BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Joy of Hate: How to Triumph over Whiners in the Age of Phony Outrage

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT !

Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the patheti...
Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the pathetic truth of the "tolerant" who are the most intolerant critters since man stood upright. The tolerant among us have no patience with anyone who disagrees with them..... and they are angry if you dare to have a different point of view. Makes me wonder if their need to be cool and "with it" supercedes common sense and at some level they know it , and know that we know they know it. Rather than admit it they use anger and labels to distance themselves from us.

posted by 6310513 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and libera

I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and liberals pissing on conservatives because your average good American gets lost. Neither side really cares about us although they pretend they do care. I am tired of the ideology spewed from the far right and lef...
I am so fed up with conservatives pissing on liberals and liberals pissing on conservatives because your average good American gets lost. Neither side really cares about us although they pretend they do care. I am tired of the ideology spewed from the far right and left. We need more concern for the average American.

posted by Peggy46 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    LOVED IT !

    Amazes me that someone would take the time to write a negative review! I never miss The Five... and watch Red Eye when I can stay awake. In another life Greg was probably my son. Either you "get him" or you don't. Hes an expert at using sarcasm to point out the pathetic truth of the "tolerant" who are the most intolerant critters since man stood upright. The tolerant among us have no patience with anyone who disagrees with them..... and they are angry if you dare to have a different point of view. Makes me wonder if their need to be cool and "with it" supercedes common sense and at some level they know it , and know that we know they know it. Rather than admit it they use anger and labels to distance themselves from us.

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Greg makes some valid points

    Author points out how ridiculous liberal arguments are. They are so asinine that I do not see how people can support many of the things liberals say with a straight face. Because of this, the book is very funny and oh so true. Keep it up Greg because I think we all need to laugh and who better to laugh at than liberals who think they know it all.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Fantastic

    Dont be fooled by the liars giving 1 star just because he is a republican. This book is just funny, witty and great

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Those who can't tolerate the truth whine about it. Greg's obser

    Those who can't tolerate the truth whine about it. Greg's observations are spot on! You'll find yourself laughing out loud reading TJOH...unless you're a liberal. Or have no sense humor. Could be lacking in common sense too. Which would mean...oh never mind. You'd have to have to posses both to understand what he's saying in the first place. So you're probably not going to be reading this book. Shame. =) There's a whole lot more people out here thinking what he's saying. Read The Joy Of Hate. And laugh along the way finding out what and why! Thanks Greg!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Tremendously funny book that sheds a light on all things hypocri

    Tremendously funny book that sheds a light on all things hypocritical and hysterical about the modern Left. Gutfeld offers charmingly twisted and honest interpretations of today's phony outrage and the way Liberal America uses "tolerance" to bludgeon any form of debate. A must read if you're truly sick of today's mock- incredulity.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I love Greg. He's awesome on the Five and amazing on the Red Eye

    I love Greg. He's awesome on the Five and amazing on the Red Eye. He has many common sense ideas and points out a lot of things that just cracks me up. I am ordering this book and love the reviews. :) If you want truth and no coddling I think Greg's book will be great.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Fantastic

    One of the best books to come along in awhile. Greg Gutfeld addresses today's issues in a factual and humerous way. And I especially loved the fact that there is not one word that can be construed as that wimpy political correctness. Gutfeld seems to think like me- - the words "political correctness" are not in his dictionary.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Great read!

    Gutfeld is a word smith beyond belief!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Greg Gutfeld is one of the rising stars on Fox News channel, and

    Greg Gutfeld is one of the rising stars on Fox News channel, and one of my favorite TV personalities overall. His edgy and snarky humor will appeal to anyone who has grown up with South Park and similar forms of irreverent humor that takes on some relevant current issue. He manages to weave social commentary with irreverent statement that titter on the edge of what can be said on primetime television. 




    In “The Joy of Hate” Gutfeld takes on the notion that the ultimate arbiter of validity of one’s arguments is whether or not it offends any particular group. We’ve come a long way away from the society where we are indeed free to speak our mind, and even the political correctness of recent years is starting to seem mild in comparison to all the “anti hate” rhetoric that we have today. Gutfeld walks us through his own political and ideological transformation in his early youth and explains where he comes from. He is unapologetically libertarian, and many of his more conservative fans will find some of his statements almost as objectionable as do his critics on the let. Nonetheless, it is refreshing and indeed fun to read Gutfeld’s prose and his unabashed criticism of various sacred cows. 




    I watch Gutfeld often on The Five, and while reading this book I could totally hear his voice in my head. The book is a fun and easy to read, but it is mostly preaching to the choir. It is unlikely to convert anyone who is already committed to the narrative of “hate” and the ways that it supposedly needs to be curtailed. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    You have to read this book!

    Greg Gutfeld's incites into the world of the "tolerati" will make you think, seethe and laugh your head off. It's a quick, witty read, filled with head-on collisions with issues dear to liberal hearts. Conservatives and moderates - anyone with with a working mind and a sense of humor, for that matter - will love it. Viva Gutfuld!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Best of the Best!!!

    Now I understand why I am a conservative!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Awesome book!!!

    Awesome book!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Witty and Humorous Look at Tolerance

    Great book! Gutfeld uses humor to expose the irony of liberal tolerance! It is very easy to read and holds your attention. If you are a greg gutfeld fan, you will thoroughly enjoy his wit and rhetoric in The Joy of Hate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Loved it!

    This is exactly why my internal clock wakes me up in the middle of the night for Red Eye (if only I could figure out the DVR thing I could get some sleep). So looking forward to Not Cool and I'm going to start Unspeakable Truths today

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Well, what can I say? This book is written by Greg Guntfeld, the

    Well, what can I say? This book is written by Greg Guntfeld, the co-host of "The Five" and "Red Eye" on Fox News. I became a big fan of his over the past year. I love the fact that he is funny, sarcastic, and completely irreverent. And his book is full of straight talk just like his reporting style. This is Greg Gutfeld uncensored, so be warned that there is a lot of profanity and issues that are covered that are completely inappropriate but necessary. If you have thin skin, this is not for you. He makes fun of everything and all sides of the issue. He is also a libertarian, but amazingly, he is basically conservative. I agree with him on almost everything. Honestly.

    The most thought-provoking chapter concerned the government's all-out war on weight loss and eating healthily. I'm not trying to spoil anything for anyone, but let me just say that his contrasting weight loss and bedroom behavior made me stop and think about this issue in a completely different light. I never found myself getting angry at him during the book. What you see with Greg is what you get. You could often tell when he was being serious and when he was not. He speaks a lot of truth encased in humor and sarcasm. and you will not leave the book wondering what he thinks about certain issues. If you are ready to be challenged and possibly even offended, this is a definitely the book for you.

    I own this book, and no one paid me anything to write this review. The author has no idea I own the book, and he doesn't even know who I am. So he did not influence my review in any way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Bios

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Witty Sense of Humor, a must read. Not for the faint hearted. Gr

    Witty Sense of Humor, a must read. Not for the faint hearted. Greg makes fun of the intolerant without being mean spirited. He has facts to back up his statements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I like Greg

    Greg has a great sense of humor. He is a deep thinker. If you are not a fan, you need to have an open mind when you read this. What he says makes sense. I actually learned thing from him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Ha

    Librals are intolorent people. The word used to mean flexible. Not anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3