Customer Reviews for

The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man's Quest to Be a Better Husband

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Saved my marriage

    I've never written a review but I just had to for this book. It saved my marriage. After 25 years of head banging I finally discovered why my head hurt and why I thought my husband was the biggest a** in the universe. Each chapter was filled with 'that's MY husband!'moments. I especially related to the 'loading the dishwasher for efficiency' and the laundry chapter. I haven't laughed so hard in years. No Empathy??? OMG!!! A life changing book for my family! Thank you David (and Kristen too). A recommend for ALL people in relationships.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Life changing book

    This book is amazing, and I think anyone could benefit from reading it simply due to curiosity, or, even better, if you are married to someone with Asperger's Syndrome or someone with severe anxiety/OCD issues. I, myself, have bad anxiety and exhibit many many of the behaviors that the author does. Seeing how Finch, with the support and love (and never-ending patience!) from his wife, was able to really really turn his life around is inspiring! I will definitely be working on incorporating some of his best practices into my life as I want to feel better on a day-to-day basis with my own life and the life I share with my spouse.

    I would like to add, that there is a genetrous sprinkling of profanity throughout the book, but somehow I was no offended by it at all which is quite surprising. I don't know how to explain it, but the profanity actually seemed appropriate at times. Usually reading explicit language really upsets me and turns me off, but I had no problems at all reading, enjoying, finishing, and getting something significant out of this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Loved this book

    My son was diagnosed with autism last year. I wanted to gain some perspective on what his future could possibly look like. This book gave me hope in that my son could find love and live a semi-normal life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    David Finch was thirty years old with two kids and a failing mar

    David Finch was thirty years old with two kids and a failing marriage when he was diagnosed with Aspergers. He took it as a gift, an opportunity to use what is known about the syndrome and the new self-awareness the diagnosis provided, to improve his marriage and ultimately his life. Through “journaling” (often on post-it notes, receipts, menus or whatever else was handy at the moment of epiphany), goal setting, “job” evaluations, and lots of hard work, (and, of course, tons of support from his family) he achieved his ultimate goal – to be friends again with his wife. Filled with amazing humor, insight, pathos, and relationship “Best Practices” even neuro-typicals should adhere to, with this memoir Finch has created a beautiful testament to love.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great read!

    After he is married and has children the author finds out he has Asperger's. His marriage isnt doing so good as he is often distant and not attuned to his wife needs. He goes on a mission to keep a journal of his discoveries of what he needs to do to be a good husband and father. I'm always interested in finding out how the autistic mind thinks. The author is very intelligent and he is also funny. A good read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Tender and manly love story

    I read this book in two sittings. It is delightful.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Charming

    A delightful, funny, and ultimarely very human memoir.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    fabulous!

    Such an eye opening experience into the life of someone



    opening

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Incredibly powerful and humbling!

    Loved this book! It was a great story and inspired me quite a bit to be a better husband. If a guy struggling with Asperger's can save his marriage by changing his behavior, then I can be better too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Very Interesting!

    This book is a great inside look at how individuals with Asperger's think. And the author does a great job of adding humor at just the right time - the book has a great flow and it moves at the perfect pace! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A window to my life!

    This was an absolutely amazing read! I laughed out loud, I cried sometimes, and on every page my heart went out to David and Kristen. As the wife in a marriage to an Aspie husband, I experience so much every day that I cannot articulate to my friends or my husband. He read the book too by the way - the first time I've seen him read a whole book in the 9 years I've known him!! I will be recommending and referring to this book for a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Fantastic

    Get it now

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don┬┐t read non-fiction. I have good intentions, but little fol

    I don’t read non-fiction. I have good intentions, but little follow=through in this area. I think I can count on one hand the number of non-fiction books I’ve read for pleasure in the past 5 years. Um….3? If I read an average of 150 books a year, (and Goodreads says I do) that means that non-fiction comprises approximately 0.007% of my reading. Consequently, when I actually finish a non-fiction book I feel like I should let the world at large know about it! I LOVED this book. It is absolutely hysterical. If you have Asperger’s, know or have worked with someone who does, or are married, you will enjoy this book. (Also if you have ADHD…)  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This book provided much insight into Asperger Syndrome through a well-written narrative, often punctuated with humor. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Best book I've read this year!!

    I read this book with an interest in understanding one of the kiddos in my extended family better, but I ended up learning a lot about myself and what I can do to be a better partner, daughter, sister, and auntie. It is hilarious and well written, definitely draws you into his journey of self-discovery and learning what he needed to save his marriage and relate to his kids. It's currently the book I'm recommending to everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Autism or Not - We can all be better husbands and people.

    I picked this book up on my Nook because I had heard Mr. Finch's story on an episode of THIS AMERICAN LIFE, and also read the NYTimes article that preceeded this book. Maybe because I was already familiar with the story, I found the book interesting but very cusory. Most of the time I felt like I was reading a magazine article - I kept waiting for the story to go deeper or reveal more, and then it was over. That being said, I appreciated Mr. Finch's voice - sarcastic and funny but deeply self-aware (although as he discusses in the book, to a fault). I appreciated that he did not attempt to make us sorry for him, and that he was truly honest about his mistakes and short-comings. More than a few times I sat up and took notice of my own behavior and my own faults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    Highly recommended-An absolute must read!

    I have an adult daughter who has Asperger's Syndrome. I have tried for years to "figure her out." You must read this if you're tied in any way with a person on the autism spectrum. David Finch has great insights to being an "Aspie" and he had me laughing and smiling all the way to the very last page of his book! I also gained some keen insights as to how my daughter experiences the world...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    D

    B

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Any more reviews????

    Any more reviews

    0 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2