Customer Reviews for

The Killing of Mindi Quintana

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Fast Paced and Original

    A truly great first effort. This novel is fast paced and defies convention in that you know (from reading the title!) that a murder will occur. It evolves into a complex character study, both of the subjects of the novel and the modern media world in which we all work and live.

    Would make a terrific book club selection as there are so many facets to the story that are available for interpretation and/or discussion. This is not just a crime novel, it is a commentary on our society and those with the power and courage to make a difference.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    Outstanding, Riveting Novel

    I don't often read Crime Thrillers, but when I received a copy of this new novel by Jeffrey A Cohen, The Killing of Mindi Quintana, it fascinated me. I scanned the first few pages then found I could not put it down. Throughout the next two evenings I feverishly read each page of this riveting novel. It is a brilliant look at a sick mind, it delves into the glamorizing of brutal killers, such as a Scott Peterson or Jack Henry Abbott. Cohen's writing is seamless as he keeps the reader mesmerized. The writing is fresh and crisp. As I completed this first novel of Mr. Cohen, I was thinking of this as a movie and looking forward to more novels by this talented author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    This is a wonderful read!!!

    What I look for in good fiction is a storyteller who brings to light something that is happening all around us yet at the same time something that we have not yet fully examined or pondered. Jeffrey Cohen has met my requirements and then some! In his uniquely and beautifully written first novel, The Killing of Mindi Quintana, Jeffrey A Cohen examines close up our society's obsession with celebrity and how this obsession has evolved to include just about any kind of celebrity- good or evil.

    The Killing of Mindi Quintana goes behind so many of our recent headlines to show us how it is that evil can become misrepresented as and confused with genius. Is it the press eager to feed us a perpetrator who is sympathetic? Is it the public, eager to believe that even a killer can be redeemed and redeemable? Cohen's book is set in a Philadelphia that is gritty, moodily atmospheric and genuine. I recommend this book highly both for its outstanding writing and for its page-turning excitement! I didn't want it to finish.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    A Star is Born

    I found The Killing of Mindi Quintana to be a fantastic read. I finished it in one marathon sitting despite having to work early the next day. The book seamlessly takes you through the murderer's evolution from a sympathetic, love struck (wannabe) artist, to a conniving, fame seeking murderer. Jeffery Cohen keeps the story flowing by combining humor, romance and murder under the umbrella of a criminal's quest for fame and the public's fascination with rogue celebrities (think OJ). One of the highlights of the book is the author's creative writing style. It is not often that a new writer combines a great story with great prose, but in this case, Jeff Cohen excels at both. He is clearly a writer to keep an eye on in the future. Anyone interested in a timely, well written and most importantly, highly entertaining book should read The Killing of Mindi Quintana.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    A Powerful First Book!

    THE KILLING OF MINDI QUINTANA is a wonderful first book from Jeffrey A. Cohen. I was swept up from the very start by the characters, the setting and the dialogue. From Freddy Builder, the China Manager at Chanet's Department Store in downtown Philadelphia to the beautiful victim, Mindi Quintana to the wonderful confrontation in Judge Gunther W. Willison's chambers, you have a one way trip on an out-of-control roller-coaster ride that will leaving you white knuckled and wanting more from this first time author. The characters grow on you and you cannot help but be swept up into this unorthodox thriller that is part legal, part corporate and unequivocally all original excitement.

    Jeff Cohen delivers. And delivers big. You will not be disappointed by this read. My only complaint is that now I have to wait and I hope not for long for the next Jeff Cohen tale! Bravo!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Great novel about fame achieved through murder

    As a former journalist, practicing litigator, government official and now a Member of Philadelphia's Tourism Marketing Board, I am glad to offer my review of the highly anticipated release of the legal thriller, "The Killing of Mindi Quintana" by Jeffrey A. Cohen. The main character in Mr. Cohen's debut novel is Freddy Builder, the China Manager of a prominent Philadelphia department store who has a miserable existence and realizes that the one honor he achieves as "Manager of the Month" and perhaps" Manager of the Year" will be a lasting testament to his anguished career and pathetic achievements. The one thing he does truly take pride in is his desolate existence are his writings. Cohen nicely develops Builder into a truly pathetic and tormented character and creates a villain that we come to truly despise well before he commits his heinous crime.
    Mindi Quintana, is portrayed as a sweet and attractive woman, who finds it difficult to get over the embarrassment as her father had become involved in a scandal that ultimately led to his imprisonment and disgrace in the community. Living in West Philadelphia, Quintana works at a small literary magazine in Philadelphia. She had briefly dated Builder years before and has the fateful misfortune of re-connecting with him when she visits the China Department where he works and he gives her a financial break on a piece she cannot afford but wants to purchase for her parents Anniversary. He then has pipe dreams about being with her romantically and creates a vision and desire that is all in his mind.
    In a depressing twist, he tries to impress her with his subpar writings and the last thing Builder wants to hear is a real critique and especially from the person with whom he has an unrealistic romantic fascination. After he commits the brutal crime that Cohen graphically describes, we see an even worse scoundrel emerge as he tries to gain notoriety, fame and fortune from making his non-existent romantic relationship with Mindi into a cause célèbre with the media to gain the celebrity that he craves. Ultimately, his own public defender tries to have the last say in a stirring plot twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1