Customer Reviews for

The Joy of Hate: How to Triumph over Whiners in the Age of Phony Outrage

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT !

Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the patheti...
Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the pathetic truth of the "tolerant" who are the most intolerant critters since man stood upright. The tolerant among us have no patience with anyone who disagrees with them..... and they are angry if you dare to have a different point of view. Makes me wonder if their need to be cool and "with it" supercedes common sense and at some level they know it , and know that we know they know it. Rather than admit it they use anger and labels to distance themselves from us.

posted by 6310513 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and libera

I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and liberals pissing on conservatives because your average good American gets lost. Neither side really cares about us although they pretend they do care. I am tired of the ideology spewed from the far right and lef...
I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and liberals pissing on conservatives because your average good American gets lost. Neither side really cares about us although they pretend they do care. I am tired of the ideology spewed from the far right and left. We need more concern for the average American.

posted by Peggy46 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    LOVED IT !

    Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the pathetic truth of the "tolerant" who are the most intolerant critters since man stood upright. The tolerant among us have no patience with anyone who disagrees with them..... and they are angry if you dare to have a different point of view. Makes me wonder if their need to be cool and "with it" supercedes common sense and at some level they know it , and know that we know they know it. Rather than admit it they use anger and labels to distance themselves from us.

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Greg makes some valid points

    Author points out how ridiculous liberal arguments are. They are so asinine that I do not see how people can support many of the things liberals say with a straight face. Because of this, the book is very funny and oh so true. Keep it up Greg because I think we all need to laugh and who better to laugh at than liberals who think they know it all.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Fantastic

    Dont be fooled by the liars giving 1 star just because he is a republican. This book is just funny, witty and great

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and libera

    I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and liberals pissing on conservatives because your average good American gets lost. Neither side really cares about us although they pretend they do care. I am tired of the ideology spewed from the far right and left. We need more concern for the average American.

    11 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Those who can't tolerate the truth whine about it. Greg's obser

    Those who can't tolerate the truth whine about it. Greg's observations are spot on! You'll find yourself laughing out loud reading TJOH...unless you're a liberal. Or have no sense humor. Could be lacking in common sense too. Which would mean...oh never mind. You'd have to have to posses both to understand what he's saying in the first place. So you're probably not going to be reading this book. Shame. =) There's a whole lot more people out here thinking what he's saying. Read The Joy Of Hate. And laugh along the way finding out what and why! Thanks Greg!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Tremendously funny book that sheds a light on all things hypocri

    Tremendously funny book that sheds a light on all things hypocritical and hysterical about the modern Left. Gutfeld offers charmingly twisted and honest interpretations of today's phony outrage and the way Liberal America uses "tolerance" to bludgeon any form of debate. A must read if you're truly sick of today's mock- incredulity.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I love Greg. He's awesome on the Five and amazing on the Red Eye

    I love Greg. He's awesome on the Five and amazing on the Red Eye. He has many common sense ideas and points out a lot of things that just cracks me up. I am ordering this book and love the reviews. :) If you want truth and no coddling I think Greg's book will be great.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Really, someone who makes his living on phony outrage, like most

    Really, someone who makes his living on phony outrage, like most shows on Fox, has written a book complaining about it? You want the phony outrage of fake issues like the war on X-mas and accusation of "an apology tour" to stop? Cancel your show and you'll see a instant 10% reduction...but course you cant do that cause that's leaving money on the table of fear and misguidance.

    9 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Fantastic

    One of the best books to come along in awhile. Greg Gutfeld addresses today's issues in a factual and humerous way. And I especially loved the fact that there is not one word that can be construed as that wimpy political correctness. Gutfeld seems to think like me- - the words "political correctness" are not in his dictionary.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Cant stand this guy, and Im even a Fox News watcher. Have no int

    Cant stand this guy, and Im even a Fox News watcher. Have no interest in anything he says or writes.

    8 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Agreed. This author poses some valid arguments. EVERYONE'S A WHINER!

    Indeed!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    The book is awesome I have laughed my butt off on every page, an

    The book is awesome I have laughed my butt off on every page, and the book really hits home on the crazy tom foolery that goes on in this day in age. The "intolerance" that goes on now a days by those pointing the fingers at everyone and especially the media who are moon bat crazy is tiresome. Gut speaks the truth that will not be found on the main stream media nor anywhere else now a days. As we go into the second reign of Obama ... I will read this book over and over to maintain my sanity as more and more of my life gets dictated to me by the "Dear Leader: and his cult members who are ever ready to tell everyone else how to liver their life while their life is a steaming pile of feces....

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    D J Nov12, 2012

    Falls short. The joy of hate would be to see the entire body of Congress get paid room and board and transportation
    While in session AND their salaries paid to our men in
    uniform for volunteering to get blown up, dying and being
    crippled,mentally and physically, so that we can keep our
    freedoms, our country's safety and free to elect a President
    who seems to hate America.

    That's my Joy of Hate!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Great read!

    Gutfeld is a word smith beyond belief!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Greg Gutfeld is one of the rising stars on Fox News channel, and

    Greg Gutfeld is one of the rising stars on Fox News channel, and one of my favorite TV personalities overall. His edgy and snarky humor will appeal to anyone who has grown up with South Park and similar forms of irreverent humor that takes on some relevant current issue. He manages to weave social commentary with irreverent statement that titter on the edge of what can be said on primetime television. 




    In “The Joy of Hate” Gutfeld takes on the notion that the ultimate arbiter of validity of one’s arguments is whether or not it offends any particular group. We’ve come a long way away from the society where we are indeed free to speak our mind, and even the political correctness of recent years is starting to seem mild in comparison to all the “anti hate” rhetoric that we have today. Gutfeld walks us through his own political and ideological transformation in his early youth and explains where he comes from. He is unapologetically libertarian, and many of his more conservative fans will find some of his statements almost as objectionable as do his critics on the let. Nonetheless, it is refreshing and indeed fun to read Gutfeld’s prose and his unabashed criticism of various sacred cows. 




    I watch Gutfeld often on The Five, and while reading this book I could totally hear his voice in my head. The book is a fun and easy to read, but it is mostly preaching to the choir. It is unlikely to convert anyone who is already committed to the narrative of “hate” and the ways that it supposedly needs to be curtailed. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    You have to read this book!

    Greg Gutfeld's incites into the world of the "tolerati" will make you think, seethe and laugh your head off. It's a quick, witty read, filled with head-on collisions with issues dear to liberal hearts. Conservatives and moderates - anyone with with a working mind and a sense of humor, for that matter - will love it. Viva Gutfuld!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Best of the Best!!!

    Now I understand why I am a conservative!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Extremely funny

    Good analysis. Very funny

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Just another Elmer Gantry using faux outrage to fleece the rubes

    Just another Elmer Gantry using faux outrage to fleece the rubes.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5