Customer Reviews for

The Kashmir Shawl: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

What a story Rosie Thomas was written, she had me walking with t

What a story Rosie Thomas was written, she had me walking with the Characters through the streets in India. I could almost smell the goats, as was described. We experience the life with the Raj, and the slums.
The story begins with the death of her father, Mair finds a ...
What a story Rosie Thomas was written, she had me walking with the Characters through the streets in India. I could almost smell the goats, as was described. We experience the life with the Raj, and the slums.
The story begins with the death of her father, Mair finds a beautiful Kashmir Shawl among the belongings. She also finds an old envelope with some hair stored in it. Thus begins her quest for answers, and her trip to India.
There are actually two stories told here, some of it we know but Mair never has all the answers. Mair's Grandmother Nerys and Grandfather Evan are missionaries to India, with WWII going on in 1941, we are about to experience life there. Nerys spends time with Myrtle, and Carolyn, you will enjoy the fun times they make out adversity.
I really recommend this as a Historical read, so very interesting. Even when Mair goes there, there is fighting between the Hindu's and the Muslims. So very sad.
Putting this combined story together is a real page turner, and even though the book is a bit long, it was a quick read.

I received this book through The Bookreporter giveaway, and was not required to give a positive review.

posted by MaureenST on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

The publication date is 1/10/2013 but there is a four-star ratin

The publication date is 1/10/2013 but there is a four-star rating for this book that is dated 2/21/2012.  What gives???  Does this mean the ratings are all bogus???!!!  Am only giving one star as I have not read book and am wondering about B and N's reviews.

posted by ChattyK on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted May 15, 2013

     The Kashmir Shawl: A Novel, by Rosie Thomas, follows a young gi

     The Kashmir Shawl: A Novel, by Rosie Thomas, follows a young girl by the name of Mair.  While Mair is cleaning out her parents house after their deaths, she finds a beautiful Kashmir Shawl, a picture, and a lock of hair that sparks her interest.  She decides that she will travel to India to find out who the lock of hair belonged to, who is the picture she found, and what the shawls story was!  It turns out that the shawl was Mair's grandmother's, Nerys.  The story then goes back and forth between Mair in present day and Nerys back in the 1940's.




         The author did an amazing job at taking two separate stories and weaving them together into one story with out any confusion.   I'm glad that I decided to take a chance on this amazing book.  It was a page turner from the get go.  I was so entrances with both Mair and Nerys' stories.  I found myself feeling as Mair did, just wanting to know more and understand where the shawl came from.  I would highly recommend this book  to anyone looking for a great read.  Good job to the author, I am looking forward to reading more from Rosie Thomas!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    ¿The Kashmir Shawl¿ is an epic that spans countries and generati

    “The Kashmir Shawl” is an epic that spans countries and generations, following one woman’s search to uncover the story of her grandmother.

    Mair and siblings are sorting through their dead father’s belongings when Mair finds a beautiful shawl, and within the shawl a lock of hair. The exquisite craftsmanship of the shawl captures Mair’s imagination, and she recalls that her grandmother, Nerys, the owner of the shawl, once lived in India with her missionary husband.

    Mair decides to journey to India to uncover her grandmother’s history, and her story alternates with that of Nerys as a young, newly married woman.

    This is an engrossing, interesting novel, and while I enjoyed both perspectives, Nerys’ was my favorite—her devotion to the two friends she makes in India, and her love and sexual awakening with Rainer, made for compelling, emotional reading. While Mair is also a good character, and I enjoyed her journeys through India, it was Nerys who really captured my attention. The author made both an exotic country and a particular era in time come alive for me.

    I would recommend this novel to readers who enjoy historic fiction, fiction about strong bonds between women, and romantic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Mair finds a Kashmir shawl among the possessions of her recently

    Mair finds a Kashmir shawl among the possessions of her recently deceased parents. A lock of hair tucked in the shawl leads the siblings to speculate as to whom the shawl belonged to. Mair, due to her lack of attachments and commitments compared to her two siblings, decides to find out more about the origins of the shawl and sets out to track down the maker and place of origin. A weird reason for an odyssey across the country, perhaps, but it's the one we are given. What follows is Mair's growth and discovery as she meets dozens of new faces, searching for the illusive origins of the shawl. The shawl itself is an absolute mystery, as no one can seem to place how it was even made.

