Customer Reviews for

The Killer Wore Leather: An S/M Mystery

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Review from Sommer Marsden: I really can't say enough good thing

    Review from Sommer Marsden:
    I really can't say enough good things about this book! I loved it. Tongue in cheek and cheeks in assless leather chaps, The Killer Wore Leather is fun and sexy and beyond entertaining. An honest to goodness mystery wrapped in a fabulously kinky setting. It's the most fun (paired with a glass of wine) I've had--with my clothes on--in ages!

    And can I just say, I ♥ Slave Bitsy! We see eye to eye on bondage and our dominants. When I finally got the full bulk of her part of the story I was downright giddy. Bitsy and I could hang. I'd like to buy her a beer or three.

    Overall, wonderful book. I'll definitely be reading more Laura Antoniou.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    The Killer Wore Leather: An S/M Mystery Ms. Antoniou has definit

    The Killer Wore Leather: An S/M Mystery Ms. Antoniou has definitively demonstrated that even in a murder mystery, scared cow makes the best hamburger! This is a vibrant tale with well developed characters and an insider's look at the world of Leather and BDSM conventions and contests.

    Set in a swank Manhattan hotel, our author spins a compelling yarn about the murder of the retiring Global Mr. Leather, Mack Steel. It seems that Mack has made enemies of practically every part of the kink community with his abrasive personality and bigoted views, opening up potential pool of suspects so wide that the investigation detective despairs of finding killer before the crowd disperses back to their respective locales making the task almost infinitely more difficult. Add in the heat from the brass, journalists trying to make their mark, the producers, and protesters and the pot quickly bubbles on its way to boiling over.

    This is also the tale of our protagonist, Detective Rebecca Feldblum of the Midtown East Precinct, who despite being one of the few "out" lesbian detectives in NYC is dismayed to find out that she has been handed this case. Her lieutenant's belief that these are "her people," grates on her because she believes nothing could be farther from the truth. It is equally the story of Nancy Nichols, a jaded journalist who wishes she had been assigned almost any other story than the Global Mr. and Ms. Global leather and Bootblack contest, at least until the murder is discovered. As we watch their investigations unfold, viewing the spectacle of a world of dominants, masters and mistresses; submissives and slaves; boys and bois (oops, I almost forgot the bootblacks!) dressed in leather, latex, lingerie or nothing at all through the eyes of the uninitiated, it morphs into an all too human view into the world of conventions and title competitions. In an environment where appearances are often more important than substance, we get an insight into the human relationships and learn that what looks laughable can actually be a deep, meaningful, and satisfying exploration of the human condition.

    If you have ever attended a kink convention, or for that matter any kind of convention with a contest, you will delight in finding your own local personalities featured in this story, I know I did! This is a well-crafted story by an internationally renowned author, and it is every bit the story I expected from Laura Antoniou and more. Belly up to the bar and grab this one, it is funny and satisfying on many levels and I, for one, hope we see a lot more of Rebecca and Nancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Writing is not my strong point (I've never reviewed a book on-li

    Writing is not my strong point (I've never reviewed a book on-line), but I love to read and Laura Antoniou's The Killer Wore Leather is funny, smart, sexy and a boat-load of fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    You will like this book. You may even love this book, the way I

