Customer Reviews for

The Interestings: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully written!

Wonderfully written!

posted by 17010158 on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality wit

Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality with this one. We lived the life Meg Wolitzer is TRYING to describe, coming to NYC in 1973, joining the arts and business worlds, having the dreams of the young in NY and trying many things. But NEVER did we s...
Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality with this one. We lived the life Meg Wolitzer is TRYING to describe, coming to NYC in 1973, joining the arts and business worlds, having the dreams of the young in NY and trying many things. But NEVER did we speak like the dialogue in this book, or have friends like these. This is nonsense, poorly written, and certainly NOT the way we lived. I was reading portions to my wife, and all she did was laugh and say JUNK! I agree. Sadly, I got a refund and removed the book from my eBook library. Don't waste your time on this trivial nonsense, it's not based on real life at all. We had, and continue to have , a MUCH MORE INTERESTING LIFE than the tritely characterized people in this very trite book. Save your hard earned $!!

posted by juliusa on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Story....but a could use some editing

    I enjoyed the writing and the story for about 2/3 of the book. After that it became a bit predictable. Still a fun read.

    I enjoyed Meg's ability to go back and forth between current time and anticipated time.

    Overall an easy and pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I am so glad that so many other people have not found this book

    I am so glad that so many other people have not found this book "interesting". She is a good writer, but the characters are not interesting and neither is the story. I do not understand how this book got so much hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great book

    Loved this book about a group of friends who meet at an arts camp andbecome forever friends..and for good reasons. Esp. Loved relationship between Jules and Ethan. Sad when story was over, next Meg Wolitzer book please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Pretty good read

    I enjoyed this book. There were parts that weren't as interesting to me as others, but overall it kept my attention. I really wanted to find out what happened with the characters and their relationships at the end of the book. It isn't particularly light and uplifting overall, so if that's what you're looking for this isn't a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Only OK...

    I was really intrigued to read The Interestings and I wanted to know what happened to the characters but this book was pretty boring. I didn't love any of the characters - I really just wanted to skip to the end to see what happened and wish I did - I don't think I would have missed anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Well Written

    No plot. Not that interesting except that the main character looked like Phillip Seymour Hoffman in my mind's eye and then PSH died shortly after finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    No so interesting

    While Meg Wolitzer writes well, it is hard to care about her protagonist, Jules. She is about as ordinary and uninteresting as a major character can be. She is not even likeable. The other characters were somewhat more interesting, but I still didn't care about them. I read through the book out of curiosity about what happens to them, but that, too, wasn't particularly interesting and a letdown. I know the Berkshire Arts Camp and New York milieus, but the story didn't speak to me in any way. Why these individuals would have connected with each other in any way is certainly not obvious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    What a waste of time

    I kept thinking the book would get better but it didn't. Boring, narcissistic characters, not one of whom is likable. I finally had to stop reading it at page 350 when I realized I couldn't care less how it ended. I give up on maybe 1 book out of 200 but just couldn't waste any more time slogging through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Not great

    This book is not great, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Not Interesting, don't bother

    Our book club chose this book because it had such a good review. We all found it very bland and uninteresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jules Jacobson is a fifteen-year-old who just lost her father. H

    Jules Jacobson is a fifteen-year-old who just lost her father. Her mother sends Jules to a performing arts camp, hoping to get her away from the sadness. There Jules meets and falls in with a group of wealthy, artistic teens- siblings handsome Goodman and beautiful Ash, sad, introverted guitar player Josh, dancer Cathy and witty, geeky Ethan. They become a tight knit group and their lives become entwined until an incident occurs that threatens to tear them all apart and forces them to take sides. Ethan and Ash end up together and Ethan becomes wealthy and famous, while Jules struggles financially and artistically.
    As someone who came of age at the same time as Jules in the 1970s, I felt very connected to these characters. Wolitzer perfectly captures how it feels to be the outsider in a group, as well as the longing for success and what happens when the reality of your life doesn't meet the fantasy you have created. Wolitzer confronts what happens to young people when people expect too much- or not enough- from them. We all have roles that we end up playing, but what happens when they don't match up to who we really are inside?
    The books covers much of the characters' adult lives, so we see them fall in love, start families, have career successes and failures. There is so much here, and Wolitzer's characters feel like people we could know in our own lives. The writing is so gorgeous, and the setting of New York City is the perfect place for this group of golden ones to explore life as young adults. My favorite character is Dennis, the only one who seems to be truly authentic and honest about himself.
    The Interestings has been placed on many Best of 2013 lists, including Amazon's best literature and fiction, and is sure to be on many more before the end of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    This is a good, but definitely not great book and did not live u

    This is a good, but definitely not great book and did not live up to the hype.  The characters are interesting and well developed (if unlikable). The plot is fairly predictable and not that interesting  about a group of friends that meet as teenagers and how their lives & relationships evolve over the years.  I do like how real life events are woven into the story lines.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I absolutely loved this story.  It felt funny and wise and heart

    I absolutely loved this story.  It felt funny and wise and heart-breaking, and reminded me vividly of a much younger self. I am very happy to have it on my shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "The only option for a creative person was constant motion

    "The only option for a creative person was constant motion - a lifetime of busy whirligigging in a generally forward direction, until you couldn’t do it any longer." 

    The end of any major, shared experience, especially one which coincides with the end of adolescence, is bound to induce some degree of ennui. In The Interestings, Meg Wolitzer has shown how this impacts the lives of six friends. Time and time again, the author shows how well she understands the creative personality type, especially as these characters grapple with the varying levels (and definitions) of success among them.

    I took to Wolitzer's writing immediately, her intuitive and compelling perceptions of her characters' unfolding lives. Her storytelling is delivered in a way I found captivating: Time spiraled forward, overlapping slightly, circling around again, then moving forward and repeating. It reminded me of the Spirograph kits that were so popular when I was a kid (and incidentally, during the time these characters were at camp).

    One especially touching moment for me was when Jules was straightening the house before her friend Ash came to visit. Jules's mother realizes that she is doing so because she's embarrassed by the modest home. Then Jules notices that her mom has made that realization, that she may have caused embarrassment where there was none before. Multiple impressions of the same moment; readers are treated to this kind of depth throughout the novel.

    My only grievance was the undercurrent of petty jabs toward one particular political leaning (for the record, not one to which I belong). These subtle derisions were part of the general narrative, not attached to a particular character or enhancing the story. They were usually easy to dismiss. But there was one aimed at Reagan in his Alzheimer's-stricken old age that I felt was such a low blow, even the beautiful writing around it couldn't temper its ugly spirit.

    The Interestings is a fully fleshed-out, character-driven novel, and a long one at that (just shy of 500 pages). I found the characters' lives realistic and fairly interesting, but for the most part, the storytelling itself is what kept me engaged. My rating: 3 1/2 stars.

    I received a copy of this book through a giveaway held by Riffle Fiction. A review was not requested or expected; I did not receive any compensation for this honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Not as advertised

    The premise is interesting though the story boring and whiney. The period references seemed forced and not relevent. It was definitely not worth the expense or the time. I am not sure that I read the same book the reviewers read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    Following the lives of interesting people in this book was indee

    Following the lives of interesting people in this book was indeed, interesting. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Not a book I can recommend. Writing was slow and failed to kee

    Not a book I can recommend. Writing was slow and failed to keep my interest. Struggled to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    The Interestings

    This is a wonderful summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended

    All the reviews said it was a great book and it was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6