    The characters are varied; native villagers, missionaries from the West, etc. There's a lot of interweaving plotlines and overarching stories, to add to the drama and sense of adventure displayed in the novel.

    This book is kind of a slow burn. Although the introduction captured my attention by having the characters sort through their deceased parent's possessions, it then goes on to spend a good deal of time setting up the characters and their circumstances. The lengthy book and the care the author has taken in crafting the characters will be a boon to some. I was of mixed minds; some subplots I found to be more interesting that others.

    I did enjoy the meticulously crafted setting of Colonial India in the 1940s. I even learned a bit about the process of crafting kashmir shawls. So I give the books credit for transporting me to a far-away place and teaching me new things, which is one reason I love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    This is a story of a grandmother and a granddaughter who travel

    This is a story of a grandmother and a granddaughter who travel the same roads, but in different time period. Mair finds a shawl made of kashmir, and a lock of hair, in her fathers belongings after he passes away. Curiosity grabs a hold of Mair causing her search back to where it came from. She knows that her grandparents were Welsh missionaries in India before and during World War II, so she packs up and sets out for India. 




    The beginning of this book is a bit misguided. I am not sure what the author wants me to think, since there was an abundance of descriptive words. Eventually the author changed the writing style and I found it flowed much easier. 




    The book begins to move back and forth between Mair and her grandmother, Nerys. Nerys experiencing and living the life as a privileged wife in the British Raj. Once the author starts writing about India, you are taken on a ride that will overwhelm all five senses. Each descriptive word helps you to understand how everything must have smelled, tasted, sounded, and felt like. 




    It wasn't until the author made the connection between grandmother and granddaughter, that I found myself completely interested in the book. Up until this point, I didn't dislike or like the book, I was basically neutral about it. 




    I loved how the author was able to interweave the stories to all come together almost as one. There was a great sense of adventure and romance in both lives of Nerys and Mair. Overall I would give this book a 4/5. I neglected one point for the confusion and jumble in the beginning of the book that originally made it hard to get into the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    The Kashmir Shawl, written by Rosie Thomas, is a poignant no

    The Kashmir Shawl, written by Rosie Thomas, is a poignant novel centered around a young woman’s discovery of a beautiful shawl and lock of hair that she finds while cleaning out her deceased parents’ house in Wales. Mair seems to be a bit at loose ends in her life so decides to head to India to discover the story behind the shawl and who the lock of hair belongs to. There are really two stories in this book and the author weaves them together beautifully. One story is Mair’s and her adventures in India while searching for the shawl’s story as well as for who the people are in a picture she finds. The descriptive details of India both present day and in the 1940s are wonderful. They really help the reader to smell, see and hear the country. I found these details drew me in almost as much as the story itself did. The second story is that of Mair’s grandmother, Nerys, as she deals with moving from Wales to India with an emotionally distant husband and the resulting friendships. Also in the book is the story of how Kashmir shawls are made and, if you want to think deeply, this process becomes symbolic of both Mair’s and Nerys’ lives. This is the type of book you pack to take to the beach for a long afternoon of reading. The writing is beautiful and flows over the pages so effortlessly that is transports the reader back in time to Nerys’ life. Rarely does a book do a rich culture like India’s justice but The Kasmir Shawl handles it brilliantly. A must read for summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Rating 4.5 out of 5 The Kashmir Shawl is a beautifully written b

    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Kashmir Shawl is a beautifully written book with a rather interesting plot. The book starts out with Mair and her brother and sister settling their father's estate after his death. While going through the things, Mair comes across an old, gorgeous, Kashmir shawl. It had belonged to their grandmother, Nerys Watkins. Along with the shawl is a clipping of hair and Mair is suddenly gripped with a desire to learn about the history of the shawl along with her grandmother.
    The quest takes Mair all the way to India where she travels the route of the making of the shawl as well as trying to find out where her grandmother would have been and how she possibly could have come by such an exquisite piece of workmanship.




