Customer Reviews for

The Joy of x: A Guided Tour of Math, from One to Infinity

Average Rating 3
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I think it is sad that this book is getting poor reviews because

I think it is sad that this book is getting poor reviews because of technological issues with the Nook. Hopefully these issues reflect how valuable an actual BOOK really is and how pathetically reliant our society is on technology.
Go out and buy this book! Steven Str...
I think it is sad that this book is getting poor reviews because of technological issues with the Nook. Hopefully these issues reflect how valuable an actual BOOK really is and how pathetically reliant our society is on technology.
Go out and buy this book! Steven Strogatz is an incredible mathematician with a unique gift for taking the cold hard facts of mathematics and showing his students and readers just how beautiful the world of math really is. Whether you are a student, a lover of numbers, or even hated math in high school, you will love this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I bought this to read on my NOOK, but was unhappy with the way e

I bought this to read on my NOOK, but was unhappy with the way equations were displayed (it IS a math book). It seemed that they tried to left-justify equations but sent them about 1/2 inch off the edge of the display. From the context I could usually figure out what ...
I bought this to read on my NOOK, but was unhappy with the way equations were displayed (it IS a math book). It seemed that they tried to left-justify equations but sent them about 1/2 inch off the edge of the display. From the context I could usually figure out what was missing, but it was annoying.

posted by curiousDD on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I bought this to read on my NOOK, but was unhappy with the way e

    I bought this to read on my NOOK, but was unhappy with the way equations were displayed (it IS a math book). It seemed that they tried to left-justify equations but sent them about 1/2 inch off the edge of the display. From the context I could usually figure out what was missing, but it was annoying.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Bad formatting renders ebook useless.

    As has been said by the first two reviewers, the ebook version of this puts the math examples partially off the screen, rendering them illegible.

    One star, untill someone fixes the formatting problem that the math examples have. I've notified the publisher (but got no response). I've called B&N customer service but was told it could take 3 weeks or such to be remedied.

    This is the first ebook that I ever paid for. Not a good experience, B&N.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Not formatted correctly.

    Example equations not formatted properly and fall off the edge of the page. Changed font size and turned publisher defalts on and off, still not good. Why doesn't anyone do quality check. Could be good but pretty worthless if you can't follow the examples.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Poor Nook Editing

    I am very disappointed. I bought the version for the Nook at only a $3 discount from the paper version even though there is no cost for printing, shipping, storing, or clearing out remaindered copies. And what did I get for that? Many of the illustrations are too small to be easily understood on the Nook, and some of the mathematical symbols in the text translate to a '?' in a grey box because the Nook doesn't understand them, rendering the accompanying text meaningless unless you are already in the know. I don't think they did any editing or formatting for the digital version at all. The book itself is wonderful but I wish I paid the extra $3. And I am sure that, if I had, the profit margin on the sale would have been significantly less.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I think it is sad that this book is getting poor reviews because

    I think it is sad that this book is getting poor reviews because of technological issues with the Nook. Hopefully these issues reflect how valuable an actual BOOK really is and how pathetically reliant our society is on technology.
    Go out and buy this book! Steven Strogatz is an incredible mathematician with a unique gift for taking the cold hard facts of mathematics and showing his students and readers just how beautiful the world of math really is. Whether you are a student, a lover of numbers, or even hated math in high school, you will love this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Reviews say firmat too bad to download there is no sample

    However all suggest get paperback or from library. Will do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Buy the paperback.  You won't be disappointed.

    Buy the paperback.  You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Format or Die

    I really want to read this book but at $14.85 I'll wait until the formattimg has been corrected.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Format issues?

    I'm eager to read this; the sample is quite inviting. But what is the status of the reported format issues?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    I enjoyed this book as an overview of mathematics - where it cam

    I enjoyed this book as an overview of mathematics - where it came from, how it is used (often in ways I had not recognized), and why I should care. I bought it to have as a reference and share with others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Great essays, perfectly formatted

    Fun series of essays on mathematical topics. The author's take on the Hilbert Hotel was the clearest explanation of the differences between infinites I have read.

    I read this book on my Nook, and experienced no formatting issues; those of you "waiting for the formatting to be corrected" need wait no longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I read the book from front to back and it is worth the read. Try

    I read the book from front to back and it is worth the read. Try it for yourself and take it for a spin at your local library! You'll be glad to add it to your book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I would like to purchase this book for my Nook, but was put-off

    I would like to purchase this book for my Nook, but was put-off by the comments on formatting. As soon as the formatting is corrected I would purchase it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1