Customer Reviews for

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This book

Man this series has been so goodneven though there was a little bit of language but other than that if i could i would give this series a 1,000,000,000 from a scale of 1-10!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Scales of 1 to 10

James Dashner has done it again! In this prequel to The Maze Runner, friendship, love, and humanity are put to the test.

Scales (1 to 10)

Characters - 6
The characters in this book aren't as likeable as those in The Maze Runner. The just don't have the same pizazz as ...
James Dashner has done it again! In this prequel to The Maze Runner, friendship, love, and humanity are put to the test.

Scales (1 to 10)

Characters - 6
The characters in this book aren't as likeable as those in The Maze Runner. The just don't have the same pizazz as Thomas and his friends in the maze.

Writing - 7
Dashner definity improved his writing tecniques since The Maze Runner trilogy. However, sometimes I felt as though the author was only writing certain selections for the sole purpose of appealing to young people through unecassary violence and romance.

Violence - 9
The book is packed full of action seens. Although it's not as violent as The Maze Runner or even The Hunger Games. The gore is kept to a minimum although parents and teahers should be wary.

Sexuality/Sensuality - 4
The main character, Mark, has a girlfriend. The do hug and kiss on some occasions. Towards the begining of the book, his girlfriend makes a joke about the two of them having sex and later in the book, they spend the night togeather but the book goes into no further details.

Drugs/Alchol - 2
There are a few minor alchol references in the book, but nothing extreme.

Swearing - 4
Mild inapropriate language is used. Words such as "damn," "hell," and "bastard".

Sexism/Prejuicism/Racism - 3
There are practically no strong female characters in the book.

Recomended minimum age of reader: 12

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Scales of 1 to 10

    James Dashner has done it again! In this prequel to The Maze Runner, friendship, love, and humanity are put to the test.

    Scales (1 to 10)

    Characters - 6
    The characters in this book aren't as likeable as those in The Maze Runner. The just don't have the same pizazz as Thomas and his friends in the maze.

    Writing - 7
    Dashner definity improved his writing tecniques since The Maze Runner trilogy. However, sometimes I felt as though the author was only writing certain selections for the sole purpose of appealing to young people through unecassary violence and romance.

    Violence - 9
    The book is packed full of action seens. Although it's not as violent as The Maze Runner or even The Hunger Games. The gore is kept to a minimum although parents and teahers should be wary.

    Sexuality/Sensuality - 4
    The main character, Mark, has a girlfriend. The do hug and kiss on some occasions. Towards the begining of the book, his girlfriend makes a joke about the two of them having sex and later in the book, they spend the night togeather but the book goes into no further details.

    Drugs/Alchol - 2
    There are a few minor alchol references in the book, but nothing extreme.

    Swearing - 4
    Mild inapropriate language is used. Words such as "damn," "hell," and "bastard".

    Sexism/Prejuicism/Racism - 3
    There are practically no strong female characters in the book.

    Recomended minimum age of reader: 12

    81 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting.

    I was really looking forward to this prequel to the Maze Runner trilogy because I thoroughly enjoyed those books. (Team Minho FTW) However, this wasn't what I was expecting. There's a prologue and epilogue that focus on the characters of the Glade but other than that, this is a completely different story with new characters. It's still interesting and action packed with characters as intense as the ones we've come to know but for fans looking for more information on Thomas, Teresa, or Brenda, they might be disappointed. I was hoping for more background on the Gladers themselves. For those readers who are just beginning the series, I would say to this is a good place to start.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Decent......

    Yes it does tie up some loose ends from maze runner trilogy but i could be a completely different series. It did not connect to the gladers from the trilogy. And it had very little down time, they finish one task and bam another problem presents itself. But besides that it was a great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Predicatable

    I had a hard time finishing this book. I don't if it's because it was too predictable, any literary mind could have know most of the events and themes in this book by simply reading the series, or if I've just had other things on my mind (like 20 new books to read). I devoured the Series in a matter of days but it took me weeks to finish The Kill Order. I easily found excuses as to other things I could spend my time doing, and once I picked it up I was easily bored and distracted.
    While I do not suggest this book, I do however suggest The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and The Death Cure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I think the end was stupid. Remember when in doubt (and the worl

    I think the end was stupid. Remember when in doubt (and the world is being overrun by bloodthirsty lunatics)
    never kill youself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    3 1/2 stars. Great trilogy

    Great read. Highly recommend them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Not sure what to think

    I have not read the book yet but it starts with completly different characters than the first three books and I only got the sample of the book and it has some really boring beginning parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Free pink ipad

    Kiss your hands three times repost this on three different books look under your pillow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    :T dont know...

    Maybe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Hmmmm.

    Not what I expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Ok

    It was an ok book. it took a while to actually come together w the first book the maze runner and at times i was lost and kind of slowed down from reading this book. Not as good as i thought it would be considering where it left off from the first book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Good

    Good but not as good as the other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    In this prequel to The Maze Rumner we finally see how the world

    In this prequel to The Maze Rumner we finally see how the world went from the world we know in our world to that of the bare, sun blistering land full of insane blood-hungry diseased people.  It follows Mark and Trina as they navigate the world's bizarre occurrences.  The sun flares have already occurred but there are flashback to before this event through Mark's dreams.  I definitely think this one should be read last in this series.

    On the story...
    While I wanted to know the background of the problems introduced in The Maze Runner and subsequent books, it would have been more enjoyable if integrated into the other books are made into a--dare I say--novella.  It was hard to get attached to the new characters.  I go to the point where I lost interest in the plot every once in while.  I sometimes zoned out but never really missed anything.  It wasn't a bad installment but it wouldn't have been necessary if Mr. Dashner done better world building in the other books.

    On the narrator...
    Mr. Deakins continues once again to amaze me with the depth of his talent.  We are introduced to even more characters with very distinct voices.  At no time is there an overlap or confusion.  I'll definitely be looking for this narrator in the future.

    Overall...
    I'm always glad to get more answers and I valued the plot and information in this installment.  I just think I would have appreciated it if introduced in the other books instead of a long drawn out book.  As for the series, I still think The Maze Runner was the best of the series.  If I could do it over again, I'd still read the entire series even though I wasn't satisfied with all of the installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    When is this book gonna be released in paperback??

    When is this book gonna be released in paperback??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I think the series was engaging and definitely a page-turner. T

    I think the series was engaging and definitely a page-turner. There may have been a little too much redundancy of certain characters' internal dialogue and "feelings" that seemed to be repeated over and over again. Easy to overlook, though. While I enjoyed reading the prequel, "The Kill Order", I was hoping to know more about the genesis of the "Maze Runner" as it is related to the Glade and Scorch Trials characters. Maybe there is enough interest by us avid readers for Mr. Dashner to write a sequel to the prequel that concludes with Thomas entering the Box. Overall, well done and a great read. 57 year old reader and still a young adult at heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Different

    This was not how i expected this book to be. It is a completely different story line with different characters, with what i would consider a weak attempt to tie it to the rest of the series. Dont get me wrong, once things started happening i couldnt put it down! But i found myself with many of the same questions rolling around in my head as before i read it. Excellent book as far as story line goes for these particular characters. Horrible execution of explanation of thomas' history with the people hes working for in the future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    recommended if you read the other books

    I picked up The Kill Order because of the high reviews. I havent read the Maze Runner. It was compared to Hunger Games and Insurgent. Other than being a survival based book they have nothing in common. The reading level was maybe 5th grade. Limited word usage. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    First, I love James Dashner--love him. I LOVE both The Maze Runn

    First, I love James Dashner--love him. I LOVE both The Maze Runner series and The 13th Reality series, and I don't think I have ever given him less than a 5 star rating for anything . . . until now. This book was a trial for me. I trudged my way through it, s-l-o-w-l-y, simply because it was Dashner. I don't think I would have finished it, had it been written by anyone else. Part of me wants to say it's because it was too dark, but I love dark books. Besides, a prequel to The Maze Runner would HAVE to be dark.

    Ultimately, I think it came down to the characters for me. There wasn't anyone I felt attached to. There wasn't anyone I thought "might" pull through and make it beyond the pages of Kill Order and into the pages of Maze. It was TOO hopeless. The Maze series always left me with some kind of hope, but there was NO HOPE in this book--at least not for its characters. It was almost "work" to get to the end, because I knew no one in the story (with one unresolved exception) would get there with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Bummer

    Man this book was a bummer. I mean it answered some of the questions but he should not have put it like a persons life story. I did show a least how the flare got realesed and how Thomas came to be. But he wrote the book in third person when he should have written it in first. To add insult to injury he should have done first person from Thomas mom, but instead he wrote third person from a guy that was not even a relative of Thomas. And the short chapters did not work to good in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2