    The book switches back and forth between Mair in the present to Nerys in the past, so you actually get to know all of the story and all of the circumstances that surround the shawl. Nerys was a missionary's wife and was sort of finding it hard to accept her husband's calling. After making some new friends, she goes to stay with them for a time, her husband thinking it would be best for her health. There she finds a whole new world opened to her and the events all start falling into place that will lead to her getting the shawl into her possession.




    I did enjoy reading the book, it was definitely interesting and was very well written. There were a few times that it would shift between the past and present and it'd take me a moment to realize that had occurred so it was a bit confusing if you don't realize the change has happened. The characters were nicely developed and the history was really well laid out so that it all felt real and you could visualize the places, time periods, etc. very well.
    If you enjoy historical romance, mystery, and just an entertaining story, I think you'd enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Lets all start our own clans!!!!!

    My name is Starfire , i am the daughter of Blackshadowand Stargaze .I am 3 moons old and i am a orange tabby with a dimond with a star on my tail i have harsh blue crystal eyes and I am super fast (I can out run the speed pf light) and can jump to amazing heights . I have been sent by my father to find soliders to help us defeat an unknown enemy from the east. If any clan can get this message ......please send help for without help my clan will no longer exist.

    -Starfire

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great REad

    This was a lovely story. It goes back and forth from years ago to the
    present. highlights the difference in things women could do and can do now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Great book. A quest for family history by a daughter.

    Great book. A quest for family history by a daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    I absolutely loved this book. I didn't know what to expect when I ordered it. I was so pleased with the characters and the time period. I looked forward to my "reading time" every day so I could return to The Kashmir Shawl, and now I really miss it since I have finished it. If you enjoy fiction that takes place in foreign places and is based on actual historical facts, this book is for you. I will explore this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommend

    I was not sure what to expect but this was a good read. An unexpected ending for sure.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    do not recommend.

    Not a book I would ever choose again. Did not finish which almost never happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A Page Turner

    I really liked this book. It kept me reading to uncover the secrets of the story line. There was a love story interwoven but not the main thrust of the plot. It was present and past stories together and sometimes they got a little muddled but not so much that I couldn't follow it. I think that could have been solved in the editing by providing a chapter change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Very good read. Highly recommended.

    Very enjoyable read. Only disappointment is that I purchased this as an e-book. I can't convince Mohter (89/years) to make the swtich from paper to 'other', so now I can't share this one with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    A wonderful story of a young woman seeking to find the story of her family and a beautiful shawl that she found among her mother's belongings. Her search takes her to India where her grandparents served as missionaries for many years. The story switches back and forth between today and the time of her grandparent's wedding through WW II. Most of the story setting is the beautiful mountainous northern area of Kashmir, India and takes you into the homes and clubs of the British rulers and the much poorer shacks and businesses of the Indian residents. I absolutely loved this book and was sad when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Worth reading

    This seemed to have mixed reviews so I wasn't sure what to expect. Since it involved two distinct periods of time, it did require keeping the characters straight while bouncing between the two stories. I found this book very interesting, well written and well worth reading. Don't be put off by those who found the character's desire to find the shawl's background too ridiculous. I'm sure there are those who have followed a quest with as little or less information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful Read

    This book combined romance with history and geography. I couldn't put it down. If you like books about families and coincidence this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Really interesting and well writen.

    At first I thought I wouldn't like it because it seemed a bit disjointed but as I read on, all the threads began to weave a really interesting and enjoyable pattern. Who knew Kashmir Shawls were so fascinating and had such meaning. I've heard of them all my life but never owned one. Now, I would like to at least touch one just because of all the effort that goes into making one.

    Again, a tad slow to begin but really good as it gets going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Couldn't get into it

    Wasn't my type of book. Could not get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved it

    I really enjoyed this book. I wish B&N would offer this author,s other books. neysas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4