    You will like this book.
    You may even love this book, the way I do. What I'm saying is that you don't have to be part of the kink community to enjoy The Killer Wore Leather. You can learn about it along with Nancy, the reporter who feels put upon to have to cover such a dog of an event: the Mr. and Ms. Global Leather and Boot Black contest. You'll like it because, here's the deal: it's a murder mystery, and you like murder mysteries.
    And, if you happen to be a part of said kink community, you will LOVE it for its hilarious representation, hey, you might even see yourself caricatured within its pages -- you know your friends will... And actually, if you've ever been to a convention of any size, academic, science fiction, romance, engineering, you name it, the book translates.
    I have been a fan of Laura Antoniou's writing and wit since I picked up my first Marketplace book way back when. She's a brilliant teller of tales who knows how to turn a phrase -- turn it on its ear. Not only is the plot riviting (because you really do want to know who killed Mac Steele, ass that he is -- and when you think you know, you're wrong...just saying) but the book is laugh-out-loud funny. From Boy Jack to Boy Jack (yes, there are two) to the fabulous acronyms for all the groups and organizations (be sure to spell them out as you read!) you won't be able to put this book down and you won't be able to stop laughing.
    Writing comedy is a real gift. This book holds its own well with the likes of Christopher Buckley, Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, (oh, and maybe a little Damn You, Autocorrect, too) not for its content, but for it's wit, style and outrageous humor. I'm not going to rehash the plot. Others have already done that. Simply know that you will like the book, regardless of who you are or where you come from. So do yourself a favor and give yourself a little present.
    In full disclosure, I was given an advanced reader copy by the publisher--but I would have loved it just as much if I'd bought it with my own hard-earned money...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I laughed the entire way.  Witty, eloquent, entertaining and wel

    I laughed the entire way.  Witty, eloquent, entertaining and well worth every dollar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    My partner and I are reading this book aloud to each other, and

    My partner and I are reading this book aloud to each other, and we love it.  The characters are rich, funny and in depth.  We care for so many of the characters that we don't want any of them to be the killer and it's very reminiscent of people in the scene.   There have been times where we say loudly, "oh I know who that is."  It's very believable and accurate.  If you are in the scene great, if you aren't and are curious great.  She treats each of the kinks with a kid glove so to speak, in that you understand more fully who and why people do these things.  I can't spoil the ending because we are reading the book slowly, savoring each word and scene.  We hope that Laura continues writing more mysteries, we don't want the book to end, but we so desperately want to find out who did the deed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I have been a fan of Laura¿s Marketplace series for years and I

    I have been a fan of Laura’s Marketplace series for years and I just love a good murder mystery. So when I heard LA was writing a murder mystery I eagerly awaited publication. Laura did not disappoint with her first move into this genre. Not only does she provide us with a great murder mystery but also treats us to an insider’s satirical look into the kink community. The book is full of brilliantly descriptive characters that leap off the page. By far my favorites were the two women, experiencing their first exposure to the world of kink: Det. Rebecca Feldblum and reporter Nancy Nichols. Being a novice to the kink community my thoughts and comments very much mirrored theirs. I so loved the whole “Zodian” aspect, maybe because this is the aspect of the community I know best and she hit the ball out of the park with her parody. The twist with Mickey Abraham had me laughing so hard I almost fell out of my chair, just imagining how such a revelation would go over. I know slave Bitsy too...only by another name... don’t we all? This book has everything good murder mysteries need, deviously fun sub-plots, characters that make you care, and shocking twists and turns, leading to the surprise whodunit. Laura provides us with all of this with a side of kinky thrown in too...blissful reading...pure bliss! If you have not read it yet...go get it now, you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I could not put this book down! Laura has a way of drawing you i

    I could not put this book down! Laura has a way of drawing you into the setting she has created and make you care about the characters within. She has done a wonderful job in weaving a story that is amusing, mysterious, exciting, and a facetious take on a community that needs to learn to laugh at itself. I truly hope she will continue in this genre and revive the characters of Rebecca and Dominick in future novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    What a great read! You don't have to be into S/M to enjoy this

    What a great read! You don't have to be into S/M to enjoy this book. If you have ever been part of building a public event, you will identify with the people inhabiting Laura Antoniou's "The Killer wore Leather". From passionate soccer mom to science fiction filk singer, everyone has something and Antoniou's uninhibited handling of the hubris egos and codified moirés that go into creating the "Global Leather Contest" are spot on and hilarious! I'm thinking of starting a Mickey Abraham fan club...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    A new genre and yet another amazing book. In usual style nothing

    A new genre and yet another amazing book. In usual style nothing was held back and I found myself laughing so hard in parts the book should have come with a drink warning. I couldn't put it down and even missed an event because of it, but I am sure the Leather community will forgive me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1