Customer Reviews for

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

This book

Man this series has been so goodneven though there was a little bit of language but other than that if i could i would give this series a 1,000,000,000 from a scale of 1-10!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

82 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

Scales of 1 to 10

James Dashner has done it again! In this prequel to The Maze Runner, friendship, love, and humanity are put to the test.

Scales (1 to 10)

Characters - 6
The characters in this book aren't as likeable as those in The Maze Runner. The just don't have the same pizazz as ...
James Dashner has done it again! In this prequel to The Maze Runner, friendship, love, and humanity are put to the test.

Scales (1 to 10)

Characters - 6
The characters in this book aren't as likeable as those in The Maze Runner. The just don't have the same pizazz as Thomas and his friends in the maze.

Writing - 7
Dashner definity improved his writing tecniques since The Maze Runner trilogy. However, sometimes I felt as though the author was only writing certain selections for the sole purpose of appealing to young people through unecassary violence and romance.

Violence - 9
The book is packed full of action seens. Although it's not as violent as The Maze Runner or even The Hunger Games. The gore is kept to a minimum although parents and teahers should be wary.

Sexuality/Sensuality - 4
The main character, Mark, has a girlfriend. The do hug and kiss on some occasions. Towards the begining of the book, his girlfriend makes a joke about the two of them having sex and later in the book, they spend the night togeather but the book goes into no further details.

Drugs/Alchol - 2
There are a few minor alchol references in the book, but nothing extreme.

Swearing - 4
Mild inapropriate language is used. Words such as "damn," "hell," and "bastard".

Sexism/Prejuicism/Racism - 3
There are practically no strong female characters in the book.

Recomended minimum age of reader: 12

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I think the book was amazing!

    The book had an amazing story through out and very vivid in detail. Right away the book was great. It was exciting when the book was being set up; most book are boring when being set up. It is definetly one of my favorite books! Make sure to also read the maze runner seriese.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend this entire series!

    The is a great prequel to the Maze Runner Trilogy. It answers a great number of questions I've had from the first page of the Maze Runner. I enjoy James Dashner's writing style, even as a "not-so-young-adult" reader. The story line keeps the reader engaged from the first page until the last and leaves you wanting more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Decent......

    Yes it does tie up some loose ends from maze runner trilogy but i could be a completely different series. It did not connect to the gladers from the trilogy. And it had very little down time, they finish one task and bam another problem presents itself. But besides that it was a great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    I was very disappointed with this prequel. I loved the Maze Run

    I was very disappointed with this prequel. I loved the Maze Runner
    series so I pre-ordered this book months ago. The writing was subpar
    and quite repetitive. The character development was lacking, to say the
    least, and entirely unbelievable. Such an amazing story deserved more
    of an effort from the writer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Mind-blowing

    This book was insane! I was hesitant to read it at first because the story takes place with completely different characters, but I'm glad I did. The story starts before the Maze (obviously), and right as the flares begin. James Dashner is incredibly talented, twisting this book so that it all comes together with the rest of the series. The end of it all blew me away! This is an absolute must-read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    One my favorite books of all time

    I loved it.i havent read death cure yet but i cant wait. 5 stars.if u dont want to purchase it then get it from a library but ur realy missing out on this action packed,sad,happy,slow,fast,and creative story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Breath taking

    This book did not give away to my expectations!!!!! It was just so wonderful!! Although it was a bit cunfusing at first lol. XD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    loved it

    loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It is the prequel to "The Maze

    I really enjoyed this book. It is the prequel to "The Maze Runner", and tells the story of a small group of friends that survive the sun flares. They are living in a small settlement when a ship comes and shoots most of them with darts. These darts cause everyone to get sick, and this group of friends decide to investigate. This decision takes them all on an adventure that may cost them their lives.
    I found this book very interesting. There is a good dose of violence throughout the book, and being a teenage boy, I really appreciated it. You should really read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Predicatable

    I had a hard time finishing this book. I don't if it's because it was too predictable, any literary mind could have know most of the events and themes in this book by simply reading the series, or if I've just had other things on my mind (like 20 new books to read). I devoured the Series in a matter of days but it took me weeks to finish The Kill Order. I easily found excuses as to other things I could spend my time doing, and once I picked it up I was easily bored and distracted.
    While I do not suggest this book, I do however suggest The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and The Death Cure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Not very good

    I do not think this book is a good addicon to the seires. It was more like the auther said i can more money off if this then this will a good add to the seires. I got it from the lybrary and would still notrecomend reading it. The story seemed generly pointless with no real ending. It does comfirm the start of the flare but it seem like hafe a story leaving you with more questions then answers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Incredible

    This is the best book ever!!!!! This book is so well written it makes it seem as if i could hav really been there

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Awesome book!

    The only reason i give this book four stars instead of five is because the ending dosent tell you anything that happed to the main charactrs. You should defanatly read this book and after your done read the third book in the series again it makes the book even more awesome XD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Very disappointed

    I enjoyed Maze Runner. But this book did not compare. Very dull with nothing but fighting. Don't waste your time. Very difficult to even finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A Great Read-- Fans of the Maze Runner should definitely read it.

    While I did not love it as much as a loved the original series it's still a really great book that gives some interesting background on the series:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    WOW

    People should hatch their language. Just because they lie the book they should not say words like that.
    Any way i cant wait till it comes out toread

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Great

    Terrrific

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    The Kill Order ties the Maze Runner series back to the beginning. As always, James Dashner's skilled use of suspense and detail kept me anxious and I never wanted to put this book down. Loved it and didn't want the series to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Not sure what to think

    I have not read the book yet but it starts with completly different characters than the first three books and I only got the sample of the book and it has some really boring beginning parts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    To send request

    Whats your name last name and email so i can make you a friend ???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16