Customer Reviews for

Ironwood Tree (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it's A very good chapter book.

The Spiderwick Chronicles IV is one of my favorite books. The story is about Mallory, Simon, and Jared Grace. One day Mallory was at fencing practice when she won. But goes in locker room and Jared saw double of himself the then his double...
The Spiderwick Chronicles IV is one of my favorite books. The story is about Mallory, Simon, and Jared Grace. One day Mallory was at fencing practice when she won. But goes in locker room and Jared saw double of himself the then his double turn into dust then Jared fines out that Mulgarath is looking for the field guide and then A army of ogre are coming to try get the guide will Jared stop Mulgarath

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ironwood tree

It was ok. I have never read any of these books but they were ok.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Ironwood tree

    It was ok. I have never read any of these books but they were ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    it's A very good chapter book.

    The Spiderwick Chronicles IV is one of my favorite books. The story is about Mallory, Simon, and Jared Grace. One day Mallory was at fencing practice when she won. But goes in locker room and Jared saw double of himself the then his double turn into dust then Jared fines out that Mulgarath is looking for the field guide and then A army of ogre are coming to try get the guide will Jared stop Mulgarath

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    The most wonderful book!!!

    This is a perfect book! As soon as I opend it I fell into a world of magic, goblins, hobgoblins,griffins Ect.Ect.Ect!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    these books are awesome

    This series rules,i love it is so full of adventure,and it feels like as it were really happening

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Best Book Out of the Series

    I was totaly obsessed with these books about three years ago. This book was my absolute favorite out of anything and it's still my favorite out of the series. I was very sad when they cut this out of the movie and vowed never to see another movie on a book I really like, minus Harry Potter, again. I think that this book is absolutly amazing, I would highly recomend it, but read the series first, ofcource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My Daughter loves this series

    There is great attention to detail and the characters are well defined. Jared really gets into a lot of trouble in this book. There is something that can change forms to look like anybody it wants too. My daughter loves the adventures these kids have with the goblins, trolls, and the entire make-believe world. I love the pictures in the book. They are very detailed and help young readers see what is happening and how the creatures look. I like the map in the beginning of each book. My daughter looks to see where the characters are when they move locations. It is a very captivating series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    It was okay.

    When I read the book, it was sort of like Star Wars, but in a different world. The characters were fictional, which makes stories better in my opinion. For instance, I think there were a couple of trolls in the story. I was in the 6th grade, I can't remember much of it. I just remember the book being okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    sixth grade review

    The main character in the Spiderwick Chronicles is Simon. Simon is the one that found Arthur¿s field guide. When Simon found the field guide some strange events happened. The only bad part is when he opened the book he let out very suspicious monsters.<BR/><BR/> The plot of this story is that Simon, Jared, and Mallory need to defeat the bad guys which are goblins. They use the field guide to help them through the journey. Sometimes Thimbultack can play tricks on them and he could almost lose the book. The only solution to the story is that they use the book wisely.<BR/><BR/> The setting of the story is in a town and the time is modern day. Some other places are in the forest. The area they are in the most is in the city at home. The theme of the story is that you don¿t trust everyone you see.<BR/><BR/> I like the Spiderwick Chronicles because it is very entertaining. It has billions of superb word choices. Have some awesome creatures like the goblins. The best one is that it has only a few pictures so you know what the character looks like.<BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/><BR/> Some connections to the story are that some strange things have happened in my life like having a dream with fake monsters like aliens and other strange objects. Another connection is that I play a sport just like Mallory does, but my sport isn¿t fencing, but mine is hockey. When I play hockey I wear a suit just like Mallory. I have a twin and that is my brother, but Mallory has a twin but it is not a real human it is a shape shifter.<BR/><BR/> Some names of other books I have read are the #1 book which is the Field Guide. The #2 book is the Seeing Stone. The #3 book is Lucinda¿s Secret but those aren¿t all there are many other books out there I can¿t name because there are that many. All three books are related because they have the same characters and the same authors. The other reasons are they have the same setting and the same plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    a reviewer

    i've got this book and it's brilliant. in fact i want to read the rest of the booksmade by the author. it's a great adventure book about young jered grace who finds a book tha tells him all about trolls'bronies'etc'etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Fantastic

    It's so cool. My favorite part is when they think mallory is sleeping beauty. I think this should be ages 7 - 13. You will love it. Read the series you'll love it. Find it at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Fantastic

    It's amazing. I think it should be all ages because of it's great talant. I read it all the time and it's so cool because of the goblins. My favorite is when they thought mallory was sleeping beauty and it was so funny. I think the parents would love it so much they would alays buy it for there children

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    The best book ever.

    This book had my kid`s book report going on forever. I even read it to see what it was about. I was amazed at this fantastical adventure for Mallory, Jared, and Simon Grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Heartstopping to the very last page!

    Tony DiTerlizzi ans Holly Black make yet another outstanding book to add to the series. A mindracing tale that overcomes those who read it. Enjoyable and suspenceful! This book deserves 5 stars and is so tempting your head will race with excitment! Tony and Holly have done it again! In the begining of the book Mallory is fencing at her school and Jared see's a mysterious person rummaging through Mallory's fencing bag. Who is this person? read the book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    Pretty Good

    The Spiderwick books are pretty good, and The Ironwood Tree was typical. Not bad, but not really all that great either. I liked Harry Potter, Charlie Bone, King Fortis and Artemis Fowl all better, but this was good too I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK OUT OF FOUR!

    Yesterday I finshed 'The Ironwood Tree', the fourth book in the Spiderwick Chronicles series. It is my favorite so far. The beginning was a bit slow and much like the second book with the theme of a kidnapped sibling. The first time I read it I didn't finish it but the second time I thoroughly enjoyed it as part of a group read-a-loud session. I'm glad I read it again. It's very good!I don't especially like the characters,but the plot,the ideas and setting are interesting. For stories that have characters that are well developed and lovable or that you love to hate try the 'Harry Potter ' series and the 'Septimus Heap' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Amazing

    Great book that my mom and sister enjoy to read. My sister and me always want to know what is coming up. This book let's us stay up past are bedtime because of its great parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Wow!

    I love the Spiderwick books and if you like the other ones this one will not make you mad. If you like the rest you will love this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Contented

    This book is good. It does not have a lot of actions but the drawings are cool and its somewhat intresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS BOOK IS REALLY SOMETHING TO READ! IT'S ENCOURAGING AND INVITING AND INTERETING FOR A CHILD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The Ironwood Tree is the best Spiderwick book so far! From the fencing tournament to the surprise at the end. It is great! I couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2