Customer Reviews for

The Jaguar (Charlie Hood Series #5)

Average Rating 3
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Disappointed.

    Since I had enjoyed the 4 other books in the Charlie Hood series I'd looked forward to this one. However, I felt that the story lacked real credibility by the heroes actions in saving Erin. It just seemed way over the top to survive so many obstacles.
    Hope the next one stresses more of Charlie and less of Bradley.
    dijet

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    I want a refund

    I have read all of T. Jefferson Parker's books. Most were good , others very good. This one is neither. The story is contrived, convoluted and unbelievable. Too many unnessary side trips just for filler. The character Mike Finnegan should be carrying a pitchfork The drug dealer wants another million bucks just so he can have a song written about him? This is laughable. And the ending is a ripoff. It's like Parker just stopped in mind thought, and decided he has to set up the next book. Really TJ you should be ashamed, you're better than this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Anon

    I haven't even finished this book yet but can definitely understand the bad reviews. I honestly didn't believe them so went ahead and bought it and now I actually don't think I can finish reading it, it's so bad. Boring characters, boring and unbelievable story line. Parker's always been one of my favorite writers. Didn't think he was capable of writing such a bad book. Sorry, TJP, but this faithful fan cannot recommend this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Really boring

    This has to be one of the worst adventure/mystery novels I've ever read. Well not completely. Got to page 275 and threw the book out. Pointless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Was a disappointment

    It rambled and at times was disjointed in thought. I judge a book by the fact I don't want it to end. This one, the end didn't come soon enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Very Poor!

    Terrible story line, no sense, nothing like previous Hood book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3.5

    The average rating is currently 3.5 for The Jaguar, and that's about right. It doesn't match up to the previous books, in my opinion. Charlie Hood has no real role until the end. What happens with him prior to that does not feel real, especially the crocodile swim. My impression is that that scene, as well as the scene in Reynosa, were contrived just to get him in the action, which really centers around Bradley and Erin. The Mike character is a little off the wall, so it does not help the story that much. Charlie Hood should be the focus as the most dramatic character, and here he is not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Bad

    Do not buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Doveclan deputy den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Recommended, better than average

    If this is the first T Jefferson Parker book, it will take a bit to get into the story. Plot is complex, writing is ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended.

    Super read. Best of the series. Hate to say goodbye to Charlie but can only hope he returns someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Lionstar

    !?!?!?!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    To lionstar

    Irp Rainbowwing has to go in for surgery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Gug

    Mvhvtic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Sparta

    The white female jaguar paced around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Hope another charley hood follows

    Parker is a master of prose, people, and story telling. Parker has always chosen areas of this part of our world that other popular authors either stay away from or can not really do justice to in their stories. I'm thankful that Parker has provided me with decades of meaningful, rich, quality, and at times gripping reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kidnapped

    While this novel continues the series with Charlie Hood, the Los Angeles deputy sheriff and ATF agent, he plays a relatively minor role in the plot. Here he is more of a messenger carrying $1 million through Mexico to ransom Erin McKenna, wife of LA County sheriff’s deputy Bradley McKenna and a popular singer and songwriter who has been kidnapped by a gang of narcos and brought to the Yucatan castle home of the cartel leader, Benjamin Armenta. The story is, of course, of her experience as a captive, and the attempts to rescue her given the time limit within which Charlie must deliver the ransom.

    While the descriptions of Erin’s captivity and the surroundings of the “castle” itself are well-drawn, the closing chapters seem almost perfunctory in the writing; Erin’s rescue is almost reduced to an afterthought; and the concluding portions sought presented with little foundation.

    The novel continues the saga of the cross-border narcotics flow on a much different level. It really is a tale of a diverse set of characters, good or evil. And the reader ends up wondering who, with perhaps the exception of Erin, is which. Nothing and no one is what it seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    excellent...beautifully written..edge of your seat story.

    Ijust finished this wonderful bk in 3 days.i have not read a read lately
    where I actually felt like I was there watching from afar.I have read
    the first 2 bks & they were amazing.if you truly want to enjoy this book to the fullest..get the first 2 books in the series.I have read the other
    reviews & frankly I just do not agree with them. I do not feel like I
    wasted my time,in fact I feel that I just read a great book.honest.
    actually,I feel a little bit let down..because what book should I read
    now that will keep me entertained..better than music,better than tv....
    what I will admit was ..I did not read the 2 books before this..& I do
    agree I was just abit disappointed (also shocked) when the wife was
    actually captured..there should of been a more thorough explanation on how the husband got to the wife. the mike character was just 1 lucky con
    man.if u r looking for a good series to start & want good reads ahead..
    begin the series now.Mr.parker never disappoints.cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2