Customer Reviews for

The Invention of Wings: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair a

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review – but OMG was I excited when I did receive it because it’s an Oprah’s Book pick and I read alllll of her choices!

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd is the kind of book that makes you...
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review – but OMG was I excited when I did receive it because it’s an Oprah’s Book pick and I read alllll of her choices!

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd is the kind of book that makes you want to be a better person.

The newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 pick is incredibly moving. The story is told in dual narrative, following Sarah Grimke and a slave named Hetty “Handful” Grimke in the 1800s.

Sarah is given Hetty as a gift for her eleventh birthday, and even at that young age, Sarah believes that slavery is immoral. But Sarah is caught in the Charleston upper class lifestyle and is useless in making a change. So she rebels the way she can, giving Hetty the freedom of literacy.
Sarah evolves, trying to turn into someone she wants to be: a strong, independent woman, but her dreams are pushed down by everyone, including her family.

Only when Sarah leaves the comforts of the South does she truly begin to understand the power that individual voices can have.

At the same time, Hetty changes from young, rebellious slave girl to becoming a strong, still rebellious, woman.

Both Sarah and Hetty’s stories are mesmerizing. Hetty is such a strong, spunky character who was so much like her mother: unwilling to bow down to every need and want from the master/missus.

And then Sarah went fully against her own culture and society in order to fight for what she believed in – equality of all people, no matter the sex or race.

Sue Monk Kidd’s The Invention of Wings is a book that makes me want to get out there and make a difference, to take a stand for a cause I truly believe it.

The Invention of Wings is inspirational. So pick up this novel and get a little inspired yourself.

What cause do you think is necessary to fight for?

Thanks for reading, 

Rebecca @ Love at First Book

posted by RebeccaScaglione on January 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

I find the "highlighted by Oprah" text to be very dist

I find the "highlighted by Oprah" text to be very distracting to the reading of this book.  I would not have purchased it if I had understood that all the highlighted text would hinder my reading and enjoyment of this book.  Won't purchase books with this &quo...
I find the "highlighted by Oprah" text to be very distracting to the reading of this book.  I would not have purchased it if I had understood that all the highlighted text would hinder my reading and enjoyment of this book.  Won't purchase books with this "feature" again.  How do I get a copy without the distracting highlighting?

posted by CallyB1 on January 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    I find the "highlighted by Oprah" text to be very dist

    I find the "highlighted by Oprah" text to be very distracting to the reading of this book.  I would not have purchased it if I had understood that all the highlighted text would hinder my reading and enjoyment of this book.  Won't purchase books with this "feature" again.  How do I get a copy without the distracting highlighting?

    45 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    I found the highlighted notes by Oprah to be extremely distracti

    I found the highlighted notes by Oprah to be extremely distracting, thus robbing me of the enjoyment of reading this book.
    Rather unfortunate, as there doesn't seem to be another version of this nook book available.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Didn't finish; got tired of Oprah in the first quarter. Don't ca

    Didn't finish; got tired of Oprah in the first quarter. Don't care what OW thought was meaningful or how she was moved.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Really?

    Really Barnes and Noble? Don't include copyright, contents, etc. as part of the samples. This was a five page sample and hardly enough for a reader to make a decision to purchase the book or not. This seriously has me wondering if I should have gone with Kindle instead of Nook.
    '

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Bad

    I read part of this book and quit because of overwhelming lies in it. I know it is supposed to be fiction, but writing such lies about the degree of the horror of slavery and saying that everyone suffered it is just stirring the racial pot. I threw my book in the trash and had to gargle to wash the bad taste oit of my mouth. It was atrocious.

    5 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Notes are distracting!

    I wish I had realized this was not the original format. Sections are highlighted in blue throughout the book and distracts from the flow of reading. Also impossible to read if viewing with "night" text, which is when I do most of my reading. Waste of $12.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Woud like to know why, if I prefer to read a book without Oprah'

    Woud like to know why, if I prefer to read a book without Oprah's intrusive comments, I have to pay more.Seriously, the non-annotated edition is more expensive. What an ego! Oprah, keep your comments to yourself and let me rad in peace. I actually have my own thoughts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    ugh

    couldn't get past page 30

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Why, oh why must we be forced to know Oprahs thoughts on this? I

    Why, oh why must we be forced to know Oprahs thoughts on this? I am actually a fan of Ms. Winfrey however
     I am a thoughtful person and  having a brain of my own, do not need someone elses insights-unasked. Please, please, please,
    publish no more books in this format. Hatefully distracting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Way over-rated.  I think she's riding on Oprah's coat-tails.  Th

    Way over-rated.  I think she's riding on Oprah's coat-tails.  The characters are one-dimensional, poorly developed.  Ms. Kidd tells rather than shows.  The book has no "suspense" to drive the reader forward in reading. Save your money and buy something else.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    When a friend told me about this book, it did not sound like something
    I would enjoy . However, I kept reading reviews of it and finally
    realized I might like it. And I did! It was a great story, wrapping
    fiction around true events and people. Sarah and Hetty were both
    intelligent young women ,constrained by the rules and beliefs of
    the time in which they lived. I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This book was hard to put down. Excellently writen.
    Enjoyed every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Who cares what Oprah thinks?  I bought the book to read a novel.

    Who cares what Oprah thinks?  I bought the book to read a novel.......not Winfrey's predictable comments.  Won't  finish book with all those distractions.i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Doesn't open.

    This file will not open at all in the older style Nook, and is apparently a known issue. I wish Barnes and Nobles would indicate this somewhere instead of continuing to sell the book which many will not be able to read after purchasing! Very unhappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Kidd's "The Secret of Bees" is one of my all time favorites. This book does not disappoint. Her caharacters are based on real people/ The story is based on reality. A little know story of sisters who changed the world and went unremembered until now. Beautifully written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Ez Excellent

    Who ever sd that they had this is wrong. Because they sd that they had this on January 24,2014 is wrong so do not say that you had this on January 24,2014is WRONG THAT THEY HAD THIS NOOK ON JANUARY 24,2014 IS WRONG

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I didnt even read the book

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2