Customer Reviews for

The Iron Butterfly

Average Rating 4.5
( 814 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(584)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I was so drawn in that I was almost suprized when the book ened...I imediately Googled the Author to see when the next one would be released (becuase there must be a sequel) and was disapointed to find that it is "coming soon". I wish she would post a date because I wan...
I was so drawn in that I was almost suprized when the book ened...I imediately Googled the Author to see when the next one would be released (becuase there must be a sequel) and was disapointed to find that it is "coming soon". I wish she would post a date because I want to buy it the minute its avaliable. Chanda is a new favorite of mine and the unenchanted & fairest books were also captivating...waiting on that series to continue as well!

posted by April_83 on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

it was a good book but i have one thing i have to say to the aut

it was a good book but i have one thing i have to say to the author; women do not have adams apples that is why it is called adams apple after adam of adam and eve. You say that thalia felt the knife against her adams apple and that is not possible. sorry but that reall...
it was a good book but i have one thing i have to say to the author; women do not have adams apples that is why it is called adams apple after adam of adam and eve. You say that thalia felt the knife against her adams apple and that is not possible. sorry but that really bothered me.

posted by kk32 on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are times when you start a book by a favorite author that

    There are times when you start a book by a favorite author that you may start feeling a little a disappointed with it's beginning and fear that the rest of the story may well be the same. But then, the further you go into the story you read the familiar aspects that made the author one of your favorites and hence pick up the book. I feared being disappointed with The Iron Butterfly, but by the end I was totally engrossed in the story and will definitely pick up the next book.




    What gave me the feeling of possible disappointment was the beginning. It was a little slow, having to give a backdrop of Thalia's experiences and personality. Even once they reached the Citadel and her being settled there, the pace was still unhurried. This is the point where you may decide to not continue on, but I am so glad I stuck with it. Once it started to focus on Thalia's plight, both figuring out what she is, what's she's capable of and the interactions she has with Joss, Kael, and Syrani, the story really picks up and you can't help but be caught up in it.




    If you have read Hahn's other series (UnFortunate Fairy Tale series), you will recognize details that were present there such as the outcast, self doubting heroine, the enigmatic stranger/ally, charming and caring potential love interest, and the popular girl bullying the heroine all interacting against the backdrop of fighting against a dangerous presence set on destroying the heroine. It's very easy for it to be repetitive and dull, but Hahn manages to do the opposite and write a story that may have similar motifs but be a great story on its own merit. 




    This is a well written, creative story that captures your attention. When you reach the end you are left wanting to read more and find out what happens. I am happy to say that despite my initial misgivings, I am very pleased with the book and will definitely be reading the next book in the series.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Hi

    Love it so much!!!!!but there is so much detail that it gets confusing

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great free book!

    Stats: 700+ nook pages. Free! Fantasy/SciFi with dash of YA romance. A great plot with interesting characters. FYI the second book is around $3 but only has 200 pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Didn't know what to expect from the book's short overview, but I

    Didn't know what to expect from the book's short overview, but I found myself pleasantly surprised with the story. Sure at times I wanted to yell and scream at Thalia but overall I found her to be a strong character that developed and changed as the story went on. After finishing this book I readily bought the sequel. 
    For a free ebook it was very good, it wasn't short nor did it drag on in my opinion. Worth getting. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Wow!

    Loved this whole series, thanks for the free book...and great deals on the next two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    this book was very good. I will definitely be reading book 2. I

    this book was very good. I will definitely be reading book 2. I need to know more about kael. kael left a huge impression on me. he was one bad @$$ swordbrother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Not a review

    Ok so this is not a review ok!?!? I just want to say that that CH works vary hard on her books and i read some realy trashy coments like "teachers should hand out red pens and random pages of this book to learn editing". That was just plain mean ok? If you have a prob please keep it to your self and be nice so sometimes it hard to understand thats why you read the book 2 times and go AHHHH! I get it now and the whole thing is under standable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I am seeing a funky trend with this writer where there are two g

    I am seeing a funky trend with this writer where there are two guys competing for one girl. One is sweet, caring, and a stand up guy, and the other is rude, offensive, and downright verbally abusive and yet the female character seems to be drawn to the jerk. I am not sure this is a positive message to send to young readers. Sure the guy you like is a jack a** but just stick it out with him, and he will come around. He is only being a jerk, because he has feelings for you. Really? Again. not sure this is a positive message to send to young girls, but than again, who knows which guy she will wind up with.
    I loved how long the book was, but there were typo
    s and I already know that the second book has typos and is 1/4 the size of the free book. Not happy with the idea of paying for a tiny book, but this is where Chanda Hahn tests what a great writer she is, and how loyal her fans are. The book pulls you in and than rudely dumps you back into reality, confused and just wanting the adventure to continue. I hope this girl really faces the Septori and learns to no longer be afraid. Great book, and despite the second book being so short, I will still get it. Looking forward to Fable as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Different! Good

    Good book, had to start the second one and then finish it. Enjoyed enough that I wish the next one was out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A

    Good story, though it reads like a romance novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is well crafted, peopled with interesting characters,

    This book is well crafted, peopled with interesting characters, and full mysteries. When we first meet Thalia she was imprisoned in a cell, routinely being subjected to unspeakable tortures. And she was not alone, though she was the only one that continued to survive.

    What happens next is not particularly surprising or the story would have been very short. However the way it happens plays heavily into Thalia's future. And there is still more to that mystery than we've yet learned.

    Having no memory of her life prior to being a prisoner, at least none other than her first name, Thalia doesn't know where she belongs. The people who later find her bring them back to the Citadel with them to answer questions about what was done to her, as clearly the other children she had been with had been missed by their families. People knew something was going on, just not what or why. . .

    The Citadel is the impregnable fortress where the Denai train. The Denai all have different gifts, but they are magical in nature and something no human possesses. The decision is made to keep Thalia at the Citadel while efforts are made to locate her family. And though the story was cruising along it is at this point for me that it became a book I didn't want to put down, regardless of needing sleep for work the next day.

    This is a gripping tale, filled with action, mysteries, and even some budding romance(s). The arc of the story flows smoothly once Thalia begins moving, and for all the action there is still solid character development as well. Ms. Hahn has created a vivid world for us to enjoy. As I imagine it must be quite clear, I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel! Easily a 4+ for stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good read!

    The more I read from Chanda Hahn, the more I like!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    This was a great dystopian story, with a bit of romance added in

    This was a great dystopian story, with a bit of romance added in. The characters are strong and well defined. The story line is strong, and reads so well. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    awesome read

    Really enjoyed these books can't waitfor next ones to come out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Very Different.

    Good book. Interesting outlook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    I wishthe third book would come out soon. The ending left me wanting more. It was so captivating. You should really read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    Very happy I picked this book! I liked the sequel Steele Wolf even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    definately recommend it

    A little different and very enjoyable. Keeps you reading. Thank you Author & Barnes and Noble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    !!!

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Loved it, great characters, good story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7