Customer Reviews for

The Key To The Kingdom

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Could Not Put It Down!

    Fantastic read!
    I could not put it down once I started reading.
    Disney fans will love the adventure and detail Jeff Dixon has put into the novel. It is packed with great characters and a thrilling story that will leave the reader wanting more.

    Book clubs will love discussing it, Disney fans will be taking it to theme parks, and those who love a great adventure will like the fast paced creative story telling!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    VERY INTREGING, ENTertaining read

    This was a very enjoyayable read! This story is loaded with Disney trivia, facts and the reader is able to leave home and visit Disney World! Everything written was just as how I remember the park. The writer takes his reader on a quest thoughout the Magic Kingdom. He was able to fully emerse the reader, feeling as if you are right alongside Hawk and Mickey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    If you are a Disney fan, add this to your must read list!

    The book starts by throwing you right in to the middle of the mystery. In a mysterious meeting with his long time friend Hawk, a florida preacher, is given a key and a few clues that lead him into a week long adventure through Walt Disney World. During his journey the preacher uncovers and shares little known Disney trivia and secrets that will keep any disney fan yearning for more (I myself am now planning my next trip!). Along with some trusted friends, a few enemies along the way, and Mickey Mouse, Hawk travels through the parks focusing on details and searching for answers. The author of this book compares it to the Davinci Code and I would say that is a pretty accurate portrayal with all the clues and enemies he encounters.

    I am a huge Disney fan, and have been to both Disneyland and Disney World many times. I found myself right back in the park along with Hawk as he searched for clues. I was intrigued by all of the well researched trivia in the book. I have been on the backlot tour in Disney a few times and have learned a ton more from reading this book. It was a good ending, although I had hoped for a certain character to re-appear in some twist. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a big Disney fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Kindgom Is Unlocked

    To be honest I wasn't sure what I was going to be reading when I picked up this book. What I found was a thriller/mystery/adventure/romance loaded with fun! I loved the story and wanted more!

    I can't wait to go to the theme parks with my book in hand to discover all the places mentioned. I also hope there is a sequel and the story of Grayson Hawkes continues.

    If you are a Disney fan then this is a must read. If you like thrillers with unexpected clues then this is your book as well. And if you like fast paced stories that are an escape then by all means check out this story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great Book, a must read for every Disney Fan

    This is a great book that will grab your attention from the first chapter and keep it until the book is over. Hawk, a Pastor for a church in Celebration, FL is given an amazing gift from an old friend, who is an Imagineer at Disney. He is given the key to the kingdom. This book takes you on a whirlwind adventure through the parks of Walt Disney World in Orlando, FL and the story has you rooting for the characters and wondering about others. Filled with all sorts of Disney trivia that the average person would never know, this book could be a great companion to bring with you to the theme parks and find all the things mentioned in the book.

    Do yourself a favor and order this book and sit back and enjoy the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    I was at Epcot years ago, but otherwise know very little about D

    I was at Epcot years ago, but otherwise know very little about Disney World or Disney trivia.  I was immediately drawn into the story
    when a friend gives Hawk a key and a clue and then disappears.  From then on, I felt like I was on a roller coaster ride.  Hawk figures out
    a clue, receives another one and off he goes again.  He hardly has time to sleep because he knows enemies are on his trail and are
    trying to steal his finds.  When the story ends, I'm ready to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I highly recommend this intriguing mystery to any fan of Walt Di

    I highly recommend this intriguing mystery to any fan of Walt Disney and the World he created. 

    I normally do not read many fiction books but gave this one a shot since it was about one or two of my favorite subjects, Walt Disney
    and Walt Disney World. It did not disappoint and  kept me interested and not wanting to put it down once I got started.

    The facts about Walt Disney and Walt Disney World woven into the story were very interesting and informative to me.
    I have read many books on Walt Disney (not as many as the author) and consider myself fairly knowledgeable about
    the man and his magic but I learned many new facts while enjoying this book.

    If you are a fan of Walt Disney, his creativity, his works, you will enjoy this book! Get it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Jeff Dixon does not disappoint in this fabulous novel centered i

    Jeff Dixon does not disappoint in this fabulous novel centered in Walt Disney World...a magical mystery with great characters. I couldn't put this book down. Don't hesitate to pick up a copy today if you are a Disney fan and enjoy a good story! You will LOVE this book! I can't wait for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Great DisneyWorld Mystery

    Great Disney World Mystery. Fun to relive park memories and find new things to explore on your next visit to WDW. And you also get a good Mystery to go along with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Couldnt be better(;

    Omg omg its amazing for all ages , reaaaad .<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Are their secrets hidden within the walls of the Magic Kingdom waiting to be discovered?

    Who hasn't heard of Walt Disney, Disneyland, The Magic Kingdom or anything related to Disney in general?

    Some of us have grown up with Disney in some form or another for most of our lives and know what dreams can do for those of us willing to dare to live them.

    Farren Rales is one of the chief Imagineers working for the Magic Kingdom and when he calls Grayson Hawkes, a pastor of Celebration Community Church and asks him to meet him at the Gamble House. The Gamble House is a piece of property that is now part of the National Historical Society and is the inspiration come to life of Snow White's cottage from Disney's Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

    It's late at night for a secret meeting with Farren and Hawkes as they wander around the inside of the cottage learning about Disney's fascination for details within a story. He leaves Hawkes with a gift, an old key that he claims is the Key to the Kingdom. When he looks up to inquire more about what the key means, Farren has vanished into the dark of night.

    As Hawkes leaves the cottage, he learns that he is not the only one in the park at night. Running for his car, he barely manages to escape with his life. When Farren fails to show up for work, his secretary grows worried and returns Hawkes calls since he was the last person to see him. Not knowing what to do or where Farren is, he gets worried and believes that the clues to what is happening lie within the Magic Kingdom and what exactly that key will unlock.

    Now Hawkes finds himself in a Disney-like National Treasure scavenger hunt, unlocking riddles that lead him to more clues within the Animal Kingdom, The Disney Resort, and Epcot Center with a stuffed Pal Mickey that becomes activated with hidden sensors located throughout the park guiding him to the next clue.

    What he will ultimately discover is the Disney Magic may be more real than we have been led to believe and perhaps there is a whole lot more reality mixed in then we know.

    I received the mystery novel, The Key to the Kingdom by Jeff Dixon, compliments of Bring It On Communication for my honest review. Being a huge Disney fan since I was a child, my child-like wonder has never left and I was captivated by the way the author wove this mystery around Disney facts and trivia that most of us walk by in our day to day visits of the park and never give it a second thought. Do tunnels really exist below the park? Is Walt Disney really sealed in a cryogenic cylinder waiting for a cure for cancer? Is there really a Snow White Cottage in Port Orange, Florida and inspired Disney to create Disneyland?

    Who knows until you read this book and decide for yourself is this really fiction or perhaps a Disney magic way of covering up the secrets of the park! I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars and now it has a place of permanence in my personal library because the kid in me, still believes in magic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Exciting!

    If you're a fan of Disney, you're going to love this book! The Key to the Kingdom by Jeff Dixon, is about pastor Grayson Hawkes whose old friend, an Imagineer at Disney World, gives him an antique key before he mysteriously disappears. A suspenseful adventure ensues as "Hawk" tries to figure out what he must do. A trail of clues and characters lead him on a dangerous race through the streets of Disney World, where the people and things he encounters are not always what they seem to be. The adventure is complicated by the appearance of a mysterious woman. "Hawk" finds his faith tested. Will he find his missing friend? The author mixes fiction with facts about Disney World to the point that it almost makes you start questioning what you thought you knew about the Magic Kingdom. The Key to the Kingdom is an interesting, fast read. and it will make you want to go to Disney World to check out some of these 'clues' for yourself. Being a Disney fan, I loved the book. Even if you're not that into Disney, I recommend this book. It's an action-filled treasure hunt that will keep you guessing until the very end! I'd love to read more from this author, and based on the last chapter I think there's a good possibility of a sequel. I received a free copy of this book from Bring It On Communications to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An edge-of-your-seat joy ride thru the Magic Kingdom~!

    The Key to the Kingdom is a fantastic journey of mystery, intrigue and innuendos that is sure to capture the heart of everyone who peruses its pages. Once the book is picked up and begun, you will feel the need to complete it. The allure is hard to resist and its fast-paced, extremely informative, imaginative and believable tale is sure to become a favourite with all who are captured within its pages. Grayson Hawkes is a minister whose approach to preaching is contemporary as he uses artistic mediums to relate the tale of the bible to his parishioners, making him a favourite and his church quite popular. A friend, and trusted confidante invites Grayson to meet him at the historic Snow White Cottage owned by James Gamble for a late-night tryst. It is here that the mysteries of Walt Disney World begin to unfold. Handing Grayson a key and the first piece in a perplexing puzzle of clues, the course is set and we are on our way, racing through the streets, concessions and attractions that make up Walt Disney World to unravel the mystery that has been placed before us. You are left breathless as you are lead from one clue to another, wondering who you can trust and who is your enemy. Gathering a group of folks you believe to be those who have your best interests at heart, you step into the web of intrigue and are lead one step closer, through interesting tidbits of Walt Disney history, to the mystery, that is, the key to the kingdom. When I was first approached to review this book, I almost shied away, I am not a huge fan of the Walt Disney corporation as it stands today. I grew up with Walt in my living room in the early 70's, not even realizing, at the time, that he was already gone from us. To me, he was like a grandfather, who kind and wise words made me feel good about myself. I decided to read it anyhow and I am really pleased that I did! I rarely give a 5 out of 5 rating but The Key to the Kingdom deserves such and I highly recommend to anyone who is a Disney buff (I knew more about Walt Disney than I thought I did, and still, I enjoyed reading it), those who love a good, fast-paced mystery or those who like to solve riddles ( I must admit, this was a real high point for me, it brought out my natural sense of puzzle solving and on numerous occasions, I found myself yelling out my answers to Grayson as the book progressed, LOL). The only thing I regret about this opportunity, is that I didn't opt in for the interview with the author, Jeff Dixon, I would have liked to have picked his brain a little more. I was impressed with his bio which states he researches ancient manuscripts (what I would give to be able to do something such as this) and examines them for content, meaning, understanding and then, using illustrations, he describes his research to listeners at the Covenant Community Church in Central Florida. I hope to be able to read more from Jeff, either with a sequel to The Key to the Kingdom (there may have been a hint at the end of the book alluding to this) or via any other literary projects. This is truly a wonderful book, sure to be enjoyed by folks of all ages!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thrill ride even Walt would approve of!

    Did you read the Davinci Code? If you did, and you like that style of mystery, you are REALLY going to enjoy this book! I could NOT put it down! There is SO much here! A great mystery that unfolds at the perfect pace, lots and lots of behind the scenes (underground) info on Disney World, trivia about Walt Disney and the company he founded, a lot of action chases, suspense if Hawk will find the solution to the mystery and who will end up being the good guys/bad guys, and lots of adventure! WHEW!


    Seriously, I loved this book from moment one. Course it coulda been because I love the name Grayson Hawkes- doesn't it just sound like a guy you want to know and be around? Like adventure is gonna follow him everywhere he goes? Making him a pastor gives the story an unique twist and allows for faith to come into play more than once. I'm sure there will be alot of debate as to how much of the story is real, and if their really is a conspiracy behind the park and Disney's death. Dixon does SUCH a great job at combining fact and fiction, that you'll be searching Google when you're done, trying to figure out which is which!


    i know you are wishing I was giving away this copy, but like The Davinci Code, I want to keep it for when we take kiddo to Disney World. I want to go through and note the details and unique aspects that Dixon mentions and see them in person. Like his story, when you present something in a way we are used to seeing, it's amazing how much the mind fills in, even if it's not there. By the time you finish this book I know for sure that you will be even more stunned at the sheer genius that was Walt Disney. Take the trip in this book and you will NOT regret it-even if you're not a huge Disney fan-it is SO interesting and a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    A Must Read for Avid Disney Fans

    Grayson Hawkes is not your typical pastor, but he has a passion for his calling. He also has a zeal for all things Disney. When his good friend Farren sets up a curious late night meeting, Hawkes has no idea what he is getting himself into. Suddenly, he finds himself with a clue, a key, and a mysteriously missing friend.

    What began as a strange late night meeting with a friend turns into a crazy mystery. One clue leads to another. Will he be able to figure out the clues found at Walt Disney World in time? Will the clues lead him to his missing friend? What does all of this mean? Hawkes' love for his friend propels him into action.

    Curiosity ~ Confusion ~ Concern

    Join Dr. Hawkes in his quest for answers as he explores the Magic Kingdom where dreams can come true. Disney trivia will help unravel the clues and solve the mystery. Readers will be held in suspense until the very end of this exciting adventure.

    "Whatever happens good or bad, I remind myself God is in charge, and because He is in charge, I don't spend a lot of time asking why. Instead I focus on what I should do or how I should react." ~ Hawkes

    While this book is fiction, the line between fact and fiction is often blurred. There is a good bit of fact interwoven into the exciting story. As I read the book, I found myself being drawn back into the fantasy world that is known as the Magic Kingdom. I started remembering seeing things for the first time as a child. The book held my attention to the very end. Not all was what it seemed which allowed for an interesting ending.

    The excitement and passion that an avid Disney fan exudes fills every page of this book. If you've ever been to Disney, it will bring back memories that may have been long forgotten. Although the book is definitely geared towards Disney fans, I believe that many readers will enjoy the story.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. A positive review was not guaranteed, and no monetary compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Tell Me There Is Another One Coming!

    I read some of the early reviews of this book and thought, "why not?"
    I am a huge fan of Walt Disney, love the history of the man, the movies, and the theme parks. This is a story that exploded into my imagination and would not let me go.

    I found the novel to be fast paced. It reminded me of a theme park thrill ride. I was rooting for the characters, trying to guess what the next twist would be, and found myself blown away by the action, the mystery, and the ending. I am hoping that there is another story coming where we can follow the adventure of Grayson Hawkes.

    Dixon has done an incredible job of storytelling. He has actually told the story in a way that would have made Walt himself proud. This is a can't miss for any Disney fan. But beyond that this is an smart, well written, high velocity thriller. I loved the way the mystery unfolded. It was fun and at the same time made me wish I was the one solving it. If you like a good page turner then this book must be on your must read list!

    I can't wait for the next installment. It was like riding a ride that you absolutely loved and you wished there was more and it wasn't ending. I will be first in line to ride again next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1