BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Key (Magnificent 12 Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Im crazy bout it

    Is there something wrong with me because I really like Valin. Seriously is there a 4th book yet?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    I love these books!!!!

    I have been waiting for book 3 to come out and it was worth the wait!! These books just keep getting better and better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Key picks up the story line that started in The Gate, the fi

    The Key picks up the story line that started in The Gate, the first book in the Dark Path series. I have not read The Gate, but it was fairly easy to pick up on the story line and the author does a good job filling in the back story that is necessary to the current plot line. I really enjoyed this book and liked the dual story lines within it, and it was interesting getting a peak into the BDSM world that these characters live in.

    You could really feel Erika’s need to find herself. She’s struggling with the loss of her father and trying to make sense out of her feelings for the two men who have tried to claim her. She’s determined to prove to herself and everyone – especially Max and Chris, her two suitors – that she can make it on her own and be the strong woman that she knows she can be. She had moved to New Orleans to try and get her life in order and make sense of her feelings, but her book is about to release and she must return to New York and face the two men that she ran from. What I loved about Erika is that you could definitely see her becoming a very strong woman, and although she struggled with her submissive reactions and feelings towards Max, you just got the sense she was going to be able to stand on her own two feet no matter what choices she made. When all sorts of craziness erupts around her, Erika has to confront her feelings and make some tough decisions – ones that will set the path to her future in motion.

    Catherine was another story. She has gone back to Raymond, her Master, but is still dealing with feelings that were stirred in her by another man while she was away from Raymond. When she is forced to confront those feelings head on things get a bit nerve-wracking…Raymond demands Catherine’s obedience, and you can just feel the tension as the events unfold around her. It was interesting to watch Catherine struggle with her submissive side, and even though we are left unsure where things will end up, I enjoyed the build-up of emotions that Catherine was trying to sort through.

    Of all the men I think I liked Max the most. As pushy, arrogant and egotistical as he could be, he always had Erika’s welfare at the forefront. And even though Erika continually fought her relationship with Max and tried to not let that spark between them drive all sense of reason from her mind to the point that she felt she was losing herself to him, Max was very aware of Erika’s needs and he didn't try to dominate everything about her. You could really get the sense that Max needed Erika and that need extended beyond a Dom/Sub relationship.

    I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next one to see how things end up for Erika, Catherine and all the men. There were quite a few loose threads left at the end of The Key, but I think the main story lines were complete and the ending did a good job setting up the next book. The author does a good job with her character development and using all the supporting characters effectively to move the story forward and give it added depth. I’ll definitely be coming back for more of K.T. Grant!

    I was given a copy of this book from the author for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Key is book two in the Dark Path series by K.T. Grant.  This

    The Key is book two in the Dark Path series by K.T. Grant.  This book is not one I would recommend reading without reading book one first.  In fact, I really wish I had read book one again before starting this one. I had intended to, but just ran out of time. I really enjoyed book one and wanted to get immersed in the world again before starting this book.
     
    We pretty much start about eight months since the end of book one. Erika has moved to New Orleans with a friend to get away from all the drama (and the two men) that was part of her life in New York. She wanted mostly wanted to get away from everything that happened in the first book.  She not only is she trying to recover from the many things that were thrown at her, she is also in the process of writing, what she expects to be a best selling erotica novel.  She is hoping that this will help save the publishing company that her father built.  It is putting more pressure on her than just a regular book release would on an author, as if that wasn't enough.
     
    Christine talks to Max, that she is going on an extended vacation in Maui.  She plans to go back to her Master, who she has been avoiding for months.  Her hope is to be back in New York in less than a year. Christine has a lot to work through with her Master, from their past and from what has happened while they were apart.  She gets much more page time in this book, which I was really glad to see.  I loved reading her story.
     
    When Max and Erika get back together, he has a real hard time not being the over dominate man that he Dom side wants him to be.  But Erika, is not the same timid girl he first met.  She is much more independent, than the timid woman from the beginning of the series.  That makes things much harder for him, because she doesn't want to take his word as law.  It causes many problems with this relationship that is just starting to be rebuilt.
     
    Overall, I enjoyed this book just as much as book one.  It has some great plot lines between the different characters, there is pretty much two stories going on, one in New Orleans/New York and the one in Maui.  The characters all have very well developed and very strong personalities.  There are some very strong BDSM and menage scenes, which were very well written.
     
    Like book one, this book ends abruptly. I was not real happy with where the story ended.  I'm not a fan of cliffhangers.  I can't believe I have to wait a year for the next book (book three is hopefully coming out in 2015, not sure exactly when). I can't wait to see where this story goes next.
     
    This series is great for readers who like reading the BDSM and menage stories.  The characters are damaged and have a lot of healing to go through, so it is not just sex on the page.
     
    **Book was provided to me by the author. This review is my opinion and was not requested or provoked in anyway by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    My nook sucks

    The book seems good but after i bought it it ehouldent let me read past the sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Good

    I just started reading this but they are pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    good quick read

    this is a good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Hilarious!!!

    This book is hilarious!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Awsome

    Love the bookss

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Aj

    This book sounds awsome you should get it if you can then share with me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1