City itself serves as another character in this well-written novel.  I couldn't stop turning pages and can't wait for the next book in the series.  

    Get yours soon. It's perfect for a long winter's night.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Just buy it!! If you want an awesome read over the holidays this

    Just buy it!! If you want an awesome read over the holidays this is it!  Page turner, exciting.  

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    After being a long time fan of the Law and Order series this boo

    After being a long time fan of the Law and Order series this book was one that holds true to many "twists" as found on the TV series.  I could not put this book down until I finished it.   

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Jeremy is a detective in the New York intelligence division work

    Jeremy is a detective in the New York intelligence division working to prevent another attack like 9/11 on New York City. The plot is complex as befits a plan by bin Laden to avenge the attacks on Islam by the West. Lest you think that THE INTERCEPT is all high-tech gadgetry utilized in the name of police pursuit, there is plenty of characterization to be had here. The Six are quite an interesting and diverse group, and Wolf creates a few intriguing scenarios that are carried out over the course of a few days as The Six are kept in a state that is something more than house arrest (in the Grand Hyatt, no less) and something less than incarceration. Meanwhile, Fisk has a relationship on the down low with Krina Gersten, a fourth-generation NYPD cop who is partnered with him on and off the job. Gersten, along with two other officers, is tasked with guarding The Six, a job that she sees as glorified babysitting but that will become far more by story's end. Wolf's inexperience as a novelist shows through in too many instances to make The Intercept, in my opinion, anything more than an okay read. One key reason for this is that his main character, Jermey Fisk, and most of his secondary characters never really came alive for me. A second major reason is that Wolf's writing style always made me feel that "I was an outsider looking in" regarding the plot rather than as a person "right there" in the middle of the action as it was taking place. And, the third main reason is that while the plot had its share of twists and turns, I found most of them to be predictable but a good read just the same.  All in all, this is an exciting thriller, filled with suspense. It reads a lot like a screenplay. This is no surprise coming as it does from the creator of the Law and Order series. The plot line is over-complex, but this is in keeping with the deviousness of the planned attack. The characterizations could have had more depth but I still had a good sense of who each person was. I hope Mr. Wolf continues to write novels.      

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    All in all, this is an exciting thriller, filled with suspense.

    All in all, this is an exciting thriller, filled with suspense. It reads a lot like a screenplay. This is no surprise coming as it does from the creator of the Law and Order series. The plot line is over-complex, but this is in keeping with the deviousness of the planned attack. The characterizations could have had more depth but I still had a good sense of who each person was. The name "Dick Wolf" should be familiar to you if you have been anywhere near a television in the last decade or so. Wolf, as is more than prominently noted on the cover of his debut novel, is the creator of the critically and commercially acclaimed "Law & Order" television series franchise. I am convinced that at any given hour of the day or night, there are thousands, if not millions, of homes where families are watching a past or present episode of one of its many permutations. Wolf brings his reputation and considerable writing chops to THE INTERCEPT, and the result is a one-sit read with plenty of twists, turns and emotional appeal. Even if you guess what is going to occur in THE INTERCEPT --- and aficionados of the thriller genre may well do so in the book's early stages --- Wolf's sharp characterizations and cinematic descriptions provide plenty of fast-moving, enjoyable and entertaining scenery to keep you occupied from first page to last. More installments are promised, and they cannot arrive quickly enough.   

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Very likeable, fast-paced and believable

    Enjoyed the plot and the characters. Considered a good read for anyone who likes thrillers and mystery. Easy to get engaged, but difficult to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    This book was an absolute page turner. If you like who done it

    This book was an absolute page turner. If you like who done it books. this book is for you because it keeps you guessing on who is actually behind it and how they plan to achieve it which you don't find out until the last couple of chapters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Spellbinding!  Mind Boggling and a page turner.   I left The Int

    Spellbinding!  Mind Boggling and a page turner.   I left The Intercept to be my bedtime reading book and that wasn't the smartest thing to do.   I would read until I was thoroughly tense and then I had to read even more before I could settle down and close my eyes,   At one point I was so invested in the story, I felt like I crept into the arms of a panic attack, just empathizing with the Six.    It was so easy to love the six who fought off a terrorist trying to take down their flight.   They were successful in preventing the attack and then became America's newest sweethearts of the day, being hailed as national heroes!




    Those police detectives serving to protect the six, and FBI agents investigating the occurence knew there was going to be a terrorist attack on the fourth of July, a national holiday, but who was the perpetrator and what was the target?     The suspense grew steadily and right down to the wire when the treacherous one was revealed.   He had left a bloody trail behind and a sadness for those who so easily gave up their lives and those who went out fighting all the way.   The plot was strong, the intelligence commander was like a cat chasing its tail, until finally, the last piece of the puzzle dropped succinctly into place.   The characters were strong and held the attention of this reader late into the night.  

    I thoroughly enjoyed Wolf's writing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    This is the lst book by Dick Wolf. Can't wait to read the next

    This is the lst book by Dick Wolf. Can't wait to read the next book. He uses actual events and his characters are so believable, I felt I was right there in the middle of the action. Don't hesitate to read these great books. The only thing is.....you won't be able to put them down. Well done!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    This book was excellent and I enjoyed every minute of it.

    This book was excellent and I enjoyed every minute of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Good read

    Its been awhile since a good and thought out read has come out. This was a keep reading book I liked it from the start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Ashe

    I pee what do I do? Wipe?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Does anyone play a game called Fantage?

    If u do can u plz buddy me an hang out with me? Im purplemonkey003

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Good book

    Suspense til the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    This was a very good book and I highly recommend it.

    This was the first time I read this author. With more then 3 decades in the law enforcement field I was hesitant because I don't read LE type books. I was basing this on his writings of Law and Order (A factual presentation of law enforcement)
    I do, however, read espionage type thrillers. This book was a real surprise. It kept me on the edge of the seat and I read it quickly. I immediately became a Wolf fan.

    This was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone who likes thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Terrific chase for a terrorist or terriorists of a plane heading for N. Y.

    Quite an adventure of "Law and Order" author Dick Wolf. Great info into the workings of the Police, FBI, Secret Service. CIA, you name it, to catch the highjacker, with lots and lots of twists and unexpected turns. A great story that keeps you riveted to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    A Very good book to read

    This book keeps you in suspense with all of its twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6