Customer Reviews for

The Iron Wyrm Affair (Bannon and Clare Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Good

Well written and interesting, with quick pacing and unique, well-developed characters. Interesting twist on Sherlock Holmes with a Steampunk bent.

posted by 10651597 on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

As a fan of Gail Carriager's Parasol Protectorate series I was hoping this could be just as good. Unfotunately, I was disappointed. The character and world devlopment are poor at best.

posted by halfpintlady on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Very Good

    Well written and interesting, with quick pacing and unique, well-developed characters. Interesting twist on Sherlock Holmes with a Steampunk bent.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Don't bother

    As a fan of Gail Carriager's Parasol Protectorate series I was hoping this could be just as good. Unfotunately, I was disappointed. The character and world devlopment are poor at best.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Not so much...

    I really like Lilith Saintcrow. Maybe you will like this book if you like steampunk. I found it slow, confusing and not at all engaging. I didn't bother to finish it and I hardly ever do that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    London in a new light, full of magic and clockworks with a strong murder mystery to solve!

    Emma Bannon might have been a late to save one unregistered mentath, but she was in time to save Archibald Clare. Though they will have to fight sorcery to keep him safe, that's where Emma comes in - a Prime Sorceress. The Queen relies on sorcerers and mentath's to help her run the country. Someone has been killing registered mentath's of the Queens, and now moved on to unregistered ones. Clare does not feel he was fully the focus after the first attack in the presence of Emma. Maybe the focus on sorcery too?

    A story with an alternate Victorian Era of elegance, full of crafted magic, touch of steampunk style mystery, and a cunning of Sherlock Holmes creating a memorable and stunning partnership of Emma Bannon and Archibald Clare. I am a magic lover. I also truly enjoy the Victorian Era feel with steam accents. Blend them together and I'm sold! Lilith blows you away with the combination and an intriguing murder mystery.

    Each paragraph is compacted with details of every angle. The world grows, the characters grow. The case reveals. Every word is needed to feel the creation here.

    I enjoyed the Prelude. Clare and Bannon first meeting as Clare is called to the Queen by Bannon's visit. Ooooo, makes me curious of Clare and his history along with the strong-ness present in Bannon. When danger is afoot for Clare. We learn quick as the story takes off and doesn't slow with the information or action.

    I was taken with the term mentath. See, Clare is a mentath. Mentath's are like walking talking calculators and logic analysts. He reads everything from reactions of people to encyclopedias and deduces logical answers. And he's right! But magic throws a wrench in the gears of his thinking process. For any mentath actually. Clare handles the "logic" of magic rather well...but does find an aspect that doesn't compute for him. When this happens, a mentath can be lost in their minds. Emma finds Clare is unexpectedly digesting magic easier than any mentath has, and could use his logic and calculating to find the murderer.

    Now we have the magical side of things. Oh, I don't know where to start to describe this best. Emma is a special brand and branch of magic. It is so COOL! to see her at her best (or worst she might thing). The wave of magic that flows through the city each morning. The powers present. Wow. The Queen and the country...WOW! Emma is strong and a protector. yet, she still wonders about her Shield, her protector that fights to protect her as she is one of many valued sorcerers, with his history.

    We get to see the thinking and reasoning from both Emma Bannon and Archibald Clare, Sorceress and Mentath. Two completely different takes on things and the world. Magic and Calculating. We get a chapter from both point of views, moving the story and mystery forward at a solid pace.

    This book is worth picking up. It's heavy with amazing building and story.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    If you love Sherlock Holmes...

    A great book filled with brilliant deduction, excitement, and suspense. I can't wait to find out where the series leads us! The steam punk genre twist on classic Sherlock Holmes flair is a fresh outlook on the era.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Terrific read

    LOVED this book. As with all of Saintcrow's work, great story, vivid scenes...only issue I have is being forced to wait for the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    The plotting was solid enough, but the writing felt very choppy,

    The plotting was solid enough, but the writing felt very choppy, and for
    some reason was hard to follow. Also, the heroine was just too cold
    emotionally and was too over the top as a magical "superhero"
    to be believable. Still the steam punk elements of quirky machines were
    intriguingly combined with dragons and gryphons, even though with so
    many different elements at times it felt like the author was throwing in
    everything but the kitchen sink. If this is the start a series I enjoyed
    it enough to give the second one a try.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ambivilent about this book

    I really enjoy weird twists on fantasy, but this book was just too difficult to read. The story was interesting and I persevered as I was invested enough to care about the characters and what happened to them. Most books of this sort have an appendix to define the terms (all make up by the author) but this author just expects you to "wing it". It was kind of like reading a really good story in your second language, which you are not proficient at.
    I probably won't read another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Worth sticking out..

    I enjoyed the book but found it a little confusing since I did not
    grow up in England and wasn't used to a lot of the terminology..
    I did use my Nook dictionary quite often, thus increasing my
    vocabulary...
    This is not a book you can put down and pick up in a week. You need
    to stay with it.. I will definitely read the 2nd book in the series to see what happens to the characters.
    I only rated it 4 stars because of my inability to understand some of
    the dialog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Complex, Entertaining Magical Steampunk

    Fascinating characters and rich world-building make for a dense, enjoyable adventure. I love the relationship between Emma and her Shield, Mikal. Clare is a great homage to Sherlock Holmes. Even the secondary characters are a lot of fun. My only real complaints are the lack of a map and a glossary; a prologue would have been helpful, too.

    Highly recommended, but *not* to steampunk novices. The author does not coddle her readers; she drops the reader into the middle of the story and expects you to keep up. -- lyradora

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Ap liturature all over again

    Life is stressful enough. I read for leisure. I dont feel very leisurly when i have no clue what most of the references are and no way to really tease it out in context. While i would recommend a readers guide for it i would still not be inclined to read. I cross reference texts at work. Not at home.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Good Read

    It was a good read but very different from her previous series. Enjoyed and definitely want more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Great

    Another great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Challenging, Outstanding read

    If you like your story spoon-fed to you, don't read this book. If you like multke storyline that interweave and come to a glrious conclusion... then this us the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This is a challenging and ultimately fulfilling novel, written i

    This is a challenging and ultimately fulfilling novel, written in appropriate steampunk language. The characters are   introduced in a manner consistent with victorian literature, that is, by their actions, which may be why some of the reviewers here may think that the characters are not well developed. In fact, Emma is meant to be mysterious, and it is only developed later in this bookand in its sequel why she is so distant from those she cares about. The tale is part adventure, part mystery and it engages the careful reader in a magical alternate reality where fantastical creatures and magic live side by side with trained scientific mentaths. I highly recommend this book to all who enjoy having their minds challenged by  good writing and good fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Interesting Read

    This book turned into a very interesting read. Maybe because this was my first experience with this author, but after I got used to the style I really became hooked and wanted to continue reading. Can't wait for the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Spellbinding Story

    A spellbinding story of unlikely heroines and heroes. Rather a dark setting and time where magic and mechanics are commonplace. Where the sane do battle with the insane. Add some mythical creatures and the story's twists and turns keep the reader fully engrossed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Hard to get into

    This has a lot of fantasy and sorcery mixed into a mystery. Not my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Ok read..but not getting into the series

    Storyline was ok but much of the terminology was hard to follow. Forced myself to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    An uninteresting, slow-going read.

    I found this book to be slow-paced and not very interesting. I can usually read anything but this book is slow going for me. I have been chipping away at it for a few weeks now and just can't get into it. It kind of jumps from one thought to other ideas that are not explained adequately, and feels like another book should have come before it to kind of introduce what some of these magical terms and situations are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3