Customer Reviews for

The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Cafe

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great first book.

A great first book.

posted by RetiredGrandpa on August 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really expected and wanted to like this book!  It was okay, bu

I really expected and wanted to like this book!  It was okay, but not nearly as "action packed" or compelling as the descriptions, reviews and teases made it sound like it would be.  The idea of the story was good, but the linking of clues was terribly slow an...
I really expected and wanted to like this book!  It was okay, but not nearly as "action packed" or compelling as the descriptions, reviews and teases made it sound like it would be.  The idea of the story was good, but the linking of clues was terribly slow and the plot predictable and unbelievable.  I do think Ms. Simses has a nice writing style and gift for describing scenery and detail.  I will keep an open mind and hope her writing improves.

posted by jpcoggins on October 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A beautiful story of love lost and love found! Very believable c

    A beautiful story of love lost and love found! Very believable characters and Ellen's search into her grandmother's past kept me reading. I hope this novel is made into a movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Must read!

    Incredible!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    A great first book.

    A great first book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    I loved this book!  It made me laugh out loud and to me that's w

    I loved this book!  It made me laugh out loud and to me that's what makes a book great!  Loved the little town and you can almost feel yourself there!  Makes me want to our a blueberry farm and bake shop!  Can't wait to read her next novel.  One of those books that you'll remember as a good read!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! It started out a little sad since Ellen¿s gra

    I loved this book! It started out a little sad since Ellen’s grandmother had recently died, but the story from then on was anything but sad. The trip her grandmother sent her on was full of ups and downs, laughs and surprises.




    The descriptions of the town and the people she met were wonderful. I could almost see the town and the ocean, and by the end of the book I felt as if I knew these people. I loved following Ellen and discovering bits about her grandmother and her past. I loved seeing her become a person she thought she’d never be and liking a town and enjoying it’s people that she never thought she’d like.




    I liked that in the end, she decided to be the person she wanted to be and not what her mother wanted her to be.




    If you’re looking for a light read, give this book a chance. It’s a fun read that will make you smile, and maybe even laugh here and there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    I really expected and wanted to like this book!  It was okay, bu

    I really expected and wanted to like this book!  It was okay, but not nearly as "action packed" or compelling as the descriptions, reviews and teases made it sound like it would be.  The idea of the story was good, but the linking of clues was terribly slow and the plot predictable and unbelievable.  I do think Ms. Simses has a nice writing style and gift for describing scenery and detail.  I will keep an open mind and hope her writing improves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    This novel was a great story about a family members past and a n

    This novel was a great story about a family members past and a new found love. The book was predictable, but it still grabbed your attention. It's a great first novel and I can't wait to read more by Mary Simses. If you like reading this book you would also like Nicholas Spark's Night In Rodanthe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Definitely not of the same calibur as the Guernsey Literary Society. OK read. Not a favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book. The story unfolds at the perfect pace. The charact

    A great book. The story unfolds at the perfect pace. The characters are well developed and likable. High praise for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    I LOVED this book!!! It was funny, sad, romantic and had such in

    I LOVED this book!!! It was funny, sad, romantic and had such interesting characters.  She is a great writer.  Great plot, with lots of surprises and emotions.  The author paints such detailed pictures that you feel like you're there, in Maine.

    Personally, I can't wait for Mary Simses to write another book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Alex's Application

    I posted my bio but i wanted to apply as a waitress.as a kid,id make my parents food and all.im usually kinda chatty but almost always in a good mood.-alex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Applicaton's

    Fill them out here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Alina's Application

    [I honestly don't know what to put in this. Here goes.] <p>
    Hello. My name's Alina Starkov. I'm 17 years old, and am looking for a job. As a younger kid, I'd always play Restaurant with my siblings. And surprise surprise, I was always the happy waitress. I like being a waitress, don't get me wrong. In fact, that's why I'm here. xD <p>
    I think I'd be a good fit here because I'm quite the cheerful person. Very compatible, which makes a good waitress. If I had a set hobby, it'd be helping people and making them happy. I'm also very flexible and optimistic, I'll always try my best to help out. <p>
    I can work with any wages. Honestly, if I weren't . . . . Financially disabled, I'd work here for free. I love whimsical cafes, I love seeing people smile when they take a good sip of coffee, or take the first bite of a dessert I prepare. Speaking of which, I love making desserts, and I personally think I'm pretty good. <p>
    I hope you'll consider me for one of your employees. Thank you!! ~ Alina &#9788

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Katie

    Holds the little girl "she have a name?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Kym

    I can adopt the two boys. What are their names?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Melody

    I know he said i had to be aproved by u to be able to adopt kyle and if u do i will be entirely greatfull

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Madi

    Thx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Rhelle

    "Sc.rew off"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Ooh! Me likey likey!

    - Awesom Face 8D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Land of the Spirits Chaphter 1 part 1. Part 2 in next res!

    I yawn and stretch, waves of my chocolate brown hair cascading down to my awesome PJ pants. I slide my rectangular-ish red glasses onto my freckled face. My sky blue eyes search the room and I realize Evelyn isn't in the bed across from me. She's been gone for a week and yet I still can't live without her. I get dressed in a red Tee with a silver tiger head on it, slip on some jeans and step into black Converse. Then, I grab a jean vest and slide it on, and adding the final touch, a key necklace with a changes-color-with-your-mood letter E next to it on the necklace. Then I run downstairs. There Dad sits, sipping coffee. "How's my birthday girl?" He asks me cheerily. "Great." I say, scooping myself a plate of scrambled eggs with bacon bits, kissing the top of his head and rushing outside to catch the bus. The bus ride goes pretty fast, just listening to music on my Ipod and singing along. The day passes quick too. I follow my usual 7th grade routine; I stat the day off with classes, chat with my friends at lunch, then go to more classes and wait for the bell to ring. *Brrringgg!* There it goes! Yes! The last day of scool is over! That means no school for three whole months! I start to walk off, but Mrs. Frato pulls me over. "See you next year!" She calls cheerily before letting me go.I hop on the school bus and start to walk down the aisle when suddenly a pink high-heeled foot sticks out and trips me. My glasses fly off, hitting the floor with a *thud!* right before I do. "Emma" I think, disgusted. The first thing I see as I stand up is Emma's sickly sweet smile as she asks if I'm OK. I shrug and slide my glasses on as a familiar voice hollers :"Over here, Eve!" I smile as I walk over to my best friend. She's a red-haired-olive-eyed-freckle-faced kind of girl in cowgirl boots, overalls and a red plaid shirt. You may call her a farmer girl, but to me she's just Ava. I plop down next to her. We talk until Stacy and Brianna, or B as we call her, anounce that they have a surprise. Stacy pulls a book out of her backpack. "Thank! You! So! Much!" I yell as I realize it's the third 'Land Of Stories' book. I hug them both, smelling B's grape scented purple hair and Stacy's blueberry hair dye she uses to turn the ends of her black hair blue. Their twin brown gazes are filled with happiness and they both smile so broad I feel like I'm staring at the sun. "Oh, that reminds me." Ava says, pulling a package out of her backpack. I open it and find an art kit. "Thank you!" I shout, throwing my arms around her. One by one, my friends trickle off the bus until it's just me and me and my 'Land Of Stories' book. The bus stops and the bus driver waves. "Bye Blue!" He calls. "Bye Rick!" I call back as the bus pulls away. I slowly walk home. When I get there, my dad is at the door. He welcomes me in. We're eating my favorite dinner of meatball soup when Aura, our husky pup races in, in pursuit of Josie, the scruffy black cat that my parents got on their anniversary. When I look at Josie's green glare it reminds me that our mom died before I even had my 1st birthday and then I break into tears. I force myself not to think about it. After dinner we open presents. I get a dragon model, a mood bracelet and a bunch of money. I'll send thank you cards in the morning. After about an hour of playing with my new model and watching tv I'm hungry for cake. My dad surprises me with a double layer cake. One layer is chocolate and the other is vanilla. I can't write more!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3