Customer Reviews for

The Island: Part 3

Average Rating 4.5
( 407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Best New Series!

When thinking about ordering this, I almost didn't. A few of the reviews said it wasn't great.
DON'T take anyone's word. Read it.
I will say the first book was slightly slower and very descriptive. (@ times too much so) But the first book was necessary, even with t...
When thinking about ordering this, I almost didn't. A few of the reviews said it wasn't great.
DON'T take anyone's word. Read it.
I will say the first book was slightly slower and very descriptive. (@ times too much so) But the first book was necessary, even with the slow parts, to paint the background for this tale.
The ever popular "End of Days" has a new twist! A fresh new idea on an old theme.
I am a very picky reader and think I would rate this up there with Steven Kings earlier works! Thanks Michael for this great series...keep writing and I will keep reading!!!!!!!!!

posted by sinrn01 on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

SCARY HORROR

Very scary in some parts made it hard to sleep reccomended for older children only

posted by Cookie-Face on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Best book ever

    It realy keeps you on your toes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good read.

    Series of 3 books that adds a little bit of a twist on ur typical undead book. Good plot that leaves you looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Anon

    Oh my, on to #4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    good reading

    these are more novellas than books although i found them a good read, his writing reminds me somewhat of stephen king in as he creates a realistic world before you have to suspend belief for a journey into the fantasy world he has created

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Fast read

    You get so involved wiith all the things going on that you don't realize you are at the end of this part. Now to the last part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great read.

    Can't wait to continue with Part 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Must read

    Really loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    My rating has gone from #3 average to #4, but 3.5 would be it!

    This rating and review is based on all 3 parts. The most positive of the series is the absolute excellent grammar and mechanics; only 2 sentences are missing obvious words (that a 10-year-old reader would pick up). So there was nothing at all annoying or distracting with the grammar and mechanics.

    Part 1 was a bit slow with an overabundance of somewhat not necessary information. I almost ditched at the end of Part 1; however, it was a free read, and the summary was interesting in ref to virus spreading, etc.

    Part 2 picked up with what appeared to be a really good story line in line with the virus and potential concern for curfew and martial law being initiated. Part 2 was a "can't put down, want to see what happens" type of read. Then the dead corpse and "demon" began to emerge another reading line that could at first be seen as a separate sub-plot on the island with the group of people there. Slowly, the connection is subtly made (with the reference to Legion) that the world may be in the tribulation period where Satan and his demons are allowed to run rampant--for fiction = okay, and a so-so approach, but not bad--really.. (However, that may just be my own perception based on my spiritual training and background.)

    Part 3 continued to move along with focus on keeping the group safe from these little demons, made aware through news that others are having similar sightings, where the virus is spreading, compounded with the conflict to go to the mainland to retrieve medical supplies for one of the other group members who was bitten. That task completed with another demon encounter at that visit, though not being sighted by patrols, adds to the wonder of what is going to happen. After returning to the island/group the story comes to its end, which I see as a bit abrupt on one hand, yet as I have mulled over my reaction, it is interesting in that it leaves room for a Part 4. . ..

    The fact that Part 1 was slow and Part 3 offers what could be perceived as either a blunt ending, or allowing "room for more" in a Part 4, I at first would have given a #3 average rating; however, as I sort, write this, and think about it, I would go with an above-average rating; however, if one is really interested in how demons may be perceived, I think Frank Peretti's trilogy is a much better read in exploring the demon world fictionally.

    I did like the subtle innuendo that this could be a tribulation period since the virus was spreading throughout the world, similar to plagues issued with God's wrath in Bible history, and that Satan and his demons will be allowed free reign for a period of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Wow for tje series

    Kept me reading and wanting to know more
    I need to search for more of the series
    Did not care for the bad language but other than that wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great book

    I have really enjoyed the first three books. I will be starting the fourth shortly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I enjoyed these books.

    I found this chapter enthralling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Still think these are great ( if unbelievable) stories jmm44

    Almost makes you believe in "MONSTERS" !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Really good read!

    Really good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    >>Really great writing! The characters are interesting and

    >>Really great writing! The characters are interesting and feel real. Each successive book flows; never getting rushed along. The story starts slowly and unfolds at it's own pace. There are some surprising twists along the way~ never predictable! There is some good humor thrown in with the action and suspense...and it gets pretty frightening, as well! Most of these books are free, and several are only 99 cents; for novel length stories, that is amazing. I highly recommend this series, and this author's other books, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Scarry.....

    So far the 3 series have been very good......scarry to saay the least....look fwd to the ending....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Good book, well worth reading.

    Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Recommend

    This is a story that keeps me wanting to know what is happening and if the terror will ever stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Creative with great characters

    I like build up and creation of the story line as well as the characters. Very unique and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Im hooked

    What a great find on Nook! First 3 books were free . Author very descriptive in his writing and keeps you on the edge of your seat ! If you like Sci-Fi its a must! I can't put the series down . Looking forward to more books by Michael Stark .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Recommended

    This is a series of books, I personally would have preferred it to be all in one book. Mr. Stark's books are easy to read and kept me interested to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5