Customer Reviews for

The Interestings

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully written!

Wonderfully written!

posted by 17010158 on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality wit

Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality with this one. We lived the life Meg Wolitzer is TRYING to describe, coming to NYC in 1973, joining the arts and business worlds, having the dreams of the young in NY and trying many things. But NEVER did we s...
Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality with this one. We lived the life Meg Wolitzer is TRYING to describe, coming to NYC in 1973, joining the arts and business worlds, having the dreams of the young in NY and trying many things. But NEVER did we speak like the dialogue in this book, or have friends like these. This is nonsense, poorly written, and certainly NOT the way we lived. I was reading portions to my wife, and all she did was laugh and say JUNK! I agree. Sadly, I got a refund and removed the book from my eBook library. Don't waste your time on this trivial nonsense, it's not based on real life at all. We had, and continue to have , a MUCH MORE INTERESTING LIFE than the tritely characterized people in this very trite book. Save your hard earned $!!

posted by juliusa on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality wit

    Sorry, but once again the hype is much more than the reality with this one. We lived the life Meg Wolitzer is TRYING to describe, coming to NYC in 1973, joining the arts and business worlds, having the dreams of the young in NY and trying many things. But NEVER did we speak like the dialogue in this book, or have friends like these. This is nonsense, poorly written, and certainly NOT the way we lived. I was reading portions to my wife, and all she did was laugh and say JUNK! I agree. Sadly, I got a refund and removed the book from my eBook library. Don't waste your time on this trivial nonsense, it's not based on real life at all. We had, and continue to have , a MUCH MORE INTERESTING LIFE than the tritely characterized people in this very trite book. Save your hard earned $!!

    11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Awful

    Avoid this book unless you like trivia. "We went walking in Central Park. X made a good dinner. We got a nice Christmas card." Come on! Where is the story?? NOT Interestings.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Wonderfully written!

    Wonderfully written!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Waste of money & time

    Depressing trash. The author is sick to even imagine these unreal characters. I was depressed for a week after reading it.
    If you want to torture someone give them this "gem."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    It is an OK read

    The name of the book, the cover and the storyline caught my attention. However, by the end of this book I found it to be just "interesting" . The characters were not developed deeply enough for me and some were barely developed at all. Boiled own to the basics, The Interestings is a book of one girl's/woman's struggle, through much of her life, with envy and jealousy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    The first section of the book outlines six teenagers who meet at

    The first section of the book outlines six teenagers who meet at a summer camp for the arts. We get to know them and how they become close friends and begin life-long relationships with each other. This portion of the book goes slowly as a long set-up to what comes later. Everything starts to change with a serious, possibly criminal, incident created by one, but affecting all, as they begin adulthood and their relationships become more complex. And love, marriage, careers, failures, successes, etc., continue to develop the relationships of these six. And, of course, not all ends well. The story is interesting, the characters mostly well-developed, the plot moves along without suspense or speed. I will say that some of the story suggests soul-searching and looking back at how our own relationships develop and transition, how much friendship plays roles in our lives. It was good reading, but didn't fit my normal preference for more plot and a faster pace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Sure, it is not the most realistic story in the world, but the dynamics between the friends and internal struggles of the characters are universal. I would definitely recommend this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    If you were born in the 60's this is your life

    I had many experiences that duplicated those in the book and so I guess I kept adding the missing pieces in my imagination, consequently when I came to the end of the book I kept thinking about the characters and wondering how they were doing now. The book was well written and had maybe a few points of repetition, and if I were the editor, I would have taken out about 50 pages, but otherwise I was engaged throughout and would highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Not interesting.

    Clunky and repetitive

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    So Be

    Beautifullwritty
    Beautifully written story of a group of friends traced from teenage through middle age years- Their individual and shared experiences shape who they become what they value-







    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Story....but a could use some editing

    I enjoyed the writing and the story for about 2/3 of the book. After that it became a bit predictable. Still a fun read.

    I enjoyed Meg's ability to go back and forth between current time and anticipated time.

    Overall an easy and pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I am so glad that so many other people have not found this book

    I am so glad that so many other people have not found this book "interesting". She is a good writer, but the characters are not interesting and neither is the story. I do not understand how this book got so much hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great book

    Loved this book about a group of friends who meet at an arts camp andbecome forever friends..and for good reasons. Esp. Loved relationship between Jules and Ethan. Sad when story was over, next Meg Wolitzer book please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Pretty good read

    I enjoyed this book. There were parts that weren't as interesting to me as others, but overall it kept my attention. I really wanted to find out what happened with the characters and their relationships at the end of the book. It isn't particularly light and uplifting overall, so if that's what you're looking for this isn't a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Only OK...

    I was really intrigued to read The Interestings and I wanted to know what happened to the characters but this book was pretty boring. I didn't love any of the characters - I really just wanted to skip to the end to see what happened and wish I did - I don't think I would have missed anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Well Written

    No plot. Not that interesting except that the main character looked like Phillip Seymour Hoffman in my mind's eye and then PSH died shortly after finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    No so interesting

    While Meg Wolitzer writes well, it is hard to care about her protagonist, Jules. She is about as ordinary and uninteresting as a major character can be. She is not even likeable. The other characters were somewhat more interesting, but I still didn't care about them. I read through the book out of curiosity about what happens to them, but that, too, wasn't particularly interesting and a letdown. I know the Berkshire Arts Camp and New York milieus, but the story didn't speak to me in any way. Why these individuals would have connected with each other in any way is certainly not obvious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    What a waste of time

    I kept thinking the book would get better but it didn't. Boring, narcissistic characters, not one of whom is likable. I finally had to stop reading it at page 350 when I realized I couldn't care less how it ended. I give up on maybe 1 book out of 200 but just couldn't waste any more time slogging through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Not great

    This book is not great, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Not Interesting, don't bother

    Our book club chose this book because it had such a good review. We all found it very bland and uninteresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4