Customer Reviews for

The Jefferson Allegiance

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Read and The Usual Typos

Good engrossing story. Unhappy with the typos, page 442 has the wrong names for two of the characters. What I find so interesting is when I read reviews for other Mayer books they document the same complaint. Have to wonder what is wrong with the publisher...

posted by Leenin on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spell-Check is not a substitute for an editor!

Really, who proofreads this stuff? This is an action-packed adventure in the class of Clancy, and the use of history is both accurate and clever. But the grammatical gaffes are as numerous as Mayer's merks. My personal favorite? "Without having to not even inform Congr...
Really, who proofreads this stuff? This is an action-packed adventure in the class of Clancy, and the use of history is both accurate and clever. But the grammatical gaffes are as numerous as Mayer's merks. My personal favorite? "Without having to not even inform Congress" (sic -- see p. 682 or thereabouts).

posted by catwak on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Good, fast paced book. Would highly recommend

    Although Mayer advises that this book is highly fiction, one wonders if it couldn't be true, as the tale winds it's way through history. His talent as a writer makes one think this is believable. Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    How long

    How long is this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    If you like history, read this!!

    This is the BEST book I have read in a very long time. Full of history and possibilities! Who knows what is really hidden in our government. This book is also a Christmas gift for a relative who loves history and past American founders. Read - you won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Excellent!

    Very fast-paced and very interesting historically. Highly recommended. The only slight drawback ( on Nook) is the proofreading needs improving as there were many mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, easy, entertaining read

    The Jefferson Allegiance is kind of like a romance novel for men, although there is no romance to speakmof in the book. It is action packed like a Vince Flynn novel, but there is a little "history" thrown in to make you feel like you are learning a little something rather than just indulging yourself in gratuitous mystery and violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Terrific read. I'm hooked on Bob Mayer

    A real page turner. Weaving together historical events and modern-day USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I am a lover of history and mysteries. This fulfilled my total enjoyment. I have recommended this book to many friends. When asked what this book is all about I tell them it is to The U.S. Constitution what the DaVinci Code was to the Catholic Church. It really peaks their interest and they are not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    wow

    This book is beautiful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Excellent book

    Had never read a book by Mr. Mayer, but it was excellent. Very well written, exciting and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    great read great writing

    a truly beleivable story. well written rec to all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Excellent Book

    Got me interested from the get go....not a dull moment throughout. I liked the use of history and much of it brought me up to date on things I had forgotten. I would read more books by this author Editing needs some help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Interesting

    If this were not fiction, it would be unnerving. I have read other books by Mayer and that was the reason I chose this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly recommended for anyone that like exciting mysteries with interesting historical information

    Davinci Code style clues and races to famous locales with military and American history theme, good action and little to no downtime. Characters with pasts and futures that leave you wanting a sequel, and it has a crazy chick with a sword, what's not to love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Pleasant Surprise

    The expectations I had for this book were not great. It turned out that the book far surpassed what I would have expected for so inexpensive a book. It was the premise that intrigued me. The style and historical content mixed with quick moving action and good character development puts me in mind of Brown's "The Lost Symbol" and Bleed's "National Treasure". I will definitely add more Mayer books to my Nook Color (which by the way I LOVE) bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Very exciting read

    I loved this book. It grabbed my attention from the start and held it throughout. Couldn't wait to turn the page! Will be buying another of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Very good read!

    Author has a good knowledge of history and presents the story line in a method that makes the reader want to keep reading. The history lessons are so imbedded in story that readers not into historical items are kept interested. A darn good and easy read with enough mystery to keep reader interested all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    May be good

    Havnt read it hope to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    Excellent read. Enough facts to make it blievable. Will read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Good Action

    This is should read The Davinci Code for the Action/Military/Para-military fans. It's a bit thin on character development but I imagine this will improve over the series I think think this is setting up for or a part of. Of course, if all you're into is military gadgetry and high flying non-stop action, charater develoment may get in the way! It certainly kept my interest and I loved the "bad guy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Good

    Good book...worth buying at a great price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7