Customer Reviews for

The Jackal of Nar (Tyrants and Kings Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    greatly recommended

    this book is outstanding so far! I love the characters and can't wait to find new ones. It reminds me in small ways of all the other books I have read(in a good way), yet so different. Any reader would love this book, read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Reality in Fantasy

    I was very impressed with the flow of this series. With enough "reality" to interest those people who don't normally read fantasy or science fiction. I think most people can relate to at least a few of these characters. I couldn't put the series down and read the first book in two days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    Good Book

    This was a pretty good book the only problem I could find was that it is a little slow in places. The characters and scenes were extremely well developed and the author did a great overall job on this book. So read this book it is a good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    This was a very enjoyable book. I am looking forward to reading the next two in the series. The characters and plot were extreemly well developed. BRAVO!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Excellent

    Similar to George Martin and Guy Kay, in that it's more serious and character driven. A very good debut.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    The plotline was interesting, but...

    If you like corny, cheesy, unoriginal characters, this is the book for you. I cringed many times while reading this book. Richius is without a doubt weak and whiny, his character unlikable, and as many have said, one-dimensional. In fact, most of the characters are boring. I felt like I was watching a poorly directed movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    But the cover art was so cool....

    'Jackal of Nar' is one of the worst books I've ever read. I finished reading it primarily so that I could say, 'Yes, that is truly horrible. There are no redeeming qualities here.' The characters are one-dimensional, not at all compelling, and act without much reason or logic. The political machinations are simplistic and rather transparent. The action scenes are unimpressive. Generally speaking, one makes allowances for technological variance in fantasy books. However, the mix of pseudo-modern science with feudal societies and warfare shown in 'Jackal of Nar' is difficult to accept. 'Kerosine cannons' and 'acid-shooters' appear alongside sword-wielding infantry on both sides. Even granted the developments in industrial chemical manufacture and the refinement of petroleum for kerosene (neither of which occured on Earth until the industrial revolution was well under way, the parallel cultural and peripheral technological signs of which I did not see in the book), such weaponry would necessitate an immediate change in warfare. The mixture of armored infantry and cavalry fighting with sword and lance alongside chemical weapons is beyond improbable: It would be nearly impossible to achieve without either mutiny or severe losses to friendly fire. One of the greatest drawbacks of chemical and incindiary weapons, historically, was their tendency to do as much damage to one's own soldiers as the enemy's, a factor which is multiplied when the combatants of both sides are mixed in close quarters battle. Fantasy should aspire to create worlds both wondrous and realistic: The more complexity and detail one can build into the story without ruining its tempo, the more engaging and rewarding the story will be. In this regard, I believe 'Jackal of Nar' is lacking. While I hope the author's next installments will improve, I have no interest in finding out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Single book study in a writer's improvement.

    I picked up this book having never heard of John Marco. After the drab and ineffectual first half of the book, I was really suprised by the dramatically improved second half. I would have never bought the second book in the series had there not been such an improvement. In short, a worthy read if you can make through the first part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    I didn't like it either

    To be fair, the premise for this book, as explained in the cover copy, seemed interesting, and who could resist purchasing it when it has so many glowing reviews? Trouble is, it doesn't live up to them. The characters are flat and one dimensional, the writing is poor and amateurish. Perhaps there really are a ton of Marco fans out there to vote him an award, but I tend to doubt it happened that way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    Hey, Barnes & Noble! Why won't you publish my review?

    I've sent in a review of this book 3 seperate times, and yet, it still hasn't shown up. Granted, it was a negative review, but I surely never broke the 'Rules'... Could you please publish my review? I know you guys put John Marco on some sort of special new authors list, so I'm sorry I personally didn't like his book, but I should still have a right to tell other people. Thank You.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    Best new fantasy in a long time.

    Refreshing to read a fantasy in where things don't happen 'as expected'. Does a good job in meshing miltary battles, political intrigue and a smattering of magic. Looking forward to the future books in this series. Glad to see Epic Fantasy has come a long way since Robert Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    This Book ROCKS!

    John Marco is a excellent writer the charactors are so believeable